Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers

LibraryReads May 2020: top ten books librarians love!

Leave a comment

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 May 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Something to talk aboutSomething to Talk About

by Meryl Wilsner

Berkley
ISBN:  9780593102527

“Jo, a successful producer and screenwriter, asks her assistant Emma to attend
the SAG awards with her as a buffer to field questions. But after a red carpet
photograph, rumors start spreading about their romantic involvement. A
sweet, slow burn romance that gets steamy at the end between two people
who obviously respect and value the other, despite various communication
issues that arise. Give to readers who liked Girl Gone Viral (Rai),
The Hating Game (Thorne), and Red, White & Royal Blue (McQuiston).”

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA
NoveList read-alike: When Katie Met Cassidy by Camille Perri


Cover image for All Adults HereAll Adults Here: A Novel

by Emma Straub

Riverhead Books
ISBN:  9781594634697

“The ripple effects of choices linger for years and ultimately shape matriarch Astrid and her children. As several generations grapple with their own truths, an opportunity to begin again ultimately draws them all closer.  This book asks the question, “Who is truth ultimately for, who benefits from it, and who does it hurt?” For fans of Clock Dance (Tyler) and The Most Fun We Ever Had (Lombardo).”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA
NoveList read-alike: The Precious One by Marisa de los Santo


Cover image for Beach ReadBeach Read

by Emily Henry

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806734

“Hooray for smart, emotional, well-written romance! Two old enemies meet by chance and decide to solve their writer’s block by swapping genres: Literary writer Augustus will trade his cynicism for a happily ever after, while January will try a “serious” novel where everyone ends up realistically miserable. What could go wrong?  For readers who like Susan Mallery and Jennifer Crusie.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
NoveList read-alike: Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn


Cover image for BIG SUMMER.Big Summer

by Jennifer Weiner

Atria
ISBN: 9781501133510

“Daphne is a plus-size Instagram influencer who is lovable, funny, and honest.
She is surprised when her former best friend–rich, beautiful, mean girl Drue–
asks her to be in her summer wedding on Cape Cod. Readers of modern romance,
women’s fiction, mystery, and beachy chic-lit will all find something here to ponder.
Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin.”

Kathleen Redfearn, Attleboro Public Library, Attleboro, MA
NoveList read-alike: Save the Date by Mary Kay Andrews


Cover image for A good marriage :A Good Marriage: A Novel

by Kimberly McCreight

Harper
ISBN:  9780062367686

“In Park Slope, everyone has a “good marriage.” Yet after an annual party that often involves partner swapping, one wife ends up dead. Her husband might not be the
best spouse, but he claims he didn’t kill his wife. If being a bad husband doesn’t make you a murderer, then who in this idyllic community is responsible? Liane Moriarty fans will love this one.”

Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
NoveList read-alike: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena


Cover image for Happy & you know itHappy & You Know It

by Laura Hankin

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806239

“Claire is a musician whose former band became famous without her. She takes a gig
singing nursery rhymes for a playgroup, and her life takes a couple of sharp lefts from there! For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg.”

Danielle Hansard, Westland Public Library, Westland, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy


The Jane Austen SocietyThe Jane Austen Society: a Novel

by Natalie Jenner

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250248732

“Set in the small village of Chawton where Jane Austen lived at the end of her life, just after WWII. Add in a small farmer, the local doctor, a heartbroken widow, a movie actress and other assorted characters all of who love Jane Austen. For readers who enjoyed The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler.”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer


Cover image for Network Effect: A Murderbot NovelNetwork Effect: A Murderbot Novel 

by Martha Wells

Tor
ISBN: 9781250229861

“For the unfamiliar, The Murderbot Diaries is an action-packed, smart science fiction
series about a self-hacking robot searching for the meaning of life. This is the first full-length standalone in the series. Given time to develop characters, the peril was even more suspenseful. More than any of the other titles, this one has me hoping for a sequel. For fans of Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie.”

April Lammers, Huntington Beach Public Library, Huntington Beach, CA
NoveList read-alike: The Cassandra Kresnov novels by Joel Shepherd


Cover image for Recipe for PersuasionRecipe for Persuasion:  A Novel

by Sonali Dev

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062839077

“Ashna is trying to keep her father’s restaurant, Curried Dreams, from failing. An opportunity is presented to her to be a chef on a reality show, paired with a celebrity. Little does she know that the celebrity, Rico, a soccer star, maneuvered on the
show to be paired with her. For fans of Jasmine Guillory.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
NoveList read-alike: Savor You by Kristen Proby


Cover image for The Wife StalkerThe Wife Stalker

by Liv Constantine

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062967282

“Piper Reynard has moved to Connecticut to start over. She meets Leo, a handsome and successful lawyer who is married to Joanna, who has been waiting for Leo to start focusing on her and the kids again for quite some time. Joanna is determined to find the truth out about Piper, but no one wants to believe what she uncovers. For fans of B.A. Paris and A.J. Finn.”

Laura Sanders, LaFourche Parish Library, Thibodaux, LA
NoveList read-alike:  The Temp by Michelle Francis

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s