Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Open for Curbside Delivery!

Although the Library building remains closed, as of Monday June 1st, we will have Curbside Services again.

Please note that during the pick-up portion of these services, per the state guidelines, all parties will need to wear masks and protective gear if they are not under 2 years of age and are physically able. And will be required to be as socially distant as is possible.

Here’s are the Services we’ll have:

Book Pick-up

Place Your Order

Request material via the catalog on our website (nevinslibrary.org), our app (download MVLC Mobile from your App Store), emailing us (contactcirc@nevinslibrary.org), or calling 978-686-4080 while we’re open for calls (10am-6pm Mon.-Thur., 10am-3pm Fri.)

Wait for notification that your hold is ready for pick up. This will be a phone call or an email.

We’re sorry, but, not all items will be available for pick-up (like the telescope, kits, and other specialty items). We will also be limited to lending only Nevins Library items for some time.

Ready For Pick-up?

Call us at 978-722-2666 to to reserve a pick-up time. Appointments are available Mon.-Thur. 11am-5:45pm, Fri. 11am-2:45pm.

Please understand that we have limited reservation slots, to keep social distancing protocols for everyone’s health and safety.

At Your Reserved Pick-Up Time

Plan to arrive at the library during your reservation time.

Pull through the parking lot, turn around in the upper lot, and park along the building near the ramp entrance. There will be signs to guide you.

Call 978-686-4080 and press 2 for Circulation when you arrive.

Staff will check out your items, bag them, and then bring them to the table located on the ramp. Please retrieve your bag once staff has stepped away.

Can’t leave your car? Let us know when you make your reservation or when you arrive, and we can accommodate you.

Return Your Borrowed Items in the Book Drop

The book drop is emptied daily – sometimes more than once!

Items coming back into the building will need to spend time waiting “in quarantine” before we can check them in.

Don’t worry – we’ll track when we brought them in the building, and we will check them in with that date!


Leave a comment

In the Garden

If you are like me and are seeking solace in gardening, you may be chomping at the bit to start planting vegetables and flowers.  New England’s Spring weather is iffy at best, and this April was the coldest on record, complete with frost warnings and even snow.  Cold weather vegetables can be cautiously planted earlier in the Spring, but traditionally, New England gardeners wait until after Memorial Day to start planting their warm weather vegetables like tomatoes, peppers and eggplants.  The following are some books (ebook and print) that can help inspire you and answer your gardening questions.  Ready, set, go — get your hands dirty!

Rodale’s Basic Organic Gardening by Deborah Martin
A beginner’s guide to starting a healthy garden.  This is a classic in the field!

All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew
Ten new features in this all new updated edition.  Anyone anywhere can enjoy a square foot garden!

Pollinator Friendly Gardening by Rhonda Fleming Hayes
Gardening for Bees, Butterflies, and Other Pollinators.  Help protect threatened butterflies, bees and other pollinators and have an alluring colorful garden, too.  It’s a “win-win” solution!

Container Gardening Secrets: tips for the beginner by Danielle Long
A great tool that will help the novice gardener to learn the techniques that are required to have a successful container garden. It is also a great text for those who have limited or no garden space that wants to grow some vegetables and herbs for home consumption or simply want to add some color to their home with some great flowers.

Grow Food for Free by Huw Richards
The sustainable, zero-cost, low-effort way to a bountiful harvest.  Grow your own vegetables from kitchen scraps!

Covering Ground by Barbara Ellis Unexpected ideas for landscaping with colorful, low-maintenance ground covers.  A pretty, practical and sustainable way to transform your ordinary lawn.

All titles are available in ebook format through Overdrive or it’s app, Libby


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame May 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  May 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Rodham

 Rodham: a novel

by Curtis Sittenfeld

Random House
ISBN:  9780399590917

“What if Hillary Rodham heeded the red flags that came with dating Bill Clinton in the 1970s? Sittenfeld really captures the voice of a strong, brilliant, independent female narrator in this warm, whip-smart take on what could have been.”

—Lindsay Jensen, Nashville Public Library, Nashville, TN

Read-alike: The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller
Read-alike: The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close
Read-alike: Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

If you like “Normal People” by Sally Rooney…

Perhaps you binge-watched the critically-acclaimed 12 episode Hulu series “Normal People”, and are eager to read the equally acclaimed novel of the same name by Sally Rooney.

While you are waiting for your turn with the ebook or eaudio,  Penguin Random House Morning Book Buzz suggests you may like the following readalikes:

Cover image for White fur :White Fur : a novel by Jardine Libaire (2017)

When Elise Perez meets Jamey Hyde on a desolate winter afternoon, fate implodes, and neither of their lives will ever be the same. Although they are next-door neighbors in New Haven, they come from different worlds. White Fur follows them as they wander through Newport mansions and East Village dives, WASP yacht clubs and lower Manhattan, fighting the forces determined to keep them apart.  Also available in ebook format.

 

Cover image for Single, carefree, mellow :Single, carefree, mellow: stories by Katherine Heiny (2015)

A collection of ten stories is filled with unwelcome house guests, disastrous birthday parties, needy but loyal friends, betrayal, jealousy, and flirtatious older men, and takes readers on a guided tour of the human heart.

 

 

Cover image for You think it, I'll say it :

You Think It, I’ll Say It:  stories by Curtis Sittenfeld (2018)

“In crisp, surprising language, these ten stories from novelist Sittenfeld (Eligible) put couples’ foibles under the spotlight, offering damning details of banality to show how the slog of daily living knocks idealized romance out of its misleading No. 1 spot as the goal of pairing up” –Beth Andersen (Reviewed 01/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 1, p94) Also available in ebook & eaudio format.

 

The Margot Affair by Sanaë LemoineThe Margot Affair by Sanaë Lemoine  (June, 2020)

The secret daughter of a French politician and a famous actress drops the startling revelation that will shatter her family in this beguiling debut novel of intrigue and betrayal. Will also be available in ebook format.

 


Leave a comment

Asteroids: Friends or Foes?

Asteroids: Friends or Foes?

Thursday May 28. 2020 7pm (On Zoom)

What are Asteroids? How are Asteroids and Meteorites related? Will one of them strike Earth with enough force to create widespread damage?

Join us (on Zoom) as Kelly Beatty helps us explore the science (and science fiction) surrounding asteroids.  To register for this webinar, click here.

Kelly Beatty has been explaining the science and wonder of astronomy to the public since 1974. An award-winning writer and communicator, he specializes in planetary science and space exploration as Senior Contributing Editor for Sky & Telescope magazine. Beatty enjoys sharing his passion for astronomy with a wide spectrum of audiences, from children to professional astronomers, and you’ll occasionally hear his interviews and guest commentaries on National Public Radio and The Weather Channel.


Leave a comment

Have time? Try writing!

Do you have an idea for a book and want to write and publish it? Here are a few tips from our resident Library writer, Loreen Augeri:

Writing Writer Notes - Free photo on Pixabay1. Learn about the craft of writing. Read books concerning the subject, register for online courses, and join writing groups.

2. Find a block of time to write, even if it is a few minutes. They add up. Writing one page a day for a year produces a 365 page novel. The first draft doesn’t have to be perfect.

3. Edit, edit, edit. Read through the novel a number of times until it is the best it can be. Have someone else read it. As the author, you know how the sentence is supposed to read, so your eyes may miss typos and grammar mistakes.

4. Search for agents and publishers (large, small, and online) that deal with your genre. They usually state to send a cover letter, synopsis, and the first few pages of the novel. Self-publishing is also available.

5. Never give up and continue writing if you want to achieve your dreams.

Loreen is the author of three historical romance books.  When not writing, reading, or walking, you may find Loreen in our Children’s Department.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads May 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 May 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Something to talk aboutSomething to Talk About

by Meryl Wilsner

Berkley
ISBN:  9780593102527

“Jo, a successful producer and screenwriter, asks her assistant Emma to attend
the SAG awards with her as a buffer to field questions. But after a red carpet
photograph, rumors start spreading about their romantic involvement. A
sweet, slow burn romance that gets steamy at the end between two people
who obviously respect and value the other, despite various communication
issues that arise. Give to readers who liked Girl Gone Viral (Rai),
The Hating Game (Thorne), and Red, White & Royal Blue (McQuiston).”

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA
NoveList read-alike: When Katie Met Cassidy by Camille Perri


Cover image for All Adults HereAll Adults Here: A Novel

by Emma Straub

Riverhead Books
ISBN:  9781594634697

“The ripple effects of choices linger for years and ultimately shape matriarch Astrid and her children. As several generations grapple with their own truths, an opportunity to begin again ultimately draws them all closer.  This book asks the question, “Who is truth ultimately for, who benefits from it, and who does it hurt?” For fans of Clock Dance (Tyler) and The Most Fun We Ever Had (Lombardo).”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA
NoveList read-alike: The Precious One by Marisa de los Santo


Cover image for Beach ReadBeach Read

by Emily Henry

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806734

“Hooray for smart, emotional, well-written romance! Two old enemies meet by chance and decide to solve their writer’s block by swapping genres: Literary writer Augustus will trade his cynicism for a happily ever after, while January will try a “serious” novel where everyone ends up realistically miserable. What could go wrong?  For readers who like Susan Mallery and Jennifer Crusie.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
NoveList read-alike: Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn


Cover image for BIG SUMMER.Big Summer

by Jennifer Weiner

Atria
ISBN: 9781501133510

“Daphne is a plus-size Instagram influencer who is lovable, funny, and honest.
She is surprised when her former best friend–rich, beautiful, mean girl Drue–
asks her to be in her summer wedding on Cape Cod. Readers of modern romance,
women’s fiction, mystery, and beachy chic-lit will all find something here to ponder.
Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin.”

Kathleen Redfearn, Attleboro Public Library, Attleboro, MA
NoveList read-alike: Save the Date by Mary Kay Andrews


Cover image for A good marriage :A Good Marriage: A Novel

by Kimberly McCreight

Harper
ISBN:  9780062367686

“In Park Slope, everyone has a “good marriage.” Yet after an annual party that often involves partner swapping, one wife ends up dead. Her husband might not be the
best spouse, but he claims he didn’t kill his wife. If being a bad husband doesn’t make you a murderer, then who in this idyllic community is responsible? Liane Moriarty fans will love this one.”

Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
NoveList read-alike: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena


Cover image for Happy & you know itHappy & You Know It

by Laura Hankin

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806239

“Claire is a musician whose former band became famous without her. She takes a gig
singing nursery rhymes for a playgroup, and her life takes a couple of sharp lefts from there! For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg.”

Danielle Hansard, Westland Public Library, Westland, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy


The Jane Austen SocietyThe Jane Austen Society: a Novel

by Natalie Jenner

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250248732

“Set in the small village of Chawton where Jane Austen lived at the end of her life, just after WWII. Add in a small farmer, the local doctor, a heartbroken widow, a movie actress and other assorted characters all of who love Jane Austen. For readers who enjoyed The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler.”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer


Cover image for Network Effect: A Murderbot NovelNetwork Effect: A Murderbot Novel 

by Martha Wells

Tor
ISBN: 9781250229861

“For the unfamiliar, The Murderbot Diaries is an action-packed, smart science fiction
series about a self-hacking robot searching for the meaning of life. This is the first full-length standalone in the series. Given time to develop characters, the peril was even more suspenseful. More than any of the other titles, this one has me hoping for a sequel. For fans of Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie.”

April Lammers, Huntington Beach Public Library, Huntington Beach, CA
NoveList read-alike: The Cassandra Kresnov novels by Joel Shepherd


Cover image for Recipe for PersuasionRecipe for Persuasion:  A Novel

by Sonali Dev

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062839077

“Ashna is trying to keep her father’s restaurant, Curried Dreams, from failing. An opportunity is presented to her to be a chef on a reality show, paired with a celebrity. Little does she know that the celebrity, Rico, a soccer star, maneuvered on the
show to be paired with her. For fans of Jasmine Guillory.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
NoveList read-alike: Savor You by Kristen Proby


Cover image for The Wife StalkerThe Wife Stalker

by Liv Constantine

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062967282

“Piper Reynard has moved to Connecticut to start over. She meets Leo, a handsome and successful lawyer who is married to Joanna, who has been waiting for Leo to start focusing on her and the kids again for quite some time. Joanna is determined to find the truth out about Piper, but no one wants to believe what she uncovers. For fans of B.A. Paris and A.J. Finn.”

Laura Sanders, LaFourche Parish Library, Thibodaux, LA
NoveList read-alike:  The Temp by Michelle Francis

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org