Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads August 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

August 2019 LibraryReads List

The Right Swipe: A Novel

by Alisha Rai

Published: 8/6/2019 by Avon
ISBN: 9780062878090

“An intelligent, multicultural contemporary romance. Rhi, CEO of the Crush dating app, and Samson, NFL star, embark on a joint project that turns into more than just talk. Issues of #MeToo in the tech industry and the NFL’s concussion problem are woven in. For readers of the Forbidden Heart series, Elle Wright, and Alyssa Cole.”

Jessica Werner, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA 
NoveList Read-alike: Fumbled by Alexa Martin


Ellie and the Harpmaker

by Hazel Prior

Published: 8/6/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984803788

“When Ellie walks into the Harp Barn, her life is bound to change. Dan the harpmaker is a sensitive soul who gives Ellie a harp. Ellie’s husband Clive thinks the gift is inappropriate and doesn’t support her desire to play, so she takes lessons behind his back. An engaging and tender book for fans of Fredrik Backman and Graeme Simsion.”

Kathleen Harriott, Punta Gorda Public Library, Punta Gorda, FL 
Novelist Read-alike: The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce


Inland: A Novel

by Téa Obreht

Published: 8/13/2019 by Random House
ISBN: 9780812992861

“Obreht lays a mythical voice over an already dreamlike landscape of drought in Arizona. A mother and half-grown sons generate a powerful dynamic not often explored, and the youngest, who knows about scary beasts, brings magic and intuition. A journey into a barren world, inside and out. For fans of Larry Watson and Alice Hoffman.”

Katherine Phenix, Rangeview Library District, Adams County, CO 
NoveList Read-alike: The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami


The Last Widow: A Novel

by Karin Slaughter

Published: 8/20/2019 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062858085

“A fast-paced thriller in the Will Trent series has Will and Sara trying to prevent a deadly epidemic. The book tells the story of what is happening to three different people during the same short time periods, as they are unaware of the actions of the others. For readers who enjoy Tana French and John Sanford.”

Susanne Guide, Union County Public Library, Liberty, IN
NoveList Read-alike: The Helen Grace series by M.J. Arlidge


Life and Other Inconveniences

by Kristan Higgins

Published: 8/6/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451489425

“Explores the complex relationships between caregivers and their children, as four generations of one family reflect on their past, and the failing health of the family matriarch looms large. For readers who like fully developed characters with real-world problems, and fans of Jennifer Weiner and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.”

Amanda Kowalcze, Green Hills Public Library District, Palos Hills, IL
NoveList Read-alike: The Precious One by Marisa de los Santos


Sapphire Flames: A Hidden Legacy Novel

by Ilona Andrews

Published: 8/27/2019 by Avon
ISBN: 9780062878342

“The fifth Hidden Legacy paranormal adventure requires middle sister Catalina, now head of House Baylor, to use all her skills and poise to make the right decisions for herself and her family. For fans of Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series and Patricia Briggs’ Moon Called.”

Lynne Welch, Herrick Memorial Library, Wellington, OH 
NoveList Read-alike: The Lily Bound series by Yasmine Galenorn


The Swallows: A Novel

by Lisa Lutz

Published: 8/13/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781984818232

“A dark, satirical book that centers around a school and the revenge that we seek in times of humiliation. It’s a twisty read that will have you following an investigation filled with secrets, lies, and threats. For readers who liked Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld and Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel.”

Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK 
NoveList Read-alike: The Red Word by Sarah Henstra


Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel

by Katherine Center

Published: 8/13/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250047328

“A traumatic event as a young woman has left firefighter Cassie with a hard shell which breaks apart as she learns about forgiveness, love, and friendship. With gripping firefighting scenes and a love story, this is perfect for fans of Jo Jo Moyes or Marissa de los Santos.

Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL
NoveList Read-alike: Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes


The Warehouse: A Novel

by Rob Hart

Published: 8/20/2019 by Crown
ISBN: 9781984823793

“Paxton and Zinnia are new employees at Cloud where they work, live, and have their productivity and location tracked through their smartwatches. Gibson is the dying industrialist who created the Cloud company and is touring the country visiting his facilities. This near-future dystopian sci-fi thriller made me leery of ever shopping online again. For fans of The Circle by Dave Eggers and Notes from the Internet Apocalypse by Wayne Gladstone.”

Dan Brooks, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh, NC
NoveList Read-alike: 1984 by George Orwell


The Whisper Man: A Novel

by Alex North

Published: 8/20/2019 by Celadon Books
ISBN: 9781250317995

“Tom and his son Jake move to Featherbank to rebuild their life after the death of Tom’s wife; unknown to them, the town has a dark history and another little boy has gone missing and Jake begins to hear whispers in his new house. For fans of Joe Hill and Paul Tremblay.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ 
NoveList Read-alike: The Craftsman by Sharon Bolton

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s