Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads January 2020: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 January 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Dear Edward :

Dear Edward: a novel

by Ann Napolitano

The Dial Press
ISBN:  9781984854780

“A dear, dear wonderous novel. Edward is The Miracle Boy, the only survivor of a plane crash. As he struggles to navigate the landscape of his new life, we hear the voices of those who didn’t make it. Napolitano is an amazing writer who deserves a wider audience. For fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (Bill Clegg),The Grief of Others (Leah Hager Cohen), and The Friend (Sigrid Nunez).”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Goldfinch by Donna Tart


Cover image for All the ways we said goodbyeAll the Ways We Said Goodbye: a novel of the Ritz Paris

by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, and Karen White

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062931092

“Three time periods, three women, three authors combine for an absorbing read.  Aurelie is ready to fight the Germans during WWI.  Daisy, a woman with a collaborator husband, is embroiled in the fight against the Nazis. Babs, an Englishwoman in the 1960s, is anxious to find the truth about her dead husband.  For readers who liked The Alice Network and Sarah’s Key.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
Novelist read-alike:  The Light Over London by Julia Kelley

Cover image for American DirtAmerican Dirt: a novel

by Jeanine Cummins

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250209764

“A literary thriller chronicling the migration of a mother and her young son.  Under threat, Lydia and Luca leave their middle-class life in Acapulco and begin a traumatic journey to the border, evading cartels, thieves, corrupt police, and others forced into malevolent behavior by extreme violence and poverty.  For readers who enjoyed The Other Americans (Laila Lalami) and And the Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini)”.

Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
Novelist read-alike:  Lost Children Archive by Valerie Luiselli


Cover image for FollowersFollowers: a novel

by Megan Angelo

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525836268

“A thrilling satirical critique of societal values.  The timeline alternates before and after “the Spill”, a psychological terrorist attack using online data, and society is wildly changed.  But one thing is still the same — family is complicated.  For fans of The Circle (Dave Eggers) and Super Sad True Love Story (Cary Shteyngart).”

Jessica Rodrigues, Steger-South Chicago Heights Public Library, Chicago, IL
Novelist read-alike:  Touch by Courtney Maum


Cover image for HighfireHighfire: a novel

by Eoin Colfer

Harper Perennial
ISBN: 9780062938558

“Vern, a dragon living in the Louisiana swamps, may be the last
of his kind, so he tries to remain unnoticed. When teenage Squib
stumbles on Vern’s hideout, he ends up working for him and
keeping his secret. A fantasy with suspense, humor, and danger and
a heartfelt story about family and friendship. For readers who
enjoyed Anansi Boys (Neil Gaiman) and Bad Monkey (Carl Hiaasen).”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
Novelist read-alike:  Cat Out of Hell by Lynne Tuss


Cover image for How quickly she disappearsHow Quickly She Disappears

by Raymond Fleischmann

Berkley
ISBN: 9781984805171

“In 1941 Alaska, a woman whose twin disappeared 20 years earlier crosses paths with a sinister stranger threatening to reveal the
truth of what happened.  Does she dare risk what little she has left to save her sister?  For readers of moody thrillers such as Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown and The Dry by Jane Harper.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Star of the North by David John


Cover image for Long bright riverLong Bright River: a novel

by Liz Moore

Riverhead
ISBN: 9780525540670

“A compelling literary police procedural set in an opioid-ravaged Philadelphia neighborhood and centered on the relationship between
two sisters whose lives have taken opposite paths. Your heart will ache as you grow to love the complex, strong, and incredibly vulnerable characters. For readers of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.”

Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
Novelist read-alike:  The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh


Cover image for Love Her or Lose HerLove Her or Lose Her: a novel

by Tessa Bailey

Avon
ISBN: 9780062872852

“This story of a married couple losing–and then finding–their way together is beautiful, touching and hot, with just the right touch of comic relief. For readers of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.”

Carole Tossman, Howard County Library System, Ellicott City, MD
NoveList Read-alike: The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams


Cover image for When We Were VikingsWhen We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald

Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN:  9781982126766

“A beautifully written novel about a young woman–and unabashed Viking enthusiast–born with fetal alcohol syndrome. Zelda feels not quite ‘normal,’ but as she discovers through her quests, who really is? Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Silver Linings Playbook.”

Kat Neal, Tulsa Library, Tulsa, OK
NoveList Read-alike: The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood


Cover image for You Were There TooYou Were There Too 

by Colleen Oakley

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806468

“Mia is happily married to Harrison, but keeps dreaming about another man. One day her path crosses with this mystery man, and the results are devastating. This is a realistic, engrossing love story suited for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”

Danielle Hansard, Public Library of Westland, MI
NoveList Read-alike:  One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s