Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame June 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  June 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

Alpha Night

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN:  978-1984803627

“This continuation of the Psy-Changeling series features the shapeshifting wolves of Moscow and their pack alpha, Selenka, but it also brings back many characters from previous books. Another enjoyable, fast-paced paranormal romance from Singh.”

Cathy Shields, East Lyme Public Library, Niantic, CT

Read-alike: The Mane Event by Shelly Laurenston
Read-alike: Dragon Bound by Thea Harrison
Read-alike: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews
Read-alike: The Last Wolf by Maria Vale


Cover image for DANCE AWAY WITH ME.Dance Away With Me:  a novel

by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

William Morrow
ISBN:  978-0062973054

“Phillips’ slow-burn romance centers around a grieving young widow who is drawn into the life of a frustrated artist. The story’s darker turns are lightened by humor drawn from the small-town Tennessee setting. Highly recommended.”

Rose Miller, Orange Public Library, Orange, CA

Read-alike: Blue Hollow Falls by Donna Kauffman
Read-alike: Blackberry Summer by RaeAnne Thayne
Read-alike: Sanctuary Cove by Rochelle Alers


Cover image for The DilemmaThe Dilemma

by B.A. Paris

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN:  978-1250151360

“If you knew something that was certain to change everything, would you keep it a secret to hold on to tranquility for one more day? Paris’ driving narrative, alternating between the perspectives of a husband and wife, guarantees your book group will be divided over this very question.”

Lorri Steinbacher, Ridgewood Public Library, Ridgewood, NJ

Read-alike: Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman
Read-alike: My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing
Read-alike: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough


Home Before DarkHome Before Dark: a novel

by Riley Sager

Dutton
ISBN:  978-1524745172

“Maggie’s father wrote a famous book about the family’s paranormal experiences when she was a child living at Baneberry Hall. Twenty-six years later she returns to the house to finally face what happened long ago. This suspenseful and compelling book keeps you guessing to the very end.”

Ashley Borer, Normal Memorial Library, Fayette, OH

Read-alike: The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell
Read-alike: The Missing Years by Lexie Elliott
Read-alike: The Invited by Jennifer McMahon


Party of Two

by Jasmine Guillory

Berkley
ISBN:  978-0593100813

“In the fifth book of the Wedding Date series, sparks fly between a smart, independent lawyer and a charming, impulsive senator. Guillory thoughtfully incorporates serious issues into her books while keeping the tone light and uplifting. Sweet, sexy, and a lot of fun.”

Jayme Hughes-Gartin, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, Cincinnati, OH

Read-alike: A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole
Read-alike: Rumor Has It by Cheris F. Hodges
Read-alike: The Bride Test by Helen Hoang
Read-alike: The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame May 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  May 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Rodham

 Rodham: a novel

by Curtis Sittenfeld

Random House
ISBN:  9780399590917

“What if Hillary Rodham heeded the red flags that came with dating Bill Clinton in the 1970s? Sittenfeld really captures the voice of a strong, brilliant, independent female narrator in this warm, whip-smart take on what could have been.”

—Lindsay Jensen, Nashville Public Library, Nashville, TN

Read-alike: The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller
Read-alike: The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close
Read-alike: Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: Ghoster by Jason Arnopp

Cover image for GhosterGhoster by Jason Arnopp offers a contemporary twist on the horror genre as we know it. With the dual meaning of the title, making reference to the internet term “ghosting”, as well as referring to actual supernatural entities, this novel sheds a spotlight on the reliance on our devices that we face today as a society. Through the eyes of Kate Collins, we are able to see the potential consequences of online dating and not knowing exactly who you’re talking to online. A whirlwind of internet stalking, cellphone addiction, possible murder, and supernatural occurrences, Ghoster will capture your attention from the first page and hold it until the very last.

∼ Brianna, Library Page

Ghoster by Jason Arnopp
New York : Orbit, 2019


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame March 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  March 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Eight perfect murders :

  Eight Perfect Murders

by Peter Swanson

William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062838209

“Malcolm writes a blog post about eight crime novels featuring “perfect” murders. Years later,an FBI agent tells him a killer is mimicking the books on his list. In an homage to classic mysteries, Swanson creates an artful tale of murder.”

Amy Whitfield, Cary Regional Library, Cary NC

Read-alikes:

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan
The Oxford Murders by Guillermo Martínez
Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

 

Cover image for The Honey-Don't List

The Honey-Don’t List

by Christina Lauren

Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982123918

“Imagine a world in which two HGTV-style design gurus have a terrible marriage and their assistants have to keep everything from falling apart. This is a super-fun, fast,and easy read.”

Maria Maia, River Forest Public Library, River Forest, IL

Read-alikes:

Playing House by Ruby Lang
Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey
Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

 

Cover image for The Red Lotus

The Red Lotus: a novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Doubleday Books

ISBN:  9780385544801

“In the aftermath of her boyfriend’s disappearance in contemporary Vietnam, a New York ER doctor discovers the shocking truth about his secret life. This is an exciting edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you reading well into the night.”

Marion Sheehan, Canterbury Public Library, Canterbury, CT

Read-alikes:

Outbreak by Robin Cook
The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer
Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame February 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  February 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for The Sun Down MotelThe Sun Down Motel

by Simone St. James

Published by Berkley
ISBN: 9780440000174

“Another chilling ghost story from St. James, who seems to surpass the level of shiver with each book.  A young woman recovers old secrets and stirs up vengeful ghosts when she travels to upstate New York in search of an aunt who disappeared 35 years earlier.”

Patricia Utarro, Monroe County Library System, Rochester, NY

 

Read-alike:
The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon
The Vanishing by Wendy Webb
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman
An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

 Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

New Year, New You Book Review: Boundaries by Henry Cloud

Editor’s Note:  One of my colleagues suggested this for the previous blog post,  Staff Favorite reads in 2019, but I thought it was so important that it deserved its own separate post.

Cover image for Boundaries :Boundaries:  When to Say Yes, How to Say No To Take Control of Your Life by Henry Cloud

If you find yourself drawn to the trendy buzz words “toxic”, “self-care” or the beloved classic “dysfunctional”, reading Boundaries may be suitable for you.  I consider myself to be a caring and helpful person; however, when boundaries were crossed or not present, I became the “toxic” one, the “dysfunctional” one and not taking care of myself. I continually found myself overwhelmed by others around me, whether it be their unspoken demands, their high expectations, or reckless behavior.  What I learned from this book is how responsible I was for allowing the aforementioned to overwhelm me, where to identify the boundary issues and how to set healthy boundaries. The changes I made within and around myself after reading this book have proven to make a significant difference in my well-being and presence.

Boundaries by Henry Cloud & John Townsend
Updated and expanded [edition], 2017
Zondervan
ISBN: 9780310350231


Leave a comment

Staff Favorite Titles Read in 2019

Before we jump into the new year, let’s take one last look at 2019 and some of the Nevins Library staff’s favorite books:

Cynthia from Readers’ Services starts us off with these three winners:
Cover image for Olive, againOlive, Again by Elizabeth Strout
A wonderfully written story about a “red blooded original” woman.

Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok
A page-turner of family secrets, love and loss

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
A beautifully written and heartbreaking coming-of-age story set in the Carolina marshes.

 

Danielle, from Reference Services, loved these media tie-ins:
A Study in Honor by Claire O’Dell
Yes, it’s another take on the Sherlock/Watson characters, but, it manages to be both very different and quite like the original source material.

Cover image for The rise of KyoshiThe Rise of Kyoshi by F.C. Yee
For those who loved Avatar: The Last Airbender (i.e. not the Avatar with the blue people) this book is 11 out of 10 amazing. But, even if you’ve never watched or read anything related to the show, this is a pretty good introduction to Avatar’s amazing universe.

And now an audiobook from our Administrative Assistant, Barbara:
Nanaville: An Adventure in Grandparenting, a memoir by Anna Quindlen.
Recommended for anyone trying to be the “perfect grandparent” in today’s changing world.  Based on the author’s experience with her first grandchild Arthur, she humorously yet poignantly warns grandparents to “hang back” in matters of giving child-rearing advice. Every grandparent will smile or tear up while reading episodes so common to all with the cherished title of “grandparent.”

Kathi, from Childrens’ Services, loved these adult books:
LCover image for Never have I ever :ady from the Black Lagoon:  Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O’Meara
This was very eye opening book about the early days of Hollywood and an amazing artist, who was almost lost to history.

Who Slays the Wicked by C.S. Harris
The 14th book in one of my favorite historical mystery serieses, featuring an aristocrat detective in Regency England.  (“What Angels Fear” is book one in the series)

Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson
The best woman-with-secret-being-blackmailed book I’ve read in a while.

Amy, our Teen Librarian, heartily recommends:
Cover image for Red, white & royal blueRed, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
The son of the American President and an English prince fall in love. What could go wrong? This romance was fun, upbeat and incredibly sweet. I was hooked from the start, and rooting for the couple through all of their ups and downs. In addition to the main heroes, the supporting cast is equally lovable and help to create a fully realized story.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
I listened to this as an audiobook and fully recommend the format in addition to the title itself. Darius is doing his best to figure out his place in his family, his school and the world. When he and his family travel to visit his Persian relatives Darius faces struggles old and new in this coming-of-age story. Darius is a sweet kid with a great sense of humor and a thoughtful disposition. The narrative focuses on many different relationships in his life, and all are fleshed out and unique. Darius is a hero you’ll connect with whether you’re sixteen or sixty.

Cover image for Making space, clutter free :Tatjana, from Reference Services made great use of:
Making Space, Clutter Free: The Last Book on Decluttering You’ll Ever Need by Tracy McCubbin.
One of my favorite clutter books because it addresses the emotional blocks behind clutter, why it happens and what you can do about it,  in addition to dealing with the physical items.

Cover image for The library bookAnd finally, a favorite too many librarians to count (see LibraryReads Voters Favorites 2019) including Nevins Library’s own Cynthia and Kathi:

The Library Book by Susan Orlean.
The story of the Los Angeles Public Library fire that burned 400,000 books and damaged 700,000 more.  More than 30 years later, the mystery of how the fire started remains.  A must read for anyone who loves books!!!

Happy Reading to All in 2020!

 

 


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors November 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  November 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Confession Club: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

Published: 11/19/2019 by Random House
ISBN: 9781984855176

“What starts as a simple supper club transforms into something special when one member reveals a very personal secret. Berg continues her Mason, MO, series with a story that exudes goodness, warmth and solid friendships. A surefire winner and hot book club pick!”

Ron Block, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Brooklyn, Ohio

Read-alikes:

The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan
Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper
Chronicles of a Radical Hag by Lorna Landvik


The Family Upstairs

by Lisa Jewell

Published: 11/5/2019
by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781501190100

“Gothic and creepy, this is the tale of an aging London mansion taken over by a strong-willed con artist happy to prey on the minds of the eccentric family living there. I look forward to each Lisa Jewell release and The Family Upstairs does not disappoint.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alikes:

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
The Au Pair by Emma Rous
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors October 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  October 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Full Throttle

by Joe Hill

Published: 10/1/2019 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062200679

“Hill’s short story collection hits the sweet spot: thirteen supernatural tales that satisfy but also leave you wanting a tiny bit more. He also discusses the inspiration for each story, allowing fans more insight into his process.”

Mahogany Skillings, Richland Library, Columbia, SC

Read-alikes:

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
Ghost Summer by Tananarive Due


The Giver of Stars: A Novel

by Jojo Moyes

Published: 10/8/2019
by Pamela Dorman Books
ISBN: 9780399562488

“Moyes brings Depression-era Kentucky to life in this historical novel about five women who become horseback librarians. Vivid descriptions of daily life in a 1930s coal-mining community and great characters punctuate an informative, fun read that’s based on a true story.”

Linda Sullivan, Mission Viejo Public Library, Aurora, CO

Read-alikes:

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani
Over the Plain Houses by Julia Franks


Olive, Again: A Novel

by Elizabeth Strout

Published: 10/15/2019
by Random House
ISBN: 9780812996548

“Olive Kitteridge is back and still as crotchety, opinionated, and endearing as ever. Aging, death, racism, prejudices, infidelities–nothing gets past Olive as she sticks her nose into every corner of her small town.”

Sharon Hutchins, Keytesville Library, Keytesville, MO

Read-alikes:

Lila by Marilynne Robinson
Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce


Royal Holiday

by Jasmine Guillory

Published: 10/1/2019
by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802217

“An irresistible Christmas fantasy about a woman of a certain age who falls for the queen of England’s private secretary on a visit to the U.K. Guillory describes Britain so well, and it was great to read a popular romance novel starring an older protagonist.”

Megan Sanks, Glenview Public Library, Glenview, IL

Read-alikes:

A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan


Twice in a Blue Moon

by Christina Lauren

Published: 10/22/2019
by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135706

“Sam was Tate’s first love and turned her world upside down. Years later they reconnect unexpectedly, and she wonders if young love should get a second chance. Another unputdownable book from Lauren.”

Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Greenwood, IN

Read-alikes:

Not Quite Over You by Susan Mallery
Perfect Timing by Brenda Jackson
Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors August 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  August 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Perfect Wife: A Novel

by JP Delaney

Published: 8/6/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781524796747

“Abbie wakes up with no memory of how she ended up in the hospital. Her tech wizard husband tells her that after a horrific accident, he spent five years trying to bring her back. But is Abby’s return a miracle of science, or a nightmare? Delaney’s latest psychological thriller keeps you guessing.”


Joan Meis Wilson, Needles Public Library, Needles, CA

Read-alikes:

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson
How to Be A Good Wife by Emma Chapman
The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch


The Turn of the Key

by Ruth Ware

Published: 8/6/2019 by Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: 9781501188770

“Rowan travels to northern Scotland to nanny for a rich, eccentric family; a seemingly perfect job until everything unravels. The isolated location, creepy gothic vibe, unreliable narrator, and brilliant twists keep readers on edge from start to finish in a pulse-pounding read.”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT

Read-alikes:

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
While You Sleep by Stephanie Merritt
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors