Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors October 2019

Leave a comment

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  October 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Full Throttle

by Joe Hill

Published: 10/1/2019 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062200679

“Hill’s short story collection hits the sweet spot: thirteen supernatural tales that satisfy but also leave you wanting a tiny bit more. He also discusses the inspiration for each story, allowing fans more insight into his process.”

Mahogany Skillings, Richland Library, Columbia, SC

Read-alikes:

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
Ghost Summer by Tananarive Due


The Giver of Stars: A Novel

by Jojo Moyes

Published: 10/8/2019
by Pamela Dorman Books
ISBN: 9780399562488

“Moyes brings Depression-era Kentucky to life in this historical novel about five women who become horseback librarians. Vivid descriptions of daily life in a 1930s coal-mining community and great characters punctuate an informative, fun read that’s based on a true story.”

Linda Sullivan, Mission Viejo Public Library, Aurora, CO

Read-alikes:

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani
Over the Plain Houses by Julia Franks


Olive, Again: A Novel

by Elizabeth Strout

Published: 10/15/2019
by Random House
ISBN: 9780812996548

“Olive Kitteridge is back and still as crotchety, opinionated, and endearing as ever. Aging, death, racism, prejudices, infidelities–nothing gets past Olive as she sticks her nose into every corner of her small town.”

Sharon Hutchins, Keytesville Library, Keytesville, MO

Read-alikes:

Lila by Marilynne Robinson
Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce


Royal Holiday

by Jasmine Guillory

Published: 10/1/2019
by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802217

“An irresistible Christmas fantasy about a woman of a certain age who falls for the queen of England’s private secretary on a visit to the U.K. Guillory describes Britain so well, and it was great to read a popular romance novel starring an older protagonist.”

Megan Sanks, Glenview Public Library, Glenview, IL

Read-alikes:

A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan


Twice in a Blue Moon

by Christina Lauren

Published: 10/22/2019
by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135706

“Sam was Tate’s first love and turned her world upside down. Years later they reconnect unexpectedly, and she wonders if young love should get a second chance. Another unputdownable book from Lauren.”

Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Greenwood, IN

Read-alikes:

Not Quite Over You by Susan Mallery
Perfect Timing by Brenda Jackson
Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s