Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads December 2019: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

December 2019 LibraryReads List

Such a Fun Age

by Kiley Reid

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525541905

”Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, Such a Fun Age will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read: That Kind of Motherby Rumaan Alam

Africaville

by Jeffrey Colvin

Amistad
ISBN: 9780062913722

“Africaville is a settlement of Jamaican people run out of their homes by the British and dumped in cold, foreign Canada.  Colvin weaves the story of Kath Ella and her family through decades of ongoing racial prejudice and injustice, portraying the love among characters and the tenacity of some determined to fine happiness.  For readers who enjoyed Homegoing and The Underground Railroad.”

Lisa Casper, Highlands Ranch Library, Highland Ranch, CO
Novelist read-alike: Dominion by Calvin Baker


The Dead Girls Club

by Damien Angelica Walters

Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781643851631

“An engaging story, full of twists and turns.  Chapters alternate from Heather’s childhood experiences to her present to form the whole story.  More creepy than scary, pick this up if you want a story full of dread, suspense, childhood memories, death, and plenty of surprises.  For fans of The Turn of the Key and The Silent Patient.”

Rebecca Kelley, Richland Library, Columbia, SC
Novelist read-alike:  The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager


Good Girls Lie

by J.T. Ellison

Mira
ISBN: 9780778309185

“Sinister and atmospheric, this page-turner elevates the thriller genre with descriptive writing and well-drawn characters.  Ash arrives at the Goode School with secrets of her own.  Following an honor code is difficult enough (no lies allowed, but throw in secret societies and overly privileged students, and the scene is set for murder.  For readers who liked The Secret History and Watching You.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Library, Baltimore, MD
Novelist read-alike:  The Secret Place by Tana French


Husband Material

by Emily Belden

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525805981

“Charlotte, a young widow, is thrown for a loop when her husband’s ashes appear at her door.  As a coder for social media influencers, she develops an app to help find a mate but uses it to keep potential dates away.  And then a secret from her husband’s past threatens to destroy the tenuous ties of friendship and love she has found.  A fun read for fans of Kristan Higgins and Sophie Kinsella.”

Suzanne Christensen, Spanish Fork Public Library, Spanish Fork, UT
Novelist read-alike:  The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman


A Madness of Sunshine

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593099131

“With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride.  For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.”

Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL
Novelist read-alike:  The Dry by Jane Harper


Meg & Jo

by Virgina Kantra

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100349

Little Women‘s March family is brought into the present day.  Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer.  For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
NoveList Read-alike: The Spring Girls by Anna Todd


Reputation: a novel

by Sara Shepard

Dutton
ISBN:  9781524742904

“Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all:  scandals, affairs, and murder.  I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine.  For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies“.

Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington DC
NoveList Read-alike: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


The Wives: a novel

by Tarryn Fisher

Harlequin House
ISBN: 9781525805127

“Fisher has a knack for telling you a story where there’s no anticipating the twists and turns, and the The Wives was no exception.  A psychological thriller so immersive that I consumed it in a single sitting.  For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Silent Wife.”

Brie Hopkins, Newport Library, Newport, RI 
NoveList Read-alike: The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine


Would Like to Meet

by Rachel Winters

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525542315

“Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as a way to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process.  For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie.”

Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Library, High Point, NC
NoveList Read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s