Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads February 2020: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 February 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for The authenticity projectThe Authenticity Project:  A Novel

by Clare Pooley

Pamela Dorman Books/Viking
ISBN:  9781984878618

“Julian, Monica, and others present themselves publicly in one way, but their entries in an Authenticity Project notebook reveal them to be more insecure, eager to change, and ultimately more interesting. A heartwarming story about how not everyone tells the truth about who they are. For fans of The School of Essential Ingredients, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and A Man Called Ove.”

Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleboro, MA
NoveList read-alike: Meet Me at the Museum by Anne Youngson


Cover image for The BearThe Bear

by Andrew Krivak

Bellevue Literary Press
ISBN: 9781942658702

“A young girl and her father live alone in a mountain forest that fronts a lake in a devastated world. She learns from him how to live off the land, hunting for food, and finding shelter. The Bear is the moving story of a journey they make together to the ocean, and the bear who helps her find her way back home. For fans of The Dog Stars (Heller) and The Road (McCarthy).”

Sandy Jones Boyd, Mountain Regional Public Library, Young Harris, GA
NoveList read-alike: Train Dreams by Denis Johnson


Cover image for The Girl in White Gloves: A Novel of Grace KellyThe Girl in White Gloves: A Novel of Grace Kelly

by Kerri Maher

Berkley Books
ISBN: 9780451492074

“An interesting, fictional take on the life of one of America’s favorite actresses, Grace Kelly.  She struggles to break free from controlling parents and forge her own life. Although she marries her prince, the confinements of her marriage contract assure that she never truly succeeds at happily ever after. For readers who liked The Girls in the Picture (Benjamin) and A Touch of Stardust (Alcott).”

Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Meet Me in Monaco by Hazel Gaynor


Cover image for Golden in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (in Death, Book 50)Golden in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel

by J. D. Robb

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN:  9781250207203

“Hard to believe that this is #50 in this series. Even harder to believe that the stories remain fresh and the characters compelling, but it does not disappoint. There’s a satisfying path to solving the very distressing murders, and particular pleasure in seeing the characters continue to change and grow. For fans of the In Death series, Linda Howard, and Lisa Gardner.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
Novelist read-alike:  Jane Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen


Cover image for Mercy HouseMercy House: a novel

by Alena Dillon

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062914804

“Mercy House, a battered women’s shelter run by nuns, is being investigated by an arrogant bishop and threatened by a violent gang leader. In a world full of predators, Sister Evelyn protects her traumatized and diverse flock of women with everything she’s got. She is a rousing, radical, literary hero of heart-stirring courage. Give to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anita Diamant.”

Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
NoveList read-alike: The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott


Cover image for Oona out of orderOona Out of Order: a novel

by Margarita Montimore

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250236609

“During the New Year countdown, 19-year-old Oona Lockhart faints and wakes up in her 51-year-old body. I can’t wait for my bookish friends to read this
time-jumping debut novel so we can discuss it. For fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Liane Moriarty.”

Darla Dykstra, Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, MO
NoveList read-alike: The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle


Cover image for Other Mrs.The Other Mrs.:  a novel

by Mary Kubica

Harlequin
ISBN: 9780778369110

“Sadie, Will, and their two children move to Maine following Will’s sister’s suicide, to care for her teenage daughter Imogen.  Soon after, a strange murder happens in the house across the street. The family’s past is revealed along with the unraveling of the neighbor’s murder. For fans of You by Caroline Kepnes (both the book and the Netflix show).”

Christine Edgar, Farmington Libraries, Farmington, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Hidden Girl by Louise Millar


Cover image for Saint XSaint X

by Alexis Schaitkin

Celedon Books
ISBN: 9781250219596

“Claire was a child when her much older sister Alison died and there are many gaps in her knowledge of who Alison was and how she died. This is a deep character study and a story about obsession, grief, and finding a path after loss. For readers who enjoyed What We Lose by Zinzi
Clemmons and The Other Americans by Laila Lalami.”

Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, MA
NoveList read-alike: Going East by Matthew D’Ancona


Cover image for The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the BlitzThe Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz

by Erik Larson

Crown
ISBN: 9780385348713

“Once again Larson’s new book is nonfiction that is as hard to put down as the best fiction. The book recounts the early days of Churchill as prime minister when France fell to Germany and the British Empire stood alone against Hitler. For readers who like John M. Barry (The Great Influenza) and David King (Death in the City of Light).”

Celia Morse, Berkley Public Library, Berkley, MI
NoveList read-alike: Their Finest Hour by Winston Churchill


Cover image for The Worst Best ManThe Worst Best Man: a novel

by Mia Sosa

Avon
ISBN:  9780062909879

“A classic enemies to lovers plot told from the perspective of both sides of the would-be couple, both likable and the chemistry between the two was well-written and believable. For fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and The Wedding Party.”

Karma Campbell, Catoosa Public Library, Catoosa, OK
NoveList read-alike: Faker by Sarah Smith

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s