Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

Bookish Confessions: I have no focus.

Leave a comment

I’m not quite sure what is happening with me lately.  I am always a one book at a time type of reader…  on very rare occasions, I’ll have two going at once.  It’s just that I’ve found that even with reading two books at once, I tend to focus on one and then the other anyway.  So why do I have four books going at the same time right now?

It started innocently enough…  I went to an awesome bookstore in Boston a couple weekends ago and bought a bunch of books off their sale table.  I immediately started reading one book from that shopping spree – Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington.  Then, through the Serial Reader app, I started The Mill on the Floss by George Eliot.  I also started reading The Flood Girls by Richard Fifield from the library.  Then, a book by one of my favorite YA authors arrived at my house, Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally, and I started reading that too.

So, in essence, I am reading two classics (one is nonfiction), a contemporary fiction and a YA Romance.  None of these are even remotely like another, which is helping to keep straight in my head.  But I feel like I’m not really making progress with any of them, even though I’m still reading a couple hours every day.

Maybe it is because it is truly summer now, and there is always so many things going on that my fun busy schedule is bleeding into my reading habits.  I’m not sure, but I probably shouldn’t spend too much time on it.  After all, I have a lot to read!

Author: Sarah

Hi! I am The Head of Reader Services at Nevins Library! I love to read and talk about books. I'll read just about anything, so there's plenty to talk about.

Leave a Reply

