Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

Bookish Confessions: Choosing my next book

1 Comment

It is no secret that I read a lot.  As in, I am always in the middle of a book or two.  It is not unusual for me to finish two or three books a week.  So you’d think that I’d have the whole “pick the next book” system down by now, right?  Nope.  Not really.

This is what happens nearly every time I finish a book:

  • First, I get out any tears that come with the ending.  I take a moment to enjoy the fictional world I had been in, think about the characters I came to know and ponder any lingering questions.
  • I have a personal blog where I will record my thoughts on the book.  This helps me remember the book better later, and helps me avoid trying to read the same book again later by accident.
  • Then I panic, wondering what to read next.

The thing is, I give myself too many options.  I have a bookcase at home that is double stacked with books that I’m looking forward to reading.  I work in this wonderful library that not only gives me access to thousands more books…  and I get to see all the brand new books get processed as well.  So, yeah.  Too many choices.

I haven’t figured out a consistent workable solution to avoid the panic, but I have developed a thought process to help me through it.  Basically, unless I have set out to read a trilogy or set of books by a particular author, I try to read from different genres with each book.  So if I just read a Young Adult romance, I might pick up a memoir or mystery.  If I just finished a work of classic literature, I might then pick up a light contemporary fiction next.  Its not a perfect process, but it does help to eliminate some options at the very least.

How do you pick your next book?  Do you prefer to read in the same genre or the same favorite authors?  Do you have any recommendations for me?

Author: Sarah

Hi! I am The Head of Reader Services at Nevins Library! I love to read and talk about books. I'll read just about anything, so there's plenty to talk about.

One thought on “Bookish Confessions: Choosing my next book

  1. Pingback: Bookish Confessions: The Next Book | Nevinsbuzz

Leave a Reply

