Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads March 2020: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 March 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for My Dark VanessaMy Dark Vanessa: a novel

by Kate Elizabeth Russell

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062941503

“A Lolita for the #MeToo era, it’s unsettling, but not necessarily for the reasons you might think.  The narrative shifts from 2000, when Vanessa gains admission to an elite New England prep school, to 2017, when she tries to come to terms with yer experience, her role in it, how it’s affecting her present, and the choiices she faces to find resolution and move forward.  For fans of Notes on a Scandal (Heller), Trust Exercise (Choi), and His Favorites (Walbert)”

Michelle Sampson, York Public Library, York, ME
NoveList read-alike:  The Coming Storm by Paul Elliott Russel


Cover image for The glass hotel :The Glass Hotel: a novel

by Emily St. John Mandel

Knopf
ISBN:  9780525521143

“A gorgeously written, immersive book about how easy it is to cross lines into questionable moral territory.  At its center is Vincent, who loses her mother when she’s13 and as an adult makes her way into the heart of the Country of Money in New York City. Narrated by a number of well-drawn characters in a shifting timeline. For fans of A Visit from the Goon Squad and The Goldfinch.”

Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
NoveList read-alike: The Luminous Heart of Jonah S by Gina Barkhordar Nahai


Cover image for Darling rose goldDarling Rose Gold

by Stephanie Wrobel

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100066

“Terrific psychological suspense based on an actual case where a mother deliberately made her daughter sick for years. The story is told in alternating perspectives from the points of view of Rose Gold and her mother, Patty, complex characters who are masterfully drawn, seeming sympathetic at some points and unsympathetic in others. For readers who liked The Silent Patient and The Execution of Noa P. Singleton.”

Alice Kober, Arapahoe Library District, Englewood, CO
NoveList read-alike: Mother, Mother by Karen Zalickas


Cover image for A Good NeighborhoodA Good Neighborhood

by Therese Anne Fowler

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250237279

“When a local businessman removes several old trees to build a mini-mansion, he isn’t seen favorably by his new neighbor Valerie, an ecology professor. When their teenagers begin to secretly date you know it’s not going to end well. Told from multiple viewpoints(including the neighborhood chorus), this heart-wrenching novel explores class, race, and what it means to be a good neighbor. For those who enjoyed Commonwealth, The Hate U Give, and A Place for Us.”

Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL
NoveList read-alike: Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng


Cover image for If I Never Met YouIf I Never Met You: a novel

by Mhairi McFarlane

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062958501

“When Jamie and Laurie become trapped in an elevator, they conjure up a fake relationship in order to get what they want from work and make an ex jealous. They end up falling for each other…but can they trust it? An enjoyable romance with characters you care about.  For readers who liked Not the Girl You Marry and The Flatshare.”

Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Greenwood, IN
Novelist read-alike:  The Betting Vow by K.M. Jackson


Cover image for In five years :In Five Years: novel

by Rebecca Searle

Atria Books
ISBN:  9781982137441

“An ambitious young lawyer disregards a prophetic dream that doesn’t fit into her five-year plan until she meets the man of her dreams five years later. Love has a plan of its own. For readers who enjoyed Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella, You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley, and The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory.”

Kristin Friberg, Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ
NoveList read-alike: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid


Cover image for A Murderous RelationA Murderous Relation

by Deanna Raybourn

Berkley
ISBN: 9780451490742

“Veronica Speedwell and her partner, Stoker, find themselves involved in a mystery that coincides with the killing spree of Jack the Ripper. For fans of the Ladies Travelers Guide series and the Amelia Peabody mysteries.”

Stacy Tomaszewski, Alameda County Library, San Jose, CA
NoveList read-alike: The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby


Cover image for The returnThe Return

by Rachel Harrison

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593098660

“The story of a creepy hotel, a mysterious disappearance and reappearance, and the complexities of friendships. For fans of Stephen King and Thomas Harris.”

Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Hennepin County, MN
NoveList read-alike:  My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

 


Cover image for The two lives of Lydia Bird :The Two Lives of Lydia Bird: a novel

by Josie Silver

Ballantine Books
ISBN:  9780593135235

“A beautifully written exploration of heartbreak and grief, that takes place over the course of 18 months after Lydia loses her fiance Freddie in a tragic accident. For fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan.”

Ashley Giangregorgio, Virginia Beach Public Library,Virginia Beach, VA
NoveList read-alike: Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch


Cover image for Undercover BromanceUndercover Bromance

by Lyssa Kay Adams

Berkley Books
ISBN:  9781984806116

“Take one romance-reading hero, his bromance book club, and add a wickedly strong heroine. This one strikes the right balance of snark, heart, and humor. For fans of Alexa Martin and Julie James.”

Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL NoveList read-alike: The Full Series by Janet Evanovich and Charlotte Hughes

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s