Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads November 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

November 2019 LibraryReads List

The Starless Sea: A Novel

by Erin Morgenstern

Published: 11/5/2019 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385541213

“A moving labyrinth of a story, ever changing and evolving. What begins as a mysterious thread in a book, an opportunity taken or missed and the consequences of the choice, evolves into a story similar to a choose-your-own adventure tale or a mystical video game experience. For fans of Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clark, and Lev Grossman.”

Cynde Suite, Bartow County Library, Cartersville, GA
NoveList Read-alike: Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield


The Bromance Book Club

by Lyssa Kay Adams

Published: 11/5/2019 by Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9781984806093

“Thea gave up everything when she became Gavin’s wife, and has been faking more than just her happiness. When the marriage is headed for divorce, Gavin’s friends bring him into their secret book club to help him win his wife back. For readers who like romance with a little humor, and fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Jennifer Crusie.”

Melissa McNeill, Montgomery County Memorial Library System, Conroe, TX
Novelist Read-alike: Wooing Cadie McCaffrey by Bethany Turner


The Deep

by Rivers Solomon

Published: 11/5/2019 by Saga Press
ISBN: 9781534439863

“An incredibly interesting reimagining of what happened to the slaves that got thrown off the ships while crossing the ocean. For fans of She Would Be King by Wayetu Moore and The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates.”

Kelli Ponce, Mesquite Public Library, Mesquite, TX
NoveList Read-alike: The Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler


Get a Life, Chloe Brown

by Talia Hibbert

Published: 11/5/2019 by Avon
ISBN: 9780062941206

“Chloe is doing all she can to avoid being defined by her illness. Redford is a talented artist who was verbally abused by his former girlfriend. Smart and snarky, they find ways to help each other face their challenges. Snappy dialogue, dynamic characters, and a realistic story make this a good choice for fans of Alyssa Cole and Jasmine Guillory.”

Paula Pergament, Lincolnwood Public Library, Lincolnwood, IL
NoveList Read-alike: The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang


Little Weirds

by Jenny Slate

Published: 11/5/2019 by Little, Brown and Company
ISBN: 9780316485340

“Weirdly delightful and beyond compare. Essays that provide a look into the comedian’s brain. For fans of Miranda July.”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA
NoveList Read-alike: One More Thing by B.J. Novak

 


Not the Girl You Marry

by Andie J. Christopher

Published: 11/12/2019 by Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9781984802682

“A perfect contemporary romance that will make you laugh, swoon, and maybe even get a little weepy. Hannah is a heroine for the ages, prickly, real, and worth fighting for. For readers who loved How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days.”

Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee, WI
NoveList Read-alike: The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada


Tracking Game

by Margaret Mizushima

Published: 11/12/2019 by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781643851358

“This is a terrific series with characters that are constantly changing. I’m so excited to see what happens to them next! A good pick for fans of Nevada Barr.”

Liz Kirchhoff, Barrington Area Public Library, Barrington, IL
NoveList Read-alike: Ryder Creed series by Alex Kava

 


Twenty-One Truths About Love

by Matthew Dicks

Published: 11/19/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250103482

“Daniel Mayrock is struggling to find his way as a man, husband, and potential father. His story is told entirely in lists. Written as a form of therapy for himself, Daniel’s lists show his sense of humor and feelings of inadequacy. Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin.”

Sam Sepulveda, Milford Town Library, Milford, MA
NoveList Read-alike: The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan


We Met in December

by Rosie Curtis

Published: 11/5/2019 by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN: 9780062964564

“A lovely charmer of a book. Jess follows her dream and moves to London and rents a room in a big Notting HIll house with one rule – no dating your flatmates. For fans of One Day (even mentioned in the book), Four Weddings and One Day in December.”

Stephanie Chase, Hillsboro Public Library, Hillsboro, OR
NoveList Read-alike: Covent Garden in the Snow by Jules Wake


The Witches are Coming

by Lindy West

Published: 11/5/2019 by Hachette Books
ISBN: 9780316449885

“Lindy West takes on rape culture, climate change, Hollywood and toxic masculinity among other topics. It’s funny, relatable and on-point. For fans of Rebecca Solnit and Roxane Gay.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee Districy Library, Goodrich, MI
NoveList Read-alike: The Seven Necessary Sins for Women and Girls by Mona Eltahawy

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s