Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads February 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

February 2019  LibraryReads List

The Silent Patient

by Alex Michaelides

Published: 2/5/2019 by Celadon Books
ISBN: 9781250301697

“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”

 

 


The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

by Anissa Gray

Published: 2/19/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802439

“A beautifully written novel told from the viewpoints of three sisters whose dysfunctional childhood has left deep wounds. Family also serves as a source of strength as the women face the damage done and try to heal. For readers who enjoy Tayari Jones and Jessmyn Ward.”

Janine Walsh, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

 


Daughter of Moloka’i

by Alan Brennert

Published: 2/19/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250137661

“Fans of Moloka’i and new readers will adore this interesting, heartfelt sequel. Taken from her parents as an infant, Ruth is adopted by a loving family who experiences more than their fair share of upheaval and heartache balanced with love and joy. Readers of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko may enjoy.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

 


Finding Dorothy: A Novel

by Elizabeth Letts

Published: 2/12/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780525622109

“In examining the meeting between Judy Garland and Maud Baum, Letts weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-39, and Baum’s childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum, author of the book that inspired the movie. A fascinating behind-the-scenes story for Oz fans.”

Lauren McLaughlin, Wilton Library Association, Wilton, CT

 


The Girls at 17 Swann Street: A Novel

by Yara Zgheib

Published: 2/5/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250202444

“A mesmerizing glimpse inside a rehab program for victims of anorexia. This fictional account of one young woman’s life-saving journey is eye-opening with its descriptions and statistics. For readers who enjoy fiction about social and psychological issues, and books by Wally Lamb and Chris Bohjalian.”

Marilyn Sieb, L.D. Fargo Library, Lake Mills, WI

 


Good Riddance

by Elinor Lipman

Published: 2/5/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544808256

“An annotated yearbook is an interesting plot device, and Lipman populates it with likable characters that you can’t help but root for and with “villains” so ridiculous that you can’t help but laugh at them. Perfectly paced, engagingly written, and fun. For fans of Adriana Trigiani.”

Lorri Steinbacher, Ridgewood Public Library, Ridgewood, NJ

 


The Huntress: A Novel

by Kate Quinn

Published: 2/26/2019 by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 9780062740373

“This is a novel I can happily recommend to patrons who like historical fiction. It excels in both plotting and character development. Nina Markova, a bomber pilot stranded behind enemy lines, becomes the target of a Nazi assassin. For fans of Jackdaws by Ken Follett and Up In Honey’s Room by Elmore Leonard.

Maria Gruener, Watertown Regional Library, Watertown, SD

 


Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

by Lucy Knisley

Published: 2/26/2019 by First Second
ISBN: 9781626728080

“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing, and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding, and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

 


The Last Romantics: A Novel

by Tara Conklin

Published: 2/5/2019 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062358202

“A fresh look at family dynamics, this is the story of four siblings and their love for one another spanning their entire lives. For fans of The Nest by Cynthia D’aprix Sweeny and The Past by Tessa Hadley.”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

 


The Priory of the Orange Tree

by Samantha Shannon

Published: 2/26/2019 by Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781635570298

“Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil…. this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik.”

Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL

 

Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s