Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

Moody British Mysteries for the Telly

Leave a comment

Image of itemImage of itemImage of item

At this time of year, when the weather starts to get chilly and blustery and the daylight gets shorter, I love to watch a good, brooding, British mystery on the “telly”.  I especially love those BBC TV mysteries that are set in the  English countryside, equal parts bucolic and sinister, or the craggy, atmospheric sea-side.  Throw in the English country dialect or a Scottish brogue and I’m in heaven!

Three gripping series that I have watched lately that complement each other well are Broadchurch (with David Tenant and Olivia Coleman, British version), the Vera series* (Brenda Blethlyn and David Leon) and Shetland* (Douglas Henshall).  All three series are set in small coastal towns with atmospheric land/seascapes and feature tough, quirky detectives.  Think a horrible crime committed in a close-knit community where everyone knows each others’ business and relationships are intricate and complicated, including those of the detectives.  Add beautiful and spare landscapes, cable-knit sweaters, blustery weather, and cozy but rustic cottages.   Complete with a haunting soundtrack — both the music and the accents, teasing and taut.

Now, pet, if you will excuse me, I have a hot cuppa and a blanket ready with more watching to do!

 

* Based on the novels by award-winnning author Ann Cleeves

Author: Tatjana

I am a Reference/Readers' Advisory Librarian who loves to visit new places, read (of course!), tea time, and any animal that reminds me of my dog.

Leave a comment