Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Author Event: Hallie Ephron

Author Event: Hallie Ephron

Thursday October 17, 2019  7pm – 8pm

We are pleased to welcome bestselling author Hallie Ephron back to the Nevins Library!  She will be here to discuss her latest thriller Careful What You Wish For.

A little about the book:

Emily Harlow is a professional organizer who helps people declutter their lives; she’s married to man who can’t drive past a yard sale without stopping. He’s filled their basement, attic, and garage with his finds.  Like other professionals who make a living decluttering peoples’ lives, Emily has devised a set of ironclad rules. When working with couples, she makes clear that the client is only allowed to declutter his or her own stuff. That stipulation has kept Emily’s own marriage together these past few years. She’d love nothing better than to toss out all her husband’s crap. He says he’s a collector. Emily knows better—he’s a hoarder. The larger his “collection” becomes, the deeper the distance grows between Emily and the man she married.  Luckily, Emily’s got two new clients to distract herself: an elderly widow whose husband left behind a storage unit she didn’t know existed, and a young wife whose husband won’t allow her stuff into their house. Emily’s initial meeting with the young wife takes a detour when, after too much wine, the women end up fantasizing about how much more pleasant life would be without their collecting spouses.

But the next day Emily finds herself in a mess that might be too big for her to clean up. Careful what you wish for, the old adage says . . . now Emily might lose her freedom, her marriage . . . and possibly her life.

Copies of the book will be available for purchase and signing.  Refreshments will be served.

To register for this program, CLICK HERE.  For more information, contact Sarah or Fran at 978-686-4080 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org

Advertisements


Leave a comment

LibraryReads October 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

October 2019 LibraryReads List

The Body: A Guide for Occupants

by Bill Bryson

Published: 10/15/2019 by Doubleday Books
ISBN: 9780385539302

“A fascinating look at the human body and how it functions. Each historical tidbit is well-researched and thoroughly cited. Interesting stories, such as how diseases, cells, nerves, and organs were discovered, are woven throughout. For readers who like narrative nonfiction such as Gulp by Mary Roach, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and Guts by Giulia Enders.”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
NoveList Read-alike: Gross Anatomy: Dispatches from the Front (and Back) by Mara Altman


The Art of Theft

by Sherry Thomas

Published: 10/15/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451492470

“In this fun, playful series, Thomas has created a female version of Holmes who is vibrant, real, relatable, and intelligent. This fourth book has Holmes and Watson travel to France, with twists and turns the reader won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series and Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily series.”

Carrie Pedigo, Tippecanoe County Public Library, Lafayette, IN
Novelist Read-alike: Jem Flockhart novels by E.S. Thomson


The Butterfly Girl: A Novel

by Rene Denfeld

Published: 10/1/2019 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062698162

“Denfield’s writing is like lyrical poetry, with every word captivating. Add to this an amazing mystery, a plethora of suspense, and an ending that exceeds all expectations, and we have another 5 star book. For fans of What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan and Love You More by Lisa Gardner.”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin


Cilka’s Journey: A Novel

by Heather Morris

Published: 10/1/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250265708

“A powerful follow-up to The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this story begins after the liberation of Auschwitz, when Cilka is sentenced by the Soviet liberators to 15 years in one of Stalin’s Siberian labor gulags. From one death camp to another–for doing what was needed to survive. For fans of Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly and We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.”

Don Crankshaw, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library, Evansville, IN
NoveList Read-alike: House of Meetings by Martin Amis


Imaginary Friend

by Stephen Chbosky

Published: 10/1/2019 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781538731338

“Christopher and his mom run from an abusive boyfriend and seek peace and quiet in a new town. Instead, Christopher becomes agitated and sneaks out at night, doing anything a “nice man” tells him to do. This is pure horror, a classic battle of good and evil, and a must for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Paul Tremblay.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList Read-alike: The Stand by Stephen King


The Library of the Unwritten

by A. J. Hackwith

Published: 10/1/2019 by Ace
ISBN: 9781984806376

“The ideas of books never actually written possess dangerous potential and power. They are kept in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell. Determined librarians tend the library keeping watch for escaped characters, angels and demons. For fans of Genevieve Cogman or Neil Gaiman.”

Jessica Trotter, Capital Area District Library, Lansing, MI
NoveList Read-alike: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


Ninth House

by Leigh Bardugo

Published: 10/8/2019 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250313072

“Alex has always been able to see ghosts, and this talent uniquely qualifies her to become part of the Lethe, a group that regulates the eight magical societies at Yale. When a murder happens nearby the campus, Alex suspects that a society has their hand in this and it’s not just a normal homicide. For fans of urban fantasy and secret societies.”

Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA
NoveList Read-alike: Magic For Liars by Sarah Galley


Nothing to See Here

by Kevin Wilson

Published: 10/29/2019 by Ecco
ISBN: 9780062913463

“A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Kosterman and Gary Shteyngart.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Gravity is the Thing by Jaclyn Moriarty


Ordinary Girls: A Memoir

by Jaquira Diaz

Published: 10/8/2019 by Algonquin Books
ISBN: 9781616209131

“Diaz was out of control. Her life was a never ending cycle of indifferent (or worse) parenting, street fights, abuse, drugs, arrests, alcohol, skipping school—all are detailed in this coming of age memoir. Reading this extraordinary memoir, I was reminded that no one can make you do something until you decide to on your own. For fans of Hunger by Roxane Gay and When I Was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago.”

Linda Tilden, Mt. Laurel Public Library, Mt. Laurel, AL
NoveList Read-alike: Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls by T Kira Madden


Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts

by Kate Racculia

Published: 10/8/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780358023937

“Engaging characters set off to follow the mysterious clues of the will of an elderly, wealthy eccentric for a chance at winning the grand prize. Young grief and loss, family guilt, secrets, and hilarity are featured throughout. Plus: ghosts! For readers who liked The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson and Lost and Found by Carolyn Parkhurst.”

Pamela Gardner, Medfield Public Library, Medfield, MA
NoveList Read-alike: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Salad In Your Jar

Nothing’s better than salad in a jar. It’s tasty, customizable, compact, and hip as heck. If you disagree, then you haven’t tried it and it is incumbent upon you to do so immediately.  Check out these salad in a jar recipe books and discover the wonder that is a bottled lunch. Your hipster factor will explode and you can thank me once it has descended to the level where you’re cool enough to thank people again.

19391404Easy Salad in a Jar Cartoon Recipes by Jordan Hodge

For the visual among us, this book will show you exactly how to build a salad in a jar using cartoons. In other words, this is my kind of cookbook.

 

 

29093127Jar Salads: 52 Happy, Healthy Lunches by Alexander Hart

This very purple book points out something critical: you can make salad in a jar ahead of time and it will stay crunchy and nice in the fridge! If that doesn’t convert you, I don’t know what will.

 

18371512. sx318  Mason Jar Salads and More: 50 Layered Lunches to Grab and Go by Julia Mirabella

These are some pretty freaking lunches. Better yet, the selection of recipes here isn’t limited to salads! Variety. It’s the ranch dressing of life.

 

25260968 Mason Jar Salads: Quick, Easy & Healthy Mason Jar Recipes For Busy People by Julie Eldred

Are you busy? Do you want to eat healthy and also be sensorily entertained by what you put in your mouth? This book is for you.

 

 

30780247Salad in a Jar: 68 Recipes for Salads and Dressings by Anna Helm Baxter

Ten Speed Pres never disappoints. Follow your bliss to adorable salad joy by making your own dressings too. Sound hard? It’s not! If you can shake a bottle, you can make dressing.


Leave a comment

A Plethora of Little Free Libraries!

With his first little library built in 2009, Todd Bol of Hudson, Wisconsin started a movement. By the year 2012 there were over 2,000 little free libraries across the globe, each to inspire reading and build community.

Nevins Memorial Library, wanting to reach everyone in the community, decided to start a little free library program within Methuen. With the help of the Methuen Rotary Club, and Diane Debs a community representative, we did just that. Twelve months later we have ten little free library boxes throughout the community. Each was completed with the assistance of many through donations of materials and time. We received donations from Home Depot, Absolute Glass, Sherwin-Williams, The Party Connection, and New England Builders.  Methuen High School students designed and painted unique scenes on each little library.

The ten little free libraries are placed in parks and neighborhoods throughout the city and can be accessed by anyone interested in reading (or donating) a book. Below is a list of the locations of the little libraries.  We hope that they are enjoyed by all!

If you have any questions, or would like to assist with the little libraries through donation or stewardship, please contact us at Nevins Library, 978-686-4080.

Locations of Little Free Libraries in Methuen, MA

1. Marsh School

2. Gill Ave. Park

3. Shorty De Gaspe Park

4. Riverside Park

5. Veterans Park

6. St. Andrews Church

7. Rail Trail at MSPCA

8. Park at Lawrence and Chelmsford Sts.

9. Pleasant Valley Gardens

10. Still looking for a site on Howe St.