Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

Bookish Confessions: Bookmarks

Leave a comment

It is time for another one of my Bookish Confessions, and this time I’m talking about bookmarks.

I love bookmarks!  I love the free ones that you can get at the Main Desk of the library; I love the pricey ones that you can buy at the book store.  In my stocking last Christmas, I received a set of super-cool magnetic bookmarks.  I love that they make sure I don’t lose my place in whichever book I’m reading.  I’ve even been known to use two bookmarks at once – the first for where I’m reading the text, the second to keep my place among footnotes in the back.  I love that they make it bad form to dogear a page or (gasp!) lay a book face down while opened.  They keep my (and the library’s) books in better shape for longer.

But I always always lose them.

I probably have at least 30 different bookmarks all over my house, and yet I can never find one when I need one.  Therefore, with all of these lovely bookmarks everywhere – you’ll find that if you look closely, most of the bookmarks I’m actually using are really receipts, movie ticket stubs, or folded over post-it notes.  Sometimes I’ll bring a new bookmark home and use it for a book or two… and then it must magically disappear or something because I can never find it for the next book!  I don’t know why this is, and I wish I could keep better track of them….  but at least I do find fill-ins and don’t resort to dog-earring pages.

How about you?  Do you use bookmarks?  Do you have a favorite?  Or do yours disappear too?

Author: Sarah

Hi! I am The Head of Reader Services at Nevins Library! I love to read and talk about books. I'll read just about anything, so there's plenty to talk about.

Leave a Reply

