Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads January 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 January 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Dear Edward :

Dear Edward: a novel

by Ann Napolitano

The Dial Press
ISBN:  9781984854780

“A dear, dear wonderous novel. Edward is The Miracle Boy, the only survivor of a plane crash. As he struggles to navigate the landscape of his new life, we hear the voices of those who didn’t make it. Napolitano is an amazing writer who deserves a wider audience. For fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (Bill Clegg),The Grief of Others (Leah Hager Cohen), and The Friend (Sigrid Nunez).”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Goldfinch by Donna Tart


Cover image for All the ways we said goodbyeAll the Ways We Said Goodbye: a novel of the Ritz Paris

by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, and Karen White

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062931092

“Three time periods, three women, three authors combine for an absorbing read.  Aurelie is ready to fight the Germans during WWI.  Daisy, a woman with a collaborator husband, is embroiled in the fight against the Nazis. Babs, an Englishwoman in the 1960s, is anxious to find the truth about her dead husband.  For readers who liked The Alice Network and Sarah’s Key.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
Novelist read-alike:  The Light Over London by Julia Kelley

Cover image for American DirtAmerican Dirt: a novel

by Jeanine Cummins

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250209764

“A literary thriller chronicling the migration of a mother and her young son.  Under threat, Lydia and Luca leave their middle-class life in Acapulco and begin a traumatic journey to the border, evading cartels, thieves, corrupt police, and others forced into malevolent behavior by extreme violence and poverty.  For readers who enjoyed The Other Americans (Laila Lalami) and And the Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini)”.

Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
Novelist read-alike:  Lost Children Archive by Valerie Luiselli


Cover image for FollowersFollowers: a novel

by Megan Angelo

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525836268

“A thrilling satirical critique of societal values.  The timeline alternates before and after “the Spill”, a psychological terrorist attack using online data, and society is wildly changed.  But one thing is still the same — family is complicated.  For fans of The Circle (Dave Eggers) and Super Sad True Love Story (Cary Shteyngart).”

Jessica Rodrigues, Steger-South Chicago Heights Public Library, Chicago, IL
Novelist read-alike:  Touch by Courtney Maum


Cover image for HighfireHighfire: a novel

by Eoin Colfer

Harper Perennial
ISBN: 9780062938558

“Vern, a dragon living in the Louisiana swamps, may be the last
of his kind, so he tries to remain unnoticed. When teenage Squib
stumbles on Vern’s hideout, he ends up working for him and
keeping his secret. A fantasy with suspense, humor, and danger and
a heartfelt story about family and friendship. For readers who
enjoyed Anansi Boys (Neil Gaiman) and Bad Monkey (Carl Hiaasen).”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
Novelist read-alike:  Cat Out of Hell by Lynne Tuss


Cover image for How quickly she disappearsHow Quickly She Disappears

by Raymond Fleischmann

Berkley
ISBN: 9781984805171

“In 1941 Alaska, a woman whose twin disappeared 20 years earlier crosses paths with a sinister stranger threatening to reveal the
truth of what happened.  Does she dare risk what little she has left to save her sister?  For readers of moody thrillers such as Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown and The Dry by Jane Harper.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Star of the North by David John


Cover image for Long bright riverLong Bright River: a novel

by Liz Moore

Riverhead
ISBN: 9780525540670

“A compelling literary police procedural set in an opioid-ravaged Philadelphia neighborhood and centered on the relationship between
two sisters whose lives have taken opposite paths. Your heart will ache as you grow to love the complex, strong, and incredibly vulnerable characters. For readers of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.”

Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
Novelist read-alike:  The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh


Cover image for Love Her or Lose HerLove Her or Lose Her: a novel

by Tessa Bailey

Avon
ISBN: 9780062872852

“This story of a married couple losing–and then finding–their way together is beautiful, touching and hot, with just the right touch of comic relief. For readers of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.”

Carole Tossman, Howard County Library System, Ellicott City, MD
NoveList Read-alike: The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams


Cover image for When We Were VikingsWhen We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald

Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN:  9781982126766

“A beautifully written novel about a young woman–and unabashed Viking enthusiast–born with fetal alcohol syndrome. Zelda feels not quite ‘normal,’ but as she discovers through her quests, who really is? Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Silver Linings Playbook.”

Kat Neal, Tulsa Library, Tulsa, OK
NoveList Read-alike: The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood


Cover image for You Were There TooYou Were There Too 

by Colleen Oakley

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806468

“Mia is happily married to Harrison, but keeps dreaming about another man. One day her path crosses with this mystery man, and the results are devastating. This is a realistic, engrossing love story suited for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”

Danielle Hansard, Public Library of Westland, MI
NoveList Read-alike:  One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Mocktail Books To Rock Your Dry January

I’m a big fan of Dry January, the movement to abstain from alcohol for one month a year. No matter what your reasons are – weight loss, pregnancy, health, tolerance decrease, or just plain old fun – good for you! It takes a lot of willpower to avoid alcohol.

But just because you can’t get drunk doesn’t mean you can’t have fun! If you’re looking for new stuff to drink, we’ve got you covered with these non-alcoholic beverage recipe books. Cheers!

Drinking for Two: Nutritious Mocktails for the Mom-To-BeDrinking for Two: Nutritious Mocktails for the Mom-To-Be by Diana Licalzi and Kerry Criss

Everyone knows that you shouldn’t drink alcohol while you’re pregnant, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t blow off some steam! These mocktails are both delicious and nutritious.

Dry: Non-Alcoholic Cocktails, Cordials and Clever ConcoctionsDry: Non-Alcoholic Cocktails, Cordials and Clever Concoctions by Clare Liardet

A lot of the recipes in this particular book are absolutely new…and absolutely delicious! Do yourself a favor and try this magical collection of easy-to-find syrups and nonalcoholic spirits.

Mocktails, Punches, and Shrubs: Over 80 Nonalcoholic Drinks to Savor and EnjoyMocktails, Punches, and Shrubs: Over 80 Nonalcoholic Drinks to Savor and Enjoy by Vikas Khanna

The DK reference brand never disappoints! The sheer quantity of drink recipes available here is staggering. Before long, you’ll be making up your own recipes!

Mocktails: The Complete Bartender's GuideMocktails: The Complete Bartender’s Guide by Kester Thompson

Any bartender who doesn’t know how to make a delicious mocktail is a bad bartender – and you don’t want to be that! Before your next big bash, brush up on your booze-free drinks with this handy, practical guide.

Party Like A Mock Star!: Have a Booze-Free Blast with No-regrets Mocktails!Party Like a Mock Star!: Have a Booze-Free Blast with No-Regrets Mocktails! by Zoe Robinette

If you’ve ever been 16, then you know the frustration of being at a party and unable to drink. Here’s your cure! This glamorous drinks guide discusses why women drink, what they drink, and why glamorous women drink mocktails.

Zero-Proof Cocktails: Alcohol-Free Beverages for Every OccasionZero Proof Cocktails: Alcohol-Free Beverages for Every Occasion by Liz Scott

Chef Liz Scott has alternatives to every cocktail out there – and they’re just as good as their alcoholic inspirations! From Cosmo to Sangria, you’ll find all your favorites here.


Leave a comment

New Year, New You Book Review: Boundaries by Henry Cloud

Editor’s Note:  One of my colleagues suggested this for the previous blog post,  Staff Favorite reads in 2019, but I thought it was so important that it deserved its own separate post.

Cover image for Boundaries :Boundaries:  When to Say Yes, How to Say No To Take Control of Your Life by Henry Cloud

If you find yourself drawn to the trendy buzz words “toxic”, “self-care” or the beloved classic “dysfunctional”, reading Boundaries may be suitable for you.  I consider myself to be a caring and helpful person; however, when boundaries were crossed or not present, I became the “toxic” one, the “dysfunctional” one and not taking care of myself. I continually found myself overwhelmed by others around me, whether it be their unspoken demands, their high expectations, or reckless behavior.  What I learned from this book is how responsible I was for allowing the aforementioned to overwhelm me, where to identify the boundary issues and how to set healthy boundaries. The changes I made within and around myself after reading this book have proven to make a significant difference in my well-being and presence.

Boundaries by Henry Cloud & John Townsend
Updated and expanded [edition], 2017
Zondervan
ISBN: 9780310350231


Leave a comment

Staff Favorite Titles Read in 2019

Before we jump into the new year, let’s take one last look at 2019 and some of the Nevins Library staff’s favorite books:

Cynthia from Readers’ Services starts us off with these three winners:
Cover image for Olive, againOlive, Again by Elizabeth Strout
A wonderfully written story about a “red blooded original” woman.

Searching for Sylvie Lee by Jean Kwok
A page-turner of family secrets, love and loss

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
A beautifully written and heartbreaking coming-of-age story set in the Carolina marshes.

 

Danielle, from Reference Services, loved these media tie-ins:
A Study in Honor by Claire O’Dell
Yes, it’s another take on the Sherlock/Watson characters, but, it manages to be both very different and quite like the original source material.

Cover image for The rise of KyoshiThe Rise of Kyoshi by F.C. Yee
For those who loved Avatar: The Last Airbender (i.e. not the Avatar with the blue people) this book is 11 out of 10 amazing. But, even if you’ve never watched or read anything related to the show, this is a pretty good introduction to Avatar’s amazing universe.

And now an audiobook from our Administrative Assistant, Barbara:
Nanaville: An Adventure in Grandparenting, a memoir by Anna Quindlen.
Recommended for anyone trying to be the “perfect grandparent” in today’s changing world.  Based on the author’s experience with her first grandchild Arthur, she humorously yet poignantly warns grandparents to “hang back” in matters of giving child-rearing advice. Every grandparent will smile or tear up while reading episodes so common to all with the cherished title of “grandparent.”

Kathi, from Childrens’ Services, loved these adult books:
LCover image for Never have I ever :ady from the Black Lagoon:  Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O’Meara
This was very eye opening book about the early days of Hollywood and an amazing artist, who was almost lost to history.

Who Slays the Wicked by C.S. Harris
The 14th book in one of my favorite historical mystery serieses, featuring an aristocrat detective in Regency England.  (“What Angels Fear” is book one in the series)

Never Have I Ever by Joshilyn Jackson
The best woman-with-secret-being-blackmailed book I’ve read in a while.

Amy, our Teen Librarian, heartily recommends:
Cover image for Red, white & royal blueRed, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston
The son of the American President and an English prince fall in love. What could go wrong? This romance was fun, upbeat and incredibly sweet. I was hooked from the start, and rooting for the couple through all of their ups and downs. In addition to the main heroes, the supporting cast is equally lovable and help to create a fully realized story.

Darius the Great is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
I listened to this as an audiobook and fully recommend the format in addition to the title itself. Darius is doing his best to figure out his place in his family, his school and the world. When he and his family travel to visit his Persian relatives Darius faces struggles old and new in this coming-of-age story. Darius is a sweet kid with a great sense of humor and a thoughtful disposition. The narrative focuses on many different relationships in his life, and all are fleshed out and unique. Darius is a hero you’ll connect with whether you’re sixteen or sixty.

Cover image for Making space, clutter free :Tatjana, from Reference Services made great use of:
Making Space, Clutter Free: The Last Book on Decluttering You’ll Ever Need by Tracy McCubbin.
One of my favorite clutter books because it addresses the emotional blocks behind clutter, why it happens and what you can do about it,  in addition to dealing with the physical items.

Cover image for The library bookAnd finally, a favorite too many librarians to count (see LibraryReads Voters Favorites 2019) including Nevins Library’s own Cynthia and Kathi:

The Library Book by Susan Orlean.
The story of the Los Angeles Public Library fire that burned 400,000 books and damaged 700,000 more.  More than 30 years later, the mystery of how the fire started remains.  A must read for anyone who loves books!!!

Happy Reading to All in 2020!

 

 


Leave a comment

LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites 2019

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

Favorite of Favorites 2019

The Library Book

by Susan Orlean

Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476740188

“An investigation of the fire that devastated the Los Angles Public Library in 1986 evolves into a page-turning history of the immense impact libraries and books have had throughout time.  Profoundly moving and enlightening, and a clear call to readers to appreciate and support their libraries.  For readers who enjoy high-quality narrative nonfiction.”

Jessica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA


The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel

by Kim Michele Richardson

Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781492671527

“Blue-skinned Cussie brings books via horseback to rural, racially intolerant Kentucky in the 1930s. Her efforts demonstrate that people crave intellectual stimulation even when they are poverty stricken in a food desert. For fans of Sandra Dallas and Lee Smith.”

Courtenay Reece, Millville Public Library, Millville, NJ

 


Daisy Jones & the Six: A Novel

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781524798628

“Like the best episodes of Behind the Music, this chronicle of the rise and fall of a fictional ’70s rock group is impossible to resist. You’ll be tempted to look up the band’s hits, only to disappointedly remember that they don’t exist. A great rock ’n’ roll ride for readers.”

Becky Bowen, Kenton County Public Library, Erlanger, KY


The Dutch House

by Ann Patchett

Harper
ISBN: 9780062963673

“For siblings Danny and Maeve, the Dutch house is much more than a structure. It is the bones of their family, a symbol connected to love, loss, achievement, and abandonment. They are connected to this house all their lives, even after being flung out of it. For fans of Anne Tyler and Anna Quindlen.”

Kelly Currie, Delphi Public Library, Delphi, IN


Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel

by Linda Holmes

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780525619246

“Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.”

Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 


The Flatshare: A Novel

by Beth O’Leary

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250295637

“In this entertaining and humorous romance, Tiffy and Leon share a flat, but have never met. Who says you can’t fall in love if your only communication has been through Post-It notes? For fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating.”

Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX

 


My Sister, the Serial KIller: A Novel

by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385544238

“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer).  Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family.  For fans of satirical humor.”

Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield, NJ

 


The Nickel Boys: A Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385537070

“An incredibly powerful story about an abusive boys’ reform school in the 1960s. Whitehead skillfully brings each character to life even as they suffer physical and emotional horrors. For fans of Panopticon by Jenni Fagan.”

Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL 

 


Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel

by Casey McQuiston

St. Martin’s Griffin
ISBN: 9781250316776

“First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is in his last semester of university and has an antagonistic relationship with Prince Henry of Wales. But friendship and then love blossoms when they are forced to pretend to be buddies after an embarrassing altercation. For fans of a good rom-com.”

Nita Gill, Brookings Public Library, Brookings, SD


The Silent Patient

by Alex Michaelides

Celadon Books
ISBN: 9781250301697

“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”

Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

 

Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Christmas Books and Movies

I’m a sucker for a media tie-in/novelization, and at Christmas time it seems like nearly all the Christmas movies are in someway or somehow created directly from, or inspired by Christmas books.

Some of these movies won’t be surprising to most, they’re either classics, or they don’t hide that they’re from books. But, with a lot of them, the only way you can tell is from a quick flash of an author’s name and their book’s title during the credits.

They fall into three categories:

The Famous Ones

How the Grinch Stole Christmas

There are three, count them, three movies with this title or a title very much like it that you can watch. I’m talking about the original 25 minute short with Boris Karloff and Thurl Ravenscroft (speaking and singing respectively).

It’s based on the book by Dr. Seuss, and, you can’t go wrong with either watching the movie or reading the book because the two stories are so similar. Just, I beg you, don’t watch the Jim Carey version!

A Christmas Carol

Definitely go read this book if you haven’t yet. There are a bunch of different and great versions of this. Personally, the one with Patrick Stewart, and the Muppet Christmas Carol are my favorites.

Luckily, whether you like George Scott, Jim Carey, or any of the other takes on the classic story, there seems to be a Christmas Carol for everyone.

The Polar Express

This (at the time) was a groundbreaking movie because it melded live action motion capture with animation.

Like the Grinch, the author, Chris Van Allsburg was one of the producers, and, you can tell that in how close the book and movie are in theme, tone, and plot.

It’s a Wonderful Life

In the final one of the famous movies, this is a definite classic, and, the only one on this part of the list that I didn’t know was based on a story. It’s based on “The Greatest Gift” short story by Philip Van Doren Stern.


The Surprising Ones

Ah, we’ve gotten to the Hallmark/Lifetime/Up/Etc. movies. Quite a few of these are based on one book or another. Some of them tout that, but, a lot of them don’t.

Here are just a smattering of them:

Christmas Wishes & Mistletoe Kisses

The movie is a Hallmark one, and, we’re starting with an easy one because it’s based on a book of the same name by Jenny Hale.

It’s about Abbey and Nick. Abbey gets hired to decorate Nick’s family’s mansion, and, well, Nick is a bit of a grump about it at first.

Hale writes a lot of Christmas romance books, but, also has some set in the summer as well. She also has “Coming Home for Christmas” which was on Hallmark in 2017 and also based on a book of hers of the same name.

Debbie Macomber’s Dashing Through the Snow

When you’re Debbie Macomber, you get to have people know from the outset that the movie is based on your book.

This movie (and book) is about Ashley and Dash, who wind up having to share a car so that Ashley can get home. There’s even a bit of a suspenseful subplot that goes on, and –the– cutest dog ever on television.

She also has at least two or three other (very obviously titled) Christmas movies.

The Nine Lives of Christmas

Based on a book of the same name by Sheila Roberts. Zach is a fireman and committment-phobe who adops a stray cat (yay, it’s a cat and not a dog movie!!) and then happens to meet a Veterinary Student who may just break his phobia.

And, it also looks like Sheila Roberts has gone cross channel, and has a Lifetime Christmas movie as well called, “On Strike for Christmas”. Gutsy.

The Mistletoe Secret

The Mistletoe Secret is based on a book of the same name by Richard Paul Evans. Aria convinces a famous travel writer to come to her hometown for Christmas, but, instead there’s some big ole twists and turns in there when the travel writer’s ghostwriter shows up first.

Richard Paul Evans doesn’t just have a Christmas movie in this millenium either. But, back in 1995 his book “The Christmas Box” got turned into a movie too.

The Book/Movie being Semi-Simultaneous Published

Miracle on 34th Street (the 1947 version, also known as, the only one that I will acknowledge).

I did not know that the film and book came out at the same time. I guess if Arthur C. Clarke and Stanley Kubrick can do it, so can Valentine Davies (he wrote the movie and the novelization of it).


If these aren’t enough movies to keep you busy until the 25th, here are a couple of good links for this years (and previous years) Christmas movies that are based on books:

https://www.ibtimes.com/11-hallmark-2019-christmas-movies-based-books-2852418
https://www.msn.com/en-us/movies/gallery/13-brilliant-christmas-movies-based-on-books-and-stories/ss-AAlECSc


Leave a comment

LibraryReads December 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

December 2019 LibraryReads List

Such a Fun Age

by Kiley Reid

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525541905

”Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, Such a Fun Age will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read: That Kind of Motherby Rumaan Alam

Africaville

by Jeffrey Colvin

Amistad
ISBN: 9780062913722

“Africaville is a settlement of Jamaican people run out of their homes by the British and dumped in cold, foreign Canada.  Colvin weaves the story of Kath Ella and her family through decades of ongoing racial prejudice and injustice, portraying the love among characters and the tenacity of some determined to fine happiness.  For readers who enjoyed Homegoing and The Underground Railroad.”

Lisa Casper, Highlands Ranch Library, Highland Ranch, CO
Novelist read-alike: Dominion by Calvin Baker


The Dead Girls Club

by Damien Angelica Walters

Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781643851631

“An engaging story, full of twists and turns.  Chapters alternate from Heather’s childhood experiences to her present to form the whole story.  More creepy than scary, pick this up if you want a story full of dread, suspense, childhood memories, death, and plenty of surprises.  For fans of The Turn of the Key and The Silent Patient.”

Rebecca Kelley, Richland Library, Columbia, SC
Novelist read-alike:  The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager


Good Girls Lie

by J.T. Ellison

Mira
ISBN: 9780778309185

“Sinister and atmospheric, this page-turner elevates the thriller genre with descriptive writing and well-drawn characters.  Ash arrives at the Goode School with secrets of her own.  Following an honor code is difficult enough (no lies allowed, but throw in secret societies and overly privileged students, and the scene is set for murder.  For readers who liked The Secret History and Watching You.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Library, Baltimore, MD
Novelist read-alike:  The Secret Place by Tana French


Husband Material

by Emily Belden

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525805981

“Charlotte, a young widow, is thrown for a loop when her husband’s ashes appear at her door.  As a coder for social media influencers, she develops an app to help find a mate but uses it to keep potential dates away.  And then a secret from her husband’s past threatens to destroy the tenuous ties of friendship and love she has found.  A fun read for fans of Kristan Higgins and Sophie Kinsella.”

Suzanne Christensen, Spanish Fork Public Library, Spanish Fork, UT
Novelist read-alike:  The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman


A Madness of Sunshine

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593099131

“With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride.  For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.”

Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL
Novelist read-alike:  The Dry by Jane Harper


Meg & Jo

by Virgina Kantra

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100349

Little Women‘s March family is brought into the present day.  Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer.  For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
NoveList Read-alike: The Spring Girls by Anna Todd


Reputation: a novel

by Sara Shepard

Dutton
ISBN:  9781524742904

“Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all:  scandals, affairs, and murder.  I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine.  For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies“.

Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington DC
NoveList Read-alike: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


The Wives: a novel

by Tarryn Fisher

Harlequin House
ISBN: 9781525805127

“Fisher has a knack for telling you a story where there’s no anticipating the twists and turns, and the The Wives was no exception.  A psychological thriller so immersive that I consumed it in a single sitting.  For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Silent Wife.”

Brie Hopkins, Newport Library, Newport, RI 
NoveList Read-alike: The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine


Would Like to Meet

by Rachel Winters

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525542315

“Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as a way to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process.  For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie.”

Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Library, High Point, NC
NoveList Read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org