Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

If you like “Normal People” by Sally Rooney…

Perhaps you binge-watched the critically-acclaimed 12 episode Hulu series “Normal People”, and are eager to read the equally acclaimed novel of the same name by Sally Rooney.

While you are waiting for your turn with the ebook or eaudio,  Penguin Random House Morning Book Buzz suggests you may like the following readalikes:

Cover image for White fur :White Fur : a novel by Jardine Libaire (2017)

When Elise Perez meets Jamey Hyde on a desolate winter afternoon, fate implodes, and neither of their lives will ever be the same. Although they are next-door neighbors in New Haven, they come from different worlds. White Fur follows them as they wander through Newport mansions and East Village dives, WASP yacht clubs and lower Manhattan, fighting the forces determined to keep them apart.  Also available in ebook format.

 

Cover image for Single, carefree, mellow :Single, carefree, mellow: stories by Katherine Heiny (2015)

A collection of ten stories is filled with unwelcome house guests, disastrous birthday parties, needy but loyal friends, betrayal, jealousy, and flirtatious older men, and takes readers on a guided tour of the human heart.

 

 

Cover image for You think it, I'll say it :

You Think It, I’ll Say It:  stories by Curtis Sittenfeld (2018)

“In crisp, surprising language, these ten stories from novelist Sittenfeld (Eligible) put couples’ foibles under the spotlight, offering damning details of banality to show how the slog of daily living knocks idealized romance out of its misleading No. 1 spot as the goal of pairing up” –Beth Andersen (Reviewed 01/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 1, p94) Also available in ebook & eaudio format.

 

The Margot Affair by Sanaë LemoineThe Margot Affair by Sanaë Lemoine  (June, 2020)

The secret daughter of a French politician and a famous actress drops the startling revelation that will shatter her family in this beguiling debut novel of intrigue and betrayal. Will also be available in ebook format.

 


Leave a comment

You Can Now Get Overdrive All Over Massachusetts

Great news! Overdrive, the library e-lending platform that brings books, magazines, and audiobooks to your mobile device, is now available throughout the state of Massachusetts. All libraries and their patrons now receive this fantastic service. Everything you’ve ever wanted out of an electronic book lending service is available now:

  • Fine-free automatic returns
  • Streaming audio capability
  • Compatibility with iOS, Android, and Kindle
  • Libby, an updated, user-friendly mobile app that makes using Overdrive a breeze

Better yet, the libraries of Massachusetts that already had Overdrive have merged their subscriptions. That means that the entire state enjoys the same pool of books and audiobooks. The only difference is that this pool is now huge. A patron with an MVLC library card can borrow books from the Boston Public Library’s digital collection. Someone with a library card from Provincetown can borrow a digital e-book owned by MVLC. All you have to do is choose your library consortium and log in.

Download the Libby app onto your Android or iOS device and try it for yourself! If you use a Kindle, download the Overdrive app or log onto Overdrive’s website through your computer’s Internet browser. Now is the time to enjoy a bigger, better range of e-books than ever before.

If you ever have trouble using Overdrive, the library is available to help. Just call us at (978)686-4080 or email a librarian to learn how to use this amazing service.

Here’s a complete list of the digital libraries to which Massachusetts residents now have free access:

Boston Public Library

CLAMS

CW MARS

Merrimack Valley Library Consortium

Minuteman Library Consortium

North of Boston Library Exchange

Old Colony Library Network

SAILS Library Network

 


Leave a comment

Important Info: Changes to our eBook Collections

You may have noticed that the eBook page on our website has changed a bit. This June and July we’re going through a transition when it comes to eBooks as a result of changes in the state budget regarding libraries.

On June 30 the Commonwealth eBook Collections’ (CEC) access to Axis360, BiblioBoard and eBook Central will end. That means that any eBooks/eAudiobooks on Axis360, BiblioBoard, and eBook Central you have checked out you will no longer be able to read/listen to, and any holds on eBooks through those platforms will be canceled.

But have no fear, we still have our amazing Overdrive service. If you’ve been using it in conjunction with Axis360 & Biblioboard then you’re good to go. You can sign in with your Nevins (or other MVLC) Library card and borrow the books as usual.

On the other hand, if you’re an Overdrive newbie, I bid you many welcomes, and I have good news. Using the new Overdrive Libby App is just as simple as Axis360 and Biblioboard used to be.

You can find Libby on all the App Stores (here are a few links to the Apps — iTunes Libby App, Android Libby App, Microsoft Libby App). Or if you prefer to read a bit about it first, you can go to Overdrive.com. Once you’ve downloaded it, you’ll be asked to sign up with your Library Card #, and then you can download/read/listen to both eBooks and eAudiobooks either online or offline just like you could on the other platforms.

There are also awesome new things that will be happening with Overdrive and how you get your Overdrive books in the future (Hint: Those who are working on it hope that it will be much more like how Massachusetts lends out print books right now!!) Stay tuned for all that exciting news.

For more information as always feel free to drop by the Reference Desk and ask us your question, call us at 978-686-4080 x12, or even leave a comment on this post. We can help you get started on Libby, get a BPL eCard for even more Overdrive goodness, or whatever else your Tech Help needs are.

The state also has a website set up that talks about the Changeover HERE.


Leave a comment

Read anywhere with Libby!

You may already know about the Nevins Library’s many different e-book borrowing methods. We even wrote a post about them recently. You may even be using them at an increasingly rapid rate, judging by the anonymized statistics that the library gets from the companies that provide our digital books. But did you know that borrowing e-books is now easier and more fun than ever before? That’s right: there’s a new app in town, and it’s called Libby. Once you try it, you’ll see why we love it.

unnamed_0

Libby is strictly for mobile. It’s an interface made for your phone or tablet, so don’t try and download it for your laptop or desktop computer. It draws from the OverDrive catalog, just like the old OverDrive app did. Think of Libby and the OverDrive app as two phones that can call the same number. In this analogy, the OverDrive app is a rotary and Libby is a smartphone. They both dial into OverDrive, but one is way faster and more fun to use than the other.

Libby features an easy-to-use interface that lets you return, renew, and read books with greater ease than ever. Instead of navigating a maze of directions to log in and borrow books, Libby keeps you logged in and even stores multiple cards at the touch of a button. Then, when you want to borrow a title, two taps get you the literary lusciousness that you crave. The item downloads right to your phone over wifi and then it’s yours for 21 sweet days of bliss. (Remember how the OverDrive app used to burn out your data plan? Libby will only download over wifi unless you expressly tell it otherwise.)

392x696bb

Two-tap returns and – yes – renewals make Libby the easy choice for the discerning reader. Best of all, the entire system is completely intuitive. Once you download, you’ll be amazed that you ever used anything else.

Remember, if you ever need help with a reading app, you can always ask the staff of the Nevins Memorial Library for assistance. We’re available from 9:00am to 9:00pm every Monday through Thursday, as well as 9:00am to 5:00pm on Fridays and on Saturdays in the winter.


Leave a comment

Bookish Confessions: Reducing Stess through Audiobooks

Well, here it is, my annual stressor, the “holidays”. Between the reduction in light and the advance of the cold…not to mention the state of the country and its leaders, I’m feeling a little on edge right about now.

How to take the stress down a notch and save a little of myself for my family? For me the answer has been the audiobook. I’ve turned off the news, stopped listening to the same songs over and over whether on the radio or my playlist. I’m using my commute, which can range from twenty minutes to 70 minutes depending on day and time and whether they’ve decided it’s a good night to do some construction, to go somewhere else through the auspices of a good book. Drive time is now a pleasure, if not a pleasure at least not as much of a drag.

Most times I download a book to my phone through Axis 360 (an eBook provider through the Mass eCollection) and listen to it through the speakers in the car. I’ve tried science fiction, fantasy, true crime, historical fiction, and they all allow me to have that break and come home refreshed instead of tense. To be sure I have been tempted to drive around the block a time or two when the story has me really intrigued…but don’t tell my husband!

Here are a few of my favorite listens:

The TerraCover image for Master Thievesnauts by T. C. BoyleCover image for The Underground Railroad

Master Thieves by Stephen Kurkjian

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Voyager by Diana Gabaldon

 

∼ Kirsten


1 Comment

eBooks Galore!!

With a new look for our Overdrive website in February (same great content, slightly different look), I thought that I’d  give a refresher on all the amazing ways that you can get both eBooks and eAudiobooks. We’ll start with the most well-known eBook and eAudiobook provider.

Overdrive is our biggest provider of eContent. It has both eBooks and eAudiobooks. In addition to bestselling fiction it also has quite a number of Romances, more childrens’ books every day, and even some Comics (including from DC Comics, Woo!!). You can read and listen to them on your computer,  through your browser, or on almost any mobile device with their free Overdrive App (Scroll down to the bottom for all the various platforms you can use Overdrive on!)

 

 

Axis360 is a part of the Commonwealth eBook Collections. It has both Audiobooks and eBooks, mostly bestselling fiction, that can be read and listened to through the Axis360 App (Again, the links are at the bottom!!)

 

 

 

Biblioboard is a part of the Commonwealth eBook Collections as well. It has everything from the For Dummies series to a good portion of the Dark Horse Comics Graphic Novels to many many Primary Sources and Historical Documents. All Available through your browser or their App.

 

 

If you’re looking for items of a more academic bent EBL has many items to help with academic research as well as items that can help with personal interests, from cooking to gardening. (It’s also part of the Commonwealth eBook Collections). Go to EBL

 

safari

Finally, Safari has almost 5000 technology, digital media, and business books and videos online and ready on-demand in your browser to help you out of that pickle. Go to Safari

Remember all you need to access all these awesome resources is a Nevins Library card and something to read/listen to them on. And, in most cases, that can even be your computer!!

And if you have questions about using any of the above resources (or our other Online Resources) come see us up at the Reference Desk and we’ll try and get you all set up!!