Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads April 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

April 2019 LibraryReads List

Lost Roses: A Novel

by Martha Hall Kelly

Published: 4/9/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781524796372

“The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and World War I. Highly recommended for book clubs and fans of Anthony Doerr, Susan Meissner, and Lauren Belfer.”

Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME
NoveList Read-alike: The Women In The Castle by Jessica Shattuck


The Girl He Used to Know

The Girl He Used to Know

by Tracey Garvis Graves

Published: 4/2/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250200358

“A college romance with an odd, quiet girl fades when she fails to follow him to New York after graduation as promised. Ten years later, a chance meeting in Chicago reunites them. An interesting story giving insight into the world of a high functioning autistic adult. For readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project.”

Virginia Holsten, Vinton Public Library, Vinton, IA
Novelist Read-alike: Ghosted by Rosie Walsh


The Invited: A NovelThe Invited: A Novel

by Jennifer McMahon

Published: 4/30/2019 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385541381

“Nate and Helen leave their teaching jobs to build their dream home in rural Vermont. Helen begins seeing ghosts, and Nate becomes obsessed with a white doe. An unputdownable thriller about a house with a tragic past. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly and Attica Locke.”

Terri Smith, Cornelia Library, Mt. Airy, GA
NoveList Read-alike: Mansion by Ezekiel Boone


Little Darlings: A NovelLittle Darlings: A Novel

by Melanie Golding

Published: 4/30/2019 by Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781683319979

“A creepy, beautifully written story about a new mother of twin boys who claims to have seen a strange creature who wants to steal her babies. Doctors and the police are dismissive. Then the unthinkable happens. For fans of modern myths, psychological suspense, and Fiona Barton.”

Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA
NoveList Read-alike: The Other Mother by Carol Goodman


Miracle Creek: A Novel

by Angie Kim

Published: 4/16/2019 by Sarah Crichton Books
ISBN: 9780374156022

“When a medical treatment facility explodes, killing two people, the ensuing murder trial rocks the town while witnesses go to extremes to conceal their darkest secrets. Part family drama, part whodunit, Miracle Creek is a gripping debut. For fans of Celeste Ng and Liane Moriarty.”

Portia Kapraun, Delphi Public Library, Delphi, IN
NoveList Read-alike: Defending Jacob by William Landay


The Mother-in-LawThe Mother-In-Law: A Novel

by Sally Hepworth

Published: 4/23/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250120922

Lucy hopes to have a good relationship with her husband Ollie’s mother, but Diana makes it difficult. When Diana is found dead of an apparent suicide, Lucy reexamines everything she knows about Diana and the rest of the family. For fans of The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand and The Lake House by Kate Morton.

Chris Markley, Kingsport Public Library, Kingsport, TN
NoveList Read-alike: The Other Woman by Sandie Jones


Normal People by Sally RooneyNormal People: A Novel

by Sally Rooney

Published: 4/16/2019 by Hogarth
ISBN: 9781984822178

“Follows the complicated relationship between Connell, a popular boy, and Marianne, a lonely and private girl, through their high school years and college. A great book club pick. For fans of Three Junes by Julia Glass and Idaho by Emily Ruskovich.”

Anbolyn Potter, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ
NoveList Read-alike: The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear Mcbride


Save Me the Plums: My Gourmet Memoir

by Ruth Reichl

Published: 4/2/2019 by Random House
ISBN: 9781400069996

“Reichl’s captivating story about leaving her job as a New York Times restaurant critic to become Editor in Chief of Gourmet magazine. Her writing is as luscious as the food she critiques. For fans of Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain and My Life in France by Julia Child.

Katelyn Boyer, Fergus Falls Public Library, Fergus Falls, MN
NoveList Read-alike: My Soul Looks Back by Jessica B. Harris


Southern Lady Code: Essays

by Helen Ellis

Published: 4/16/2019 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385543897

“A funny, spot-on collection of essays on topics ranging from marriage and manners, three-ways, and how to be a good friend in the middle of a murder trial. For fans of You Play the Girl by Carina Chocano and Thick by Tressie McMillan Cottom.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Look Alive Out There by Sloane Crosley


Women Talking

by Miriam Toews

Published: 4/2/2019 by Bloomsbury
ISBN: 9781635572582

“In a modern-day Mennonite community, eight women surreptitiously gather in a barn to decide their future after learning the truth behind two years of sexual assaults committed by neighbors and family members. Their circuitous, swooping two-day conversation touches on faith, autonomy, duty, anger, and their hopes for their lives and those of their children in this compelling and haunting read. For fans of Lauren Groff.”

Andrea Gough, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA
NoveList Read-alike: The Natural Way Of Things by Charlotte Wood

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Advertisements


Leave a comment

Spring Clean, Green Clean!

‘Tis the season for Spring cleaning.  Why not try…

Green Cleaning with Leslie the Cleaning Coach

Wednesday April 24th, 2019 7pm

Do you know what’s in your cleaning supplies? Are you using cleaning supplies with lots of chemicals?

Come learn from Leslie Reichert, the “Cleaning Coach” how to clean in a natural and healthy way.

To register for this program, CLICK HERE.  For more information, contact Danielle at 978-686-4080×12 or dkimerer@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

What’s the Library Worth to You?

I use the library for everything.  It’s true that I work in a public library, so I almost can’t help but use all of their many resources.  Even on a day off, I might still sneak into my local library to use their printer or check out an item, and say “Hi” to the librarians there.

I am a voracious reader (fiction, non-fiction, children’s, teen, adult – you name it!) and can afford to follow wherever my curiosity leads me, because all the library books are free.  When the Grammy nominations come in, and if I am not familiar with certain performers, I will request their music CD’s from the library.  Speaking about “buzz”, there are so many clever cable and streaming TV series these days.  I don’t have cable, nor do I subscribe to Netflix or a streaming service, so I depend on library DVD’s to keep me up to date.  As a resident of Massachusetts I can get an ecard from the Boston Public Library, and use Kanopy to gain access to all the indie films or top-rated documentaries that might not come to the suburban theaters.

Massachusetts is a rich source of museums and other hotspots.  But, as I’m not rich, I check out museum passes from the library to get in free or at reduced price so I can be as cultured as a Boston Brahmin.

Did I say hotspot?  Yes, the library has WiFi hotspots that you can borrow, too!  I found that invaluable when I was away at a place without internet service and had to remain in contact with the wider world.

As an experiment, I calculated the value of my library use from January 1, 2019 to April 11th using the I Love Libraries website calculator.   Taking into account print, electronic, and audio/visual resources as well as computer usage, museum passes, databases, programs that I took advantage of, the grand total came out to…  $1,775.80!  Not a bad investment, considering I got my library card for free!

How much have you saved this year using the library?

Take action for Libraries


Leave a comment

National Library Week 2019: What Libraries Do

https://i0.wp.com/www.ala.org/conferencesevents/sites/ala.org.conferencesevents/files/content/nlw19-web-leaderboard-728x90.pngWHAT LIBRARIES DO

Image result for neil gaiman library quoteLibraries are places of information. When most people think “library” they think books. And while that is certainly true, these days books take different shapes, such as e-books and audio books. More than just books, libraries are places of information, offering people free access to a wealth of information that they often can’t find elsewhere, whether online, in print or in person. Whether they’re looking for DVDs or the latest best-seller; health or business information found  on internet databases not accessible at home, or going for story times and community programming, the library is a center of community for millions of people.

America’s 123,000 libraries fall into four basic types (with a few added variations): Public, School, Academic and Special. There are also Armed Forces libraries, Government libraries and multi-use or Joint-Use libraries, which combine library types in one service area or structure. Learn more about America’s libraries

At the center of all types of libraries is the librarian. Librarians are information experts, selecting books relevant to the community, creating helpful programming, and connecting people to information.

From ilovelibraries.org, an initiative of the American Library Association

Accessed March 3, 2019

 


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: The Road Between

Cover image for The road betweenThe Road Between by Courtney Peppernell

I am a huge fan of new age contemporary poetry. However, I’m an even bigger fan of Peppernell’s The Road Between. Something about this book reached right into my soul and dragged me on an emotional roller coaster ride. I remember sitting up late in my dorm room, wrapped in a blanket with a cup of eggnog, reading this book. I had to keep putting it down and giving myself breaks because it was too much to take in all at once, but I read the whole book that night. I couldn’t stop even if I wanted to. Peppernell spoke right to my very being. It was as if she had read my thought and put them on the paper for me, it was so personal and relatable. 100/10, I would recommend this book, even to those who aren’t poetry fans. It’s beautifully written and it will (definitely) make you cry.  

∼ Samm, Library Page

The Road Between
by Courtney Peppernell
Andrews McMeel Publishing, 2017