Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

Banned Books Week: Who influenced you to read?

1 Comment

As part of this year’s Banned Book Week Celebration, we are answering questions posed by the American Library Association. 

bbw16prompt3My aunt Florence Marsden As part of this year’s Banned Book Week Celebration, we are answering questions posed by the American Library Association.  I thought I’d talk about who in my life most influenced my love of books and my right to read.delighted in gifting books for any special occasion.  I remember an extensive collection of Golden Books before I ever learned to read!  Her gifts silently supported the idea that reading made you smarter and much more interesting.

My dad, Chuck Marsden, read every day, anything he could get his hands on, including our comic books.  With his example, I don’t think I ever questioned that I had the right to read; I just had to finish homework first!

Their legacy?  I begin and end each day with a book in my hand.

∼ Miss Shirley, NL Children’s Librarian

 

 

 

One thought on “Banned Books Week: Who influenced you to read?

  1. I worked for a hi-tech company in Boston and everyone went to night school and there was a box of books on each floor.There was a lot of conversation about books. I wanted to be part of the discussions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

