Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

It’s Almost Oscars Time!

Mark your calendars! Starting tonight, the Nevins Library will continue its tradition of showing Oscars movies for free!

And it won’t just be a movie, there’ll be refreshments (popcorn & water) too!!

As always, please make sure that you check the dates and times before you sign up!

To sign up for each movie click on their Date/Title of each screening (or give us a call). Please also note that Once Upon a Time in Hollywood and Ford v Ferrari have slightly earlier start times.

Thursday, Jan. 16th at 6:30 PM – Judy

Legendary performer Judy Garland arrives in London in the winter of 1968 to perform a series of sold-out concerts. (Rated PG-13)

Tuesday, Jan. 21st at 6:30 PM – Joker

In Gotham City, mentally troubled comedian Arthur Fleck is disregarded and mistreated by society. He then embarks on a downward spiral of revolution and bloody crime. This path brings him face-to-face with his alter-ego: the Joker.
(Rated R)

Friday, Jan. 24th at 1:00 PM – Casablanca

Has it been awhile since you’ve watched this classic Oscar winner? Or is this a film you’ve always meant to watch, but never quite got around to it? Join us as we get swept away in this iconic romantic drama starring Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman which is always named among the greatest films in history. (Rated PG)

Monday, Jan. 27th at 6:15 PM – Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood

A faded television actor and his stunt double strive to achieve fame and success in the film industry during the final years of Hollywood’s Golden Age in 1969 Los Angeles. Please note that this movie starts a bit earlier than previous. (Rated R)

Wednesday, Feb. 5th at 6:30 PM – Harriet

The extraordinary tale of Harriet Tubman’s escape from slavery and transformation into one of America’s greatest heroes, whose courage, ingenuity, and tenacity freed hundreds of slaves and changed the course of history.
(Rated PG-13)

Tuesday, Feb. 11th at 6:15 PM – Ford v Ferrari

American car designer Carroll Shelby and driver Ken Miles battle corporate interference, the laws of physics and their own personal demons to build a revolutionary race car for Ford and challenge Ferrari at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1966. (Rated PG-13)


Leave a comment

LibraryReads January 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 January 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Dear Edward :

Dear Edward: a novel

by Ann Napolitano

The Dial Press
ISBN:  9781984854780

“A dear, dear wonderous novel. Edward is The Miracle Boy, the only survivor of a plane crash. As he struggles to navigate the landscape of his new life, we hear the voices of those who didn’t make it. Napolitano is an amazing writer who deserves a wider audience. For fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (Bill Clegg),The Grief of Others (Leah Hager Cohen), and The Friend (Sigrid Nunez).”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Goldfinch by Donna Tart


Cover image for All the ways we said goodbyeAll the Ways We Said Goodbye: a novel of the Ritz Paris

by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, and Karen White

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062931092

“Three time periods, three women, three authors combine for an absorbing read.  Aurelie is ready to fight the Germans during WWI.  Daisy, a woman with a collaborator husband, is embroiled in the fight against the Nazis. Babs, an Englishwoman in the 1960s, is anxious to find the truth about her dead husband.  For readers who liked The Alice Network and Sarah’s Key.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
Novelist read-alike:  The Light Over London by Julia Kelley

Cover image for American DirtAmerican Dirt: a novel

by Jeanine Cummins

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250209764

“A literary thriller chronicling the migration of a mother and her young son.  Under threat, Lydia and Luca leave their middle-class life in Acapulco and begin a traumatic journey to the border, evading cartels, thieves, corrupt police, and others forced into malevolent behavior by extreme violence and poverty.  For readers who enjoyed The Other Americans (Laila Lalami) and And the Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini)”.

Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
Novelist read-alike:  Lost Children Archive by Valerie Luiselli


Cover image for FollowersFollowers: a novel

by Megan Angelo

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525836268

“A thrilling satirical critique of societal values.  The timeline alternates before and after “the Spill”, a psychological terrorist attack using online data, and society is wildly changed.  But one thing is still the same — family is complicated.  For fans of The Circle (Dave Eggers) and Super Sad True Love Story (Cary Shteyngart).”

Jessica Rodrigues, Steger-South Chicago Heights Public Library, Chicago, IL
Novelist read-alike:  Touch by Courtney Maum


Cover image for HighfireHighfire: a novel

by Eoin Colfer

Harper Perennial
ISBN: 9780062938558

“Vern, a dragon living in the Louisiana swamps, may be the last
of his kind, so he tries to remain unnoticed. When teenage Squib
stumbles on Vern’s hideout, he ends up working for him and
keeping his secret. A fantasy with suspense, humor, and danger and
a heartfelt story about family and friendship. For readers who
enjoyed Anansi Boys (Neil Gaiman) and Bad Monkey (Carl Hiaasen).”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
Novelist read-alike:  Cat Out of Hell by Lynne Tuss


Cover image for How quickly she disappearsHow Quickly She Disappears

by Raymond Fleischmann

Berkley
ISBN: 9781984805171

“In 1941 Alaska, a woman whose twin disappeared 20 years earlier crosses paths with a sinister stranger threatening to reveal the
truth of what happened.  Does she dare risk what little she has left to save her sister?  For readers of moody thrillers such as Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown and The Dry by Jane Harper.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Star of the North by David John


Cover image for Long bright riverLong Bright River: a novel

by Liz Moore

Riverhead
ISBN: 9780525540670

“A compelling literary police procedural set in an opioid-ravaged Philadelphia neighborhood and centered on the relationship between
two sisters whose lives have taken opposite paths. Your heart will ache as you grow to love the complex, strong, and incredibly vulnerable characters. For readers of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.”

Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
Novelist read-alike:  The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh


Cover image for Love Her or Lose HerLove Her or Lose Her: a novel

by Tessa Bailey

Avon
ISBN: 9780062872852

“This story of a married couple losing–and then finding–their way together is beautiful, touching and hot, with just the right touch of comic relief. For readers of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.”

Carole Tossman, Howard County Library System, Ellicott City, MD
NoveList Read-alike: The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams


Cover image for When We Were VikingsWhen We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald

Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN:  9781982126766

“A beautifully written novel about a young woman–and unabashed Viking enthusiast–born with fetal alcohol syndrome. Zelda feels not quite ‘normal,’ but as she discovers through her quests, who really is? Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Silver Linings Playbook.”

Kat Neal, Tulsa Library, Tulsa, OK
NoveList Read-alike: The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood


Cover image for You Were There TooYou Were There Too 

by Colleen Oakley

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806468

“Mia is happily married to Harrison, but keeps dreaming about another man. One day her path crosses with this mystery man, and the results are devastating. This is a realistic, engrossing love story suited for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”

Danielle Hansard, Public Library of Westland, MI
NoveList Read-alike:  One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Memory Cafe: Game Day

Game board with dice on it and the Live Long and Learn Logo overlayed over the pictureMemory Cafe:  Game Day

Friday January 10th, 2020 at 1pm

Join us in the New Year at our January Memory Cafe.  We will have a selection of board games for everyone to play.  To register for this event, CLICK HERE.  For more information on our Memory Cafes, contact Sarah at 978-686-4080 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment

New Year, New You Book Review: Boundaries by Henry Cloud

Editor’s Note:  One of my colleagues suggested this for the previous blog post,  Staff Favorite reads in 2019, but I thought it was so important that it deserved its own separate post.

Cover image for Boundaries :Boundaries:  When to Say Yes, How to Say No To Take Control of Your Life by Henry Cloud

If you find yourself drawn to the trendy buzz words “toxic”, “self-care” or the beloved classic “dysfunctional”, reading Boundaries may be suitable for you.  I consider myself to be a caring and helpful person; however, when boundaries were crossed or not present, I became the “toxic” one, the “dysfunctional” one and not taking care of myself. I continually found myself overwhelmed by others around me, whether it be their unspoken demands, their high expectations, or reckless behavior.  What I learned from this book is how responsible I was for allowing the aforementioned to overwhelm me, where to identify the boundary issues and how to set healthy boundaries. The changes I made within and around myself after reading this book have proven to make a significant difference in my well-being and presence.

Boundaries by Henry Cloud & John Townsend
Updated and expanded [edition], 2017
Zondervan
ISBN: 9780310350231


Leave a comment

Staff Favorite Titles Read in 2019

Before we jump into the new year, let’s take one last look at 2019 and some of the Nevins Library staff’s favorite books:

Cynthia from Readers’ Services starts us off with these three winners:
Cover image for Olive, againOlive, Again by Elizabeth Strout
A wonderfully written story about a “red blooded original” woman.

Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok
A page-turner of family secrets, love and loss

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
A beautifully written and heartbreaking coming-of-age story set in the Carolina marshes.

 

Danielle, from Reference Services, loved these media tie-ins:
A Study in Honor by Claire O’Dell
Yes, it’s another take on the Sherlock/Watson characters, but, it manages to be both very different and quite like the original source material.

Cover image for The rise of KyoshiThe Rise of Kyoshi by F.C. Yee
For those who loved Avatar: The Last Airbender (i.e. not the Avatar with the blue people) this book is 11 out of 10 amazing. But, even if you’ve never watched or read anything related to the show, this is a pretty good introduction to Avatar’s amazing universe.

And now an audiobook from our Administrative Assistant, Barbara:
Nanaville: An Adventure in Grandparenting, a memoir by Anna Quindlen.
Recommended for anyone trying to be the “perfect grandparent” in today’s changing world.  Based on the author’s experience with her first grandchild Arthur, she humorously yet poignantly warns grandparents to “hang back” in matters of giving child-rearing advice. Every grandparent will smile or tear up while reading episodes so common to all with the cherished title of “grandparent.”

Kathi, from Childrens’ Services, loved these adult books:
LCover image for Never have I ever :ady from the Black Lagoon:  Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O’Meara
This was very eye opening book about the early days of Hollywood and an amazing artist, who was almost lost to history.

Who Slays the Wicked by C.S. Harris
The 14th book in one of my favorite historical mystery serieses, featuring an aristocrat detective in Regency England.  (“What Angels Fear” is book one in the series)

Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson
The best woman-with-secret-being-blackmailed book I’ve read in a while.

Amy, our Teen Librarian, heartily recommends:
Cover image for Red, white & royal blueRed, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
The son of the American President and an English prince fall in love. What could go wrong? This romance was fun, upbeat and incredibly sweet. I was hooked from the start, and rooting for the couple through all of their ups and downs. In addition to the main heroes, the supporting cast is equally lovable and help to create a fully realized story.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
I listened to this as an audiobook and fully recommend the format in addition to the title itself. Darius is doing his best to figure out his place in his family, his school and the world. When he and his family travel to visit his Persian relatives Darius faces struggles old and new in this coming-of-age story. Darius is a sweet kid with a great sense of humor and a thoughtful disposition. The narrative focuses on many different relationships in his life, and all are fleshed out and unique. Darius is a hero you’ll connect with whether you’re sixteen or sixty.

Cover image for Making space, clutter free :Tatjana, from Reference Services made great use of:
Making Space, Clutter Free: The Last Book on Decluttering You’ll Ever Need by Tracy McCubbin.
One of my favorite clutter books because it addresses the emotional blocks behind clutter, why it happens and what you can do about it,  in addition to dealing with the physical items.

Cover image for The library bookAnd finally, a favorite too many librarians to count (see LibraryReads Voters Favorites 2019) including Nevins Library’s own Cynthia and Kathi:

The Library Book by Susan Orlean.
The story of the Los Angeles Public Library fire that burned 400,000 books and damaged 700,000 more.  More than 30 years later, the mystery of how the fire started remains.  A must read for anyone who loves books!!!

Happy Reading to All in 2020!

 

 


Leave a comment

LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites 2019

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

Favorite of Favorites 2019

The Library Book

by Susan Orlean

Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476740188

“An investigation of the fire that devastated the Los Angles Public Library in 1986 evolves into a page-turning history of the immense impact libraries and books have had throughout time.  Profoundly moving and enlightening, and a clear call to readers to appreciate and support their libraries.  For readers who enjoy high-quality narrative nonfiction.”

Jessica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA


The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel

by Kim Michele Richardson

Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781492671527

“Blue-skinned Cussie brings books via horseback to rural, racially intolerant Kentucky in the 1930s. Her efforts demonstrate that people crave intellectual stimulation even when they are poverty stricken in a food desert. For fans of Sandra Dallas and Lee Smith.”

Courtenay Reece, Millville Public Library, Millville, NJ

 


Daisy Jones & the Six: A Novel

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781524798628

“Like the best episodes of Behind the Music, this chronicle of the rise and fall of a fictional ’70s rock group is impossible to resist. You’ll be tempted to look up the band’s hits, only to disappointedly remember that they don’t exist. A great rock ’n’ roll ride for readers.”

Becky Bowen, Kenton County Public Library, Erlanger, KY


The Dutch House

by Ann Patchett

Harper
ISBN: 9780062963673

“For siblings Danny and Maeve, the Dutch house is much more than a structure. It is the bones of their family, a symbol connected to love, loss, achievement, and abandonment. They are connected to this house all their lives, even after being flung out of it. For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen.”

Kelly Currie, Delphi Public Library, Delphi, IN


Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel

by Linda Holmes

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780525619246

“Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.”

Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 


The Flatshare: A Novel

by Beth O’Leary

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250295637

“In this entertaining and humorous romance, Tiffy and Leon share a flat, but have never met. Who says you can’t fall in love if your only communication has been through Post-It notes? For fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating.”

Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX

 


My Sister, the Serial KIller: A Novel

by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385544238

“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer).  Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family.  For fans of satirical humor.”

Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield, NJ

 


The Nickel Boys: A Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385537070

“An incredibly powerful story about an abusive boys’ reform school in the 1960s. Whitehead skillfully brings each character to life even as they suffer physical and emotional horrors. For fans of Panopticon by Jenni Fagan.”

Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL 

 


Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel

by Casey McQuiston

St. Martin’s Griffin
ISBN: 9781250316776

“First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is in his last semester of university and has an antagonistic relationship with Prince Henry of Wales. But friendship and then love blossoms when they are forced to pretend to be buddies after an embarrassing altercation. For fans of a good rom-com.”

Nita Gill, Brookings Public Library, Brookings, SD


The Silent Patient

by Alex Michaelides

Celadon Books
ISBN: 9781250301697

“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”

Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

 

Courtesy of LibraryReads.org