Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads April 2020: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 April 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for The southern book club's guide to slaying vampiresThe Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires: A Novel

by Grady Hendrix

Quirk Books
ISBN:  9781683691433

“Hendrix’s latest novel, possibly his darkest yet, addresses racism, sexism, and the mistaken belief that housewives are dull. Patricia and friends, all genteel Southerners, start a true crime book club. They have to apply what they’ve learned when a vampire moves into town. Patricia grows from a mildly dissatisfied homemaker to a vampire-fighting dynamo who thinks three steps ahead and takes ownership of her life. With perfect pacing, there’s never a moment where readers can let their guard down. An excellent choice for horror fans of Joe Hill, David Wong, and Christopher Moore.”

Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Public Library, Corona, NY
NoveList read-alike: The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule


Cover image for A bad day for sunshineA Bad Day for Sunshine: A Novel

by Darynda Jones

St. Martins Press
ISBN:  9781250149442

“Jones follows up her Charley Davidson series in a spectacular fashion with a new series featuring police chief Sunshine Vicram. A fun, UN-PUT-DOWN-ABLE read with a large cast of lovable, diverse characters, several mysteries to solve, and laugh-out-loud humor. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and J.A. Jance.”

Pamela Steinke, Mott Public Library, Mott, ND
NoveList read-alike: The Dime by Kathleen Kent


Cover image for The Book of LongingsThe Book of Longings: A Novel

by Sue Monk Kidd

Viking
ISBN: 9780525429760

“Ana is Jesus’s wife and a force in her own right. Monk does not sensationalize her writing about a fictional marriage for Jesus, but rather goes into great historical detail and imagines what it would be like to be a woman in that time. If you have been waiting for a book like The Red Tent for the past 20 years, this is it. Give to fans of Anita Diamant and Marilynne Robinson.”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Liars’ Gospel by Naomi Alderman


Cover image for The book of lost friends :The Book of Lost Friends: A Novel

by Lisa Wingate

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781984819888

“Another fantastic, hard-to-put-down book by Wingate. The story moves back and forth from the post Civil War era where freed slaves are searching for lost family to the modern day South where a struggling new teacher is trying to engage her students. A must read for those who enjoyed Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi or On Agate Hill by Lee Smith.”

Cindy Ritter, Hamilton North Public Library, Cicero, IN
NoveList read-alike: Cane River by Lalita Tademy


Cover image for Chosen onesChosen Ones: A Novel

by Veronica Roth

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN:  9780358164081

“Some years back, five teens were picked, after they fulfilled a prophecy, to fight the Dark One. Now, on the tenth anniversary of that battle, they find out that the Dark One is still alive in a parallel universe. Do the young heroes have what it takes to fight him again? Packed with action, suspense, and breath-taking twists and turns. A good choice for fans of Lev Grossman and N.K. Jemisin.”

Trisha Perry, Oldham County Public Library, LaGrange, KY
NoveList read-alike: Vicious by Victoria Schwab


Cover image for Girl Gone ViralGirl Gone Viral: A Novel

by Alisha Rai

Avon
ISBN:  9780062878137

“When a random guy sits at Katrina’s cafe table, a nearby woman shares the exchange on social media with her own interpretation that soon goes viral. Katrina can’t care less because she’s been crushing on her bodyguard, Jas, for years. Now to save her from the media blitz, Jas needs to hide her away somewhere — maybe his house in Northern California? For fans of The Right Swipe and Christina Lauren.”

Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH
NoveList read-alike: Revealed to Him by Jen Frederick


Cover image for The Happy Ever After PlaylistThe Happy Ever After Playlist

by Abby Jimenez

Forever
ISBN: 9781538715642

“Sloan, still recovering from the sudden death of her fiancé finds a stray dog and brings him home. She calls the number on the tag but there is no response. Once she has fallen for the dog, the owner shows up and Sloan gets a second chance at love. For lovers of romantic comedies like Less by Andrew Sean Greer and Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld.”

Theresa Bond, Middlesex Public Library, Middlesex, NJ
NoveList read-alike: About a Dog by Jenn McKinlay


Cover image for He started itHe Started It: A Novel

by Samantha Downing

Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491756

“A funny, twisted, scary story about Beth, Eddie, and Portia, siblings who are required to recreate a fateful road trip in order to claim their inheritance. For readers who enjoyed The Kill Club and Eight Perfect Murders.”

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH
NoveList read-alike: The Better Liar by Tanen Jones


Cover image for Little SecretsLittle Secrets: A Novel

by Jennifer Hillier

St. Martins Press
ISBN:  9781250154224

“This fast-paced thriller opens on the kidnapping of a young boy. More than a year after her son’s disappearance, Marin discovers her husband is having an affair and begins down a path of secrets and betrayal. For readers who enjoyed Lady in the Lake and Lock Every Door.”

Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL
NoveList read-alike: Something She’s Not Telling Us by Darcey Bell


Cover image for Undercover BromanceYou Deserve Each Other

by Sarah Hogle

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN:  9780593085424

“Naomi realizes she is only 18% in love with Nicholas, but doesn’t want to be the one to break it off, so she devises a plan to force him to break up with her. For readers who liked The Wedding Party and Well Met.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD
NoveList read-alike: To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s