Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads July 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

July 2019 LibraryReads List

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

by Abbi Waxman

Published: 7/9/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491879

“Nina likes her bookish life just fine. She works in a bookstore and is on a highly competitive trivia team. She is funny and snarky and great company (says this reader). Suddenly, a father she never knew dies and leaves her with a pack of brothers and sisters and Nina may be forced out of her comfortable reading chair. For readers who enjoyed Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey and The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.”

Eileen Curley, Hagaman Public Library, East Haven, CT
NoveList Read-alike: The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland


The Book Charmer

by Karen Hawkins

Published: 7/30/2019 by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135669

“Sarah is the librarian in a small Southern town called Dove Pond. Her magic is matching the right book to the right reader at the right time in their life. Grace is a city girl, new in town and in need of a little magic herself. For readers who enjoyed The Library of Lost and Found and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry,.”

Tracy Babiasz, Chapel Hill Public Library, Chapel Hill, NC 
Novelist Read-alike: Any Sarah Addison Allen


The Escape Room: A Novel

by Megan Goldin

Published: 7/30/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250219657

“Highly successful colleagues Sam, Vincent, Sylvie, and Jules are no strangers to the competitive world of high finance but after they become trapped in an elevator escape room they find themselves having to work together. For readers of Tana French, Karin Slaughter, and Harlan Coben.”

KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Severance Package by Duane Swierczynski


Gods of Jade and Shadow

by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Published: 7/23/2019 by Del Rey
ISBN: 9780525620754

“In 1920s Mexico, a young woman unwittingly awakens a Mayan god and is pulled into his quest for vengeance. The odyssey that follows takes her through the jungles to Mexico City and the underworld as she realizes her inner strength and passion. For readers who enjoyed Uprooted and Circe.”

Emily Plagens, Allen Public Library, Allen, TX 
NoveList Read-alike: Deathless by Cathrynne Valente


How to Hack a Heartbreak

by Kristin Rockaway

Published: 7/30/2019 by Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525834257

“It’s no secret that women in the tech world are undervalued and have to work twice as hard for their success. This persistent problem in the tech industry is tackled here in a pithy and engaging way without diminishing its importance. For readers who liked The Assistants by Camille Perri.”

Josie Myers, Greenwood Public Library, Greenwood, IN 
NoveList Read-alike: My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren


The Lager Queen of Minnesota: A Novel

by J. Ryan Stradal

Published: 7/23/2019 by Pamela Dorman Books
ISBN: 9780399563058

“A heartwarming and witty novel with a distinctly Minnesotan feel, the author follows two sisters and their grandmother who become involved in the brewing industry. For readers who loved Where’d You Go Bernadette.”

Katelyn Boyer, Fergus Falls Public Library, Fergus Falls, MN
NoveList Read-alike: Clock Dance by Anne Tyler


Layover

by David Bell

Published: 7/2/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780440000860

“Joshua’s life has become a predictable pattern of departures and arrivals, a lot of his time spent in airports until he meets Morgan on a layover and there is an instant connection. during a layover, with whom he feels a deep connection. The next time he sees her is on the news as a missing person. For readers who liked Faithful Place by Tana French and Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker.”

Michelle Magnotta, Mamaroneck Public Library, Mamaroneck, NY 
NoveList Read-alike: The Girl with a Clock for a Heart by Peter Swanson


Lock Every Door: A Novel

by Riley Sager

Published: 7/2/2019 by Dutton
ISBN: 9781524745141

“A young woman gets a job house sitting in one of New York’s oldest and most glamorous apartments. A slow-burn full of twists and turns and a shocking conclusion. For readers who enjoyed The Wife Between Us and The Woman in the Window.”

Megan Alabaugh, Rocky River Public Library, Rocky River, OH
NoveList Read-alike: The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney


The Nickel Boys: A Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Published: 7/16/2019 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385537070

“An incredibly powerful story about an abusive boys’ reform school in the 1960s. Whitehead skillfully brings each character to life even as they suffer physical and emotional horrors. For fans of Panopticon by Jenni Fagan.”

Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL 
NoveList Read-alike: The Boys of the Dark: A Story of Betrayal and Redemption in the Deep South by Robin Gaby Fisher


Wanderers: A Novel

by Chuck Wendig

Published: 7/2/2019 by Del Rey
ISBN: 9780399182105

“A pandemic is sweeping the nation that causes affected people to sleepwalk. They cannot be awoken and family and friends must accompany them on their journey while the CDC tries to find the cause and cure. For fans of Cryptonomicon and The Windup Girl.”

Kyle Sederstrom, Overbrook Public Library, Overbrook, KS 
NoveList Read-alike: The Stand by Stephen King

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org

Advertisements


Leave a comment

Get it All: Fiction and Non-Fiction combos

Have you ever read something in a novel that you were curious about and wanted to explore further?  Satisfy your curiosity (and widen your understanding) by pairing a fiction with a non-fiction  book on the same subject.  Here are some pairings to try:

Cover image for The atomic city girlsCover image for The girls of Atomic City : the untold story of the women who helped win World War IIThe Atomic City Girls by Janet Beard  FICTION

The Girls of Atomic City: the untold story of the women who helped win World War II by Denise Kiernan  NON-FICTION

 

 

 

Cover image for The Last Kind Words Saloon : a novelCover image for Dodge City : Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the wickedest town in the American WestThe Last Kind Words Saloon by Larry McMurtry  FICTION

Dodge City:  Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the wickedest town in the American West by Thomas Clavin NON-FICTION

 

 

 

Cover image for The only woman in the roomCover image for Hedy's folly : the life and breakthrough inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the most beautiful woman in the worldThe Only Woman in the Room by Marie Benedict  FICTION

Hedy’s folly: the life and breakthrough inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the most beautiful woman in the world by Richard Rhodes  NON-FICTION

 

 

 

Cover image for The wanderersCover image for Endurance : a year in space, a lifetime of discoveryThe Wanderers by Meg Howrey FICTION

Endurance:  a year in space, a lifetime of discovery by Scott Kelly  NON-FICTION

 

 

What fiction/non-fiction titles would you recommend that would go together well?


Leave a comment

LibraryReads June 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

June 2019 LibraryReads List

Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel

by Linda Holmes

Published: 6/25/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780525619246

“Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.”

Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 
NoveList Read-alike: The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman


Ayesha at Last

by Uzma Jalaluddin

Published: 6/4/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802798

“Ayesha puts aside dreams of poetry and works in Toronto as a teacher to repay debts to her family. A deep-rooted family trauma ties Khalid to his controlling mother and gives him a rigid understanding of the world. Can these two young Muslims forge a healing path? A sweet modern romance perfect for readers of The Wedding Date and The Kiss Quotient.”

Ariel Yang, Forest Grove City Library, Forest Grove, OR 
Novelist Read-alike: The Matchmaker’s List by Sonya Lalli


Call Your Daughter Home: A Novel

by Deb Spera

Published: 6/11/2019 by Park Row
ISBN: 9780778307747

“Three strong women support each other through tough times in 1924 South Carolina. Gertrude, Retta, and Annie unite against injustice in their small town in this beautifully written story in which time and place come to life. For readers who enjoyed The Twelve Tribes of Hattie and The Invention of Wings.”

Suzy Card, Grapevine Library, Grapevine, TX 
NoveList Read-alike: The Last Ballad by Wiley Cash


City of Girls: A Novel

by Elizabeth Gilbert

Published: 6/4/2019 by Riverhead
ISBN: 9781594634734

“Free-spirited Vivian recounts her life, focusing on her formative years in the 1940s. Nineteen and new to NYC, she became the costumer for her aunt’s struggling theater company. Colorful characters, misadventures, triumphs, and trials populate this fun, frolicking read. For fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

Sonia Reppe, Stickney-Forest View Public Library, Stickney, IL
NoveList Read-alike: The Seamstress of Hollywood Boulevard by Erin McGraw


Fix Her Up: A Novel

by Tessa Bailey

Published: 6/11/2019 by Avon
ISBN: 9780062872838

“After her brother’s best friend (and her longtime crush) Travis is injured, Georgie makes it her goal to bring him back to the land of the living. When he needs help cleaning up his wild image, she is happy to help…and maybe score some action on the side. A funny, endearing, and spicy romance. For readers of Christina Lauren.”

Jessica Batten, Marion County Public Library System, WV 
NoveList Read-alike: The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely


Kingdom of Exiles

by Maxym M. Martineau

Published: 6/25/2019 by Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781492689386

“An epic fantasy love story that hooks readers from the beginning with its expert world-building. The characters are skillfully crafted, realistic and sympathetic. Readers will look forward to continuing the journey in this new series. For fans of Whims of Fae by Nissa Leder and Blood Oath by Raye Wagner.”

Leanna Frankland, New York Public Library, New York, NY
NoveList Read-alike: A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet


Magic for Liars: A Novel

by Sarah Gailey

Published: 6/4/2019 by Tor Books
ISBN: 9781250174611

“A blend of fantasy and murder mystery. Magic meets noir, throw in some romance and some witty dialog and you have a great pick for summer reading. For fans of Jasper Fforde and the Charley Davidson novels.”

Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH 
NoveList Read-alike: The Rook by Daniel O’Malley


Mrs. Everything: A Novel

by Jennifer Weiner

Published: 6/11/2019 by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781501133480

“A sweeping story about sisters Jo and Bethie, following them from their 1950s roots in Detroit to the present day. This novel is both heartwrenching and funny, and readers will cry and laugh with them along the journey. For fans of Juliet McDaniel’s Mr. and Mrs. American Pie.

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twisnburg, OH
NoveList Read-alike: Shanghai Girls by Lisa See


Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune

by Roselle Lim

Published: 6/11/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984803252

“Natalie inherits her grandmother’s restaurant in quickly-gentrifying Chinatown in San Francisco. A tea leaf reading tells Natalie she must cook three recipes from her Grandmother’s cookbook for her neighbors who are being pushed out in order for the restaurant to succeed. For fans of The Recipe Club: A Tale of Food and Friendship and Like Water for Chocolate.

Meghan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Scranton, NY 
NoveList Read-alike: Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lillian Li


Recursion: A Novel

by Blake Crouch

Published: 6/11/2019 by Crown
ISBN: 9781524759780

“Compelling and accessible to the non-science-fiction reader. It is a suspenseful, thought-provoking book about altered memories, and how technology can be used for good, or for ill, or should never be used at all. For fans of Michael Crichton.”

Will Harbauer, Toledo Library, Toledo, OH 
NoveList Read-alike: Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Out-Of-This-World Sci-Fi Audiobooks

Audiobooks are the best. In the car, there’s no better companion. Whether you’re washing dishes, sewing, working out, weeding petunias, or just walking along a sylvan trail basking in the warm sunshine of a beautiful late spring day, audiobooks are your best friend. This is especially true if you’re a fan of science fiction. That’s right! Books on tape aren’t just for little old cat ladies. Dive into these audio sci-fi titles on Overdrive or by borrowing them on CD from the library.

Provenance_ann_leckie Provenance by Ann Leckie

Alien intrigue. Spaceships. Family drama. Jailbreaks. Firefights. This book has it all and then some. On top of that, the narrator does impeccable accents.

 

 

Autonomous by Annalee Newitz

It’s the old biopunk-pirate-in-a-submarine shtick, but the story’s really about free will and the meaning of self-actualization. If you like your robots to have lots of romantic crises, you’ll like this.

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

Social media fame is the name of the game when aliens leave a secret riddle on Earth. But is Twitter really the best way to impress higher intelligence?

the_three_body_problem The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu

Scientists are killing themselves. It’s no coincidence. Something is driving them all over the edge, and it’s somehow tied to a computer game that simulates life on a doomed planet with three suns.

 

 

Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

There are no names in Area X. People are their function, but function can be changed. In Area X, where an unearthly event has tangled the laws of nature, change is the only certainty.

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Told largely in letters and memos, this book follows the discovery of a giant, segmented robot that appears to be looking for pilots. But is it a symbol or a weapon? As signs point to the latter, a romance between the team researching the robot complicates the situation.

the_long_earth The Long Earth by Stephen Baxter and Terry Pratchett

What if our Earth were just one of an infinite number of Earths existing across an infinite number of alternate dimensions? As humanity struggles to reconcile unlimited resources and the possibility of a fresh start, a danger from another reality looms.


Leave a comment

Author Event: Juliette Fay

Author Event: Juliette Fay

Tuesday June 11, 2019  7pm – 8pm

We are excited to welcome author Juliette Fay to the Nevins Library!  She will be here to talk about her latest book, City of Flickering Light, which promises to transport the reader back to the Golden Age of Hollywood and the raucous Roaring Twenties, as three friends struggle to earn their places among the stars of the silent screen.

A bit about the book:

It’s July 1921, “flickers” are all the rage, and Irene Van Beck has just declared her own independence by jumping off a moving train to escape her fate in a traveling burlesque show. When her friends, fellow dancer Millie Martin and comedian Henry Weiss, leap after her, the trio finds their way to the bright lights of Hollywood with hopes of making it big in the burgeoning silent film industry.

At first glance, Hollywood in the 1920s is like no other place on earth—iridescent, scandalous, and utterly exhilarating—and the three friends yearn for a life they could only have dreamed of before. But despite the glamour and seduction of Tinseltown, success doesn’t come easy, and nothing can prepare Irene, Millie, and Henry for the poverty, temptation, and heartbreak that lie ahead. With their ambitions challenged by both the men above them and the prejudice surrounding them, their friendship is the only constant through desperate times, as each struggles to find their true calling in an uncertain world. What begins as a quest for fame and fortune soon becomes a collective search for love, acceptance, and fulfillment as they navigate the backlots and stage sets where the illusions of the silver screen are brought to life.

Copies of the book will be available for purchase and signing.  Refreshments will be served.

To register for this event CLICK HERE.  For further information, contact Sarah or Fran  at  978-686-4080  or  ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: Sickened

Cover image for Sickened : the memoir of a Munchausen by proxy childhood

Sickened:  the memoir of a Munchausen by proxy childhood by Julie Gregory

Sickened by Julie Gregory tells the story of a young girl, the victim of Munchausen by proxy, and her struggle to survive in an abusive household. This book will capture you from the first few pages, taking you into the life of a child whose sickness is all in her mother’s head. Perfect for anyone looking to learn more about the rare disorder that plagued the life of Gypsy Rose Blanchard among others, Sickness provides a firsthand account of a victim’s experience.

∼ Brianna, Library Page

Sickened: the memoir of a Munchausen by proxy childhood
by Julie Gregory
Bantum Books, 2003


Leave a comment

You Can Now Get Overdrive All Over Massachusetts

Great news! Overdrive, the library e-lending platform that brings books, magazines, and audiobooks to your mobile device, is now available throughout the state of Massachusetts. All libraries and their patrons now receive this fantastic service. Everything you’ve ever wanted out of an electronic book lending service is available now:

  • Fine-free automatic returns
  • Streaming audio capability
  • Compatibility with iOS, Android, and Kindle
  • Libby, an updated, user-friendly mobile app that makes using Overdrive a breeze

Better yet, the libraries of Massachusetts that already had Overdrive have merged their subscriptions. That means that the entire state enjoys the same pool of books and audiobooks. The only difference is that this pool is now huge. A patron with an MVLC library card can borrow books from the Boston Public Library’s digital collection. Someone with a library card from Provincetown can borrow a digital e-book owned by MVLC. All you have to do is choose your library consortium and log in.

Download the Libby app onto your Android or iOS device and try it for yourself! If you use a Kindle, download the Overdrive app or log onto Overdrive’s website through your computer’s Internet browser. Now is the time to enjoy a bigger, better range of e-books than ever before.

If you ever have trouble using Overdrive, the library is available to help. Just call us at (978)686-4080 or email a librarian to learn how to use this amazing service.

Here’s a complete list of the digital libraries to which Massachusetts residents now have free access:

Boston Public Library

CLAMS

CW MARS

Merrimack Valley Library Consortium

Minuteman Library Consortium

North of Boston Library Exchange

Old Colony Library Network

SAILS Library Network