Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads October 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

October 2019 LibraryReads List

The Body: A Guide for Occupants

by Bill Bryson

Published: 10/15/2019 by Doubleday Books
ISBN: 9780385539302

“A fascinating look at the human body and how it functions. Each historical tidbit is well-researched and thoroughly cited. Interesting stories, such as how diseases, cells, nerves, and organs were discovered, are woven throughout. For readers who like narrative nonfiction such as Gulp by Mary Roach, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and Guts by Giulia Enders.”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
NoveList Read-alike: Gross Anatomy: Dispatches from the Front (and Back) by Mara Altman


The Art of Theft

by Sherry Thomas

Published: 10/15/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451492470

“In this fun, playful series, Thomas has created a female version of Holmes who is vibrant, real, relatable, and intelligent. This fourth book has Holmes and Watson travel to France, with twists and turns the reader won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series and Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily series.”

Carrie Pedigo, Tippecanoe County Public Library, Lafayette, IN
Novelist Read-alike: Jem Flockhart novels by E.S. Thomson


The Butterfly Girl: A Novel

by Rene Denfeld

Published: 10/1/2019 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062698162

“Denfield’s writing is like lyrical poetry, with every word captivating. Add to this an amazing mystery, a plethora of suspense, and an ending that exceeds all expectations, and we have another 5 star book. For fans of What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan and Love You More by Lisa Gardner.”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin


Cilka’s Journey: A Novel

by Heather Morris

Published: 10/1/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250265708

“A powerful follow-up to The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this story begins after the liberation of Auschwitz, when Cilka is sentenced by the Soviet liberators to 15 years in one of Stalin’s Siberian labor gulags. From one death camp to another–for doing what was needed to survive. For fans of Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly and We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.”

Don Crankshaw, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library, Evansville, IN
NoveList Read-alike: House of Meetings by Martin Amis


Imaginary Friend

by Stephen Chbosky

Published: 10/1/2019 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781538731338

“Christopher and his mom run from an abusive boyfriend and seek peace and quiet in a new town. Instead, Christopher becomes agitated and sneaks out at night, doing anything a “nice man” tells him to do. This is pure horror, a classic battle of good and evil, and a must for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Paul Tremblay.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList Read-alike: The Stand by Stephen King


The Library of the Unwritten

by A. J. Hackwith

Published: 10/1/2019 by Ace
ISBN: 9781984806376

“The ideas of books never actually written possess dangerous potential and power. They are kept in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell. Determined librarians tend the library keeping watch for escaped characters, angels and demons. For fans of Genevieve Cogman or Neil Gaiman.”

Jessica Trotter, Capital Area District Library, Lansing, MI
NoveList Read-alike: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


Ninth House

by Leigh Bardugo

Published: 10/8/2019 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250313072

“Alex has always been able to see ghosts, and this talent uniquely qualifies her to become part of the Lethe, a group that regulates the eight magical societies at Yale. When a murder happens nearby the campus, Alex suspects that a society has their hand in this and it’s not just a normal homicide. For fans of urban fantasy and secret societies.”

Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA
NoveList Read-alike: Magic For Liars by Sarah Galley


Nothing to See Here

by Kevin Wilson

Published: 10/29/2019 by Ecco
ISBN: 9780062913463

“A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Kosterman and Gary Shteyngart.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Gravity is the Thing by Jaclyn Moriarty


Ordinary Girls: A Memoir

by Jaquira Diaz

Published: 10/8/2019 by Algonquin Books
ISBN: 9781616209131

“Diaz was out of control. Her life was a never ending cycle of indifferent (or worse) parenting, street fights, abuse, drugs, arrests, alcohol, skipping school—all are detailed in this coming of age memoir. Reading this extraordinary memoir, I was reminded that no one can make you do something until you decide to on your own. For fans of Hunger by Roxane Gay and When I Was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago.”

Linda Tilden, Mt. Laurel Public Library, Mt. Laurel, AL
NoveList Read-alike: Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls by T Kira Madden


Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts

by Kate Racculia

Published: 10/8/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780358023937

“Engaging characters set off to follow the mysterious clues of the will of an elderly, wealthy eccentric for a chance at winning the grand prize. Young grief and loss, family guilt, secrets, and hilarity are featured throughout. Plus: ghosts! For readers who liked The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson and Lost and Found by Carolyn Parkhurst.”

Pamela Gardner, Medfield Public Library, Medfield, MA
NoveList Read-alike: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s