Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads March 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

March 2019  LibraryReads List

My Lovely Wife

by Samantha Downing

Published: 3/26/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491725

“An incredible, dark, twisty psychological thriller with two of the most seemingly normal but disturbingly depraved people you will read about in fiction. This brilliant debut needs to be at the top of your must-read list. For readers who like taut suspense and works by Gillian Flynn, B.A. Paris, and Mary Kubica.”

Rachel Reeves, Weatherford Public Library, Weatherford, TX
NoveList Read-alike: Behind Her Eyes / Sarah Pinborough


Beautiful Bad

by Annie Ward

Published: 3/5/2019 by Park Row
ISBN: 9780778369103

“Maddie the innocent travel writer and Jo the wild child are living quite the life abroad when Ian crosses their path and changes both their lives permanently. Moving backward and forward in time, the narrative slowly reveals hidden truths. For fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware.”

Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
Novelist Read-alike: Before I Go to Sleep / S.J. Watson


The Bird King

by G. Willow Wilson

Published: 3/12/2019 by Grove Press
ISBN: 9780802129031

“Lush and wonderful language, characters, and worldbuilding make this an enjoyable read for fans of historical fantasy. The relationship between concubine Fatima and mapmaker Hassan is multifaceted and compelling. A good choice for readers who liked Uprooted and City of Brass.”

Nora Walsh, Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ
NoveList Read-alike: The Lions of Al-Rassan / Guy Gavriel Kay


A Dangerous Collaboration

by Deanna Raybourn

Published: 3/12/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451490711

“In this fine addition to the series, Veronica Speedwell joins Stoker and his brother on an island off the British coast, attempting to solve a years-old mystery about the disappearance of a young woman on her wedding day. Recommended for fans of historical Victorian fiction, murder mysteries, and lepidoptery.”

Jill McKinney, Gunnison County Library, Gunnison, CO
NoveList Read-alike: Lady Travelers Guide series / Victoria Alexander


The Last Woman in the Forest

by Diane Les Becquets

Published: 3/5/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780399587047

“A suspenseful, surprising story that begins with every woman’s worst nightmare–a breakdown on a lonely road in the middle of the night and a bad feeling about the handsome guy who stops to help. This kick-in-the-gut start leads to a more thoughtful mystery with a big twist. Recommended for fans of Lee Child.”

Patricia Uttaro, Monroe County Library System, Monroe, NY
NoveList Read-alike: The Wild Inside / Christine Carbo


The Last Year of the War

by Susan Meissner

Published: 3/19/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451492159

“The story of two teenage girls who forge a life long friendship in an internment camp in Crystal City, Texas. For fans of historical fiction and readers who enjoy stories about immigration experiences and life during wartime.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList Read-alike: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet / Jamie Ford


The Library of Lost and Found

by Phaedra Patrick

Published: 3/26/2019 by Park Row
ISBN: 9780778369356

“Martha Storm volunteers at the local library and has a tendency to help others over taking care of herself. One day she receives a mysterious book from the grandmother she believed dead and begins digging into her family’s past. Who doesn’t love a book about books? For fans of Elizabeth Berg and Fredrik Backman.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Genesee, MI
NoveList Read-alike: The Bookshop on the Corner / Jenny Colgan


Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss: A Novel

by Rajeev Balasubramanyam

Published: 3/26/2019 by The Dial Press
ISBN: 9780525511380

When Chandra fails to win the Nobel Prize in Economics, again, then suffers a heart attack, he decides to make changes in his life. A humorous journey of self-discovery similar to Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.”

Lora Bruggeman, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL
NoveList Read-alike: This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! / Jonathan Evison


Queenie

by Candice Carty-Williams

Published: 3/19/2019 by Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: 9781501196010

“Queenie, a 25-year-old British-Jamaican woman, struggles to have a sense of purpose after being dumped by her white boyfriend. This humorous and timely debut sheds light on society’s fetishization of black women and its impact on family, relationships and mental health.”

Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
NoveList Read-alike: New People / Danzy Senna


The River: A Novel

by Peter Heller

Published: 3/5/2019 by Knopf
ISBN: 9780525521877

“A love letter to the great outdoors. Both adventure story and elegant nature writing. Two college students on a canoe trip face a wildfire, white-water rapids, and two mysterious strangers. For fans of Tim Johnston and Dave Eggers.”

Sara Kennedy, Delaware County District Library, Delaware, OH
NoveList Read-alike: The River at Night / Erica Ferencik

 

Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s