Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame May 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  May 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Rodham

 Rodham: a novel

by Curtis Sittenfeld

Random House
ISBN:  9780399590917

“What if Hillary Rodham heeded the red flags that came with dating Bill Clinton in the 1970s? Sittenfeld really captures the voice of a strong, brilliant, independent female narrator in this warm, whip-smart take on what could have been.”

—Lindsay Jensen, Nashville Public Library, Nashville, TN

Read-alike: The Senator’s Wife by Sue Miller
Read-alike: The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close
Read-alike: Young Jane Young by Gabrielle Zevin

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads May 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 May 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Something to talk aboutSomething to Talk About

by Meryl Wilsner

Berkley
ISBN:  9780593102527

“Jo, a successful producer and screenwriter, asks her assistant Emma to attend
the SAG awards with her as a buffer to field questions. But after a red carpet
photograph, rumors start spreading about their romantic involvement. A
sweet, slow burn romance that gets steamy at the end between two people
who obviously respect and value the other, despite various communication
issues that arise. Give to readers who liked Girl Gone Viral (Rai),
The Hating Game (Thorne), and Red, White & Royal Blue (McQuiston).”

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA
NoveList read-alike: When Katie Met Cassidy by Camille Perri


Cover image for All Adults HereAll Adults Here: A Novel

by Emma Straub

Riverhead Books
ISBN:  9781594634697

“The ripple effects of choices linger for years and ultimately shape matriarch Astrid and her children. As several generations grapple with their own truths, an opportunity to begin again ultimately draws them all closer.  This book asks the question, “Who is truth ultimately for, who benefits from it, and who does it hurt?” For fans of Clock Dance (Tyler) and The Most Fun We Ever Had (Lombardo).”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA
NoveList read-alike: The Precious One by Marisa de los Santo


Cover image for Beach ReadBeach Read

by Emily Henry

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806734

“Hooray for smart, emotional, well-written romance! Two old enemies meet by chance and decide to solve their writer’s block by swapping genres: Literary writer Augustus will trade his cynicism for a happily ever after, while January will try a “serious” novel where everyone ends up realistically miserable. What could go wrong?  For readers who like Susan Mallery and Jennifer Crusie.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
NoveList read-alike: Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn


Cover image for BIG SUMMER.Big Summer

by Jennifer Weiner

Atria
ISBN: 9781501133510

“Daphne is a plus-size Instagram influencer who is lovable, funny, and honest.
She is surprised when her former best friend–rich, beautiful, mean girl Drue–
asks her to be in her summer wedding on Cape Cod. Readers of modern romance,
women’s fiction, mystery, and beachy chic-lit will all find something here to ponder.
Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Emily Giffin.”

Kathleen Redfearn, Attleboro Public Library, Attleboro, MA
NoveList read-alike: Save the Date by Mary Kay Andrews


Cover image for A good marriage :A Good Marriage: A Novel

by Kimberly McCreight

Harper
ISBN:  9780062367686

“In Park Slope, everyone has a “good marriage.” Yet after an annual party that often involves partner swapping, one wife ends up dead. Her husband might not be the
best spouse, but he claims he didn’t kill his wife. If being a bad husband doesn’t make you a murderer, then who in this idyllic community is responsible? Liane Moriarty fans will love this one.”

Selena Swink, Lake Public Library, Lake, MS
NoveList read-alike: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena


Cover image for Happy & you know itHappy & You Know It

by Laura Hankin

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806239

“Claire is a musician whose former band became famous without her. She takes a gig
singing nursery rhymes for a playgroup, and her life takes a couple of sharp lefts from there! For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg.”

Danielle Hansard, Westland Public Library, Westland, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy


The Jane Austen SocietyThe Jane Austen Society: a Novel

by Natalie Jenner

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250248732

“Set in the small village of Chawton where Jane Austen lived at the end of her life, just after WWII. Add in a small farmer, the local doctor, a heartbroken widow, a movie actress and other assorted characters all of who love Jane Austen. For readers who enjoyed The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler.”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer


Cover image for Network Effect: A Murderbot NovelNetwork Effect: A Murderbot Novel 

by Martha Wells

Tor
ISBN: 9781250229861

“For the unfamiliar, The Murderbot Diaries is an action-packed, smart science fiction
series about a self-hacking robot searching for the meaning of life. This is the first full-length standalone in the series. Given time to develop characters, the peril was even more suspenseful. More than any of the other titles, this one has me hoping for a sequel. For fans of Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie.”

April Lammers, Huntington Beach Public Library, Huntington Beach, CA
NoveList read-alike: The Cassandra Kresnov novels by Joel Shepherd


Cover image for Recipe for PersuasionRecipe for Persuasion:  A Novel

by Sonali Dev

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062839077

“Ashna is trying to keep her father’s restaurant, Curried Dreams, from failing. An opportunity is presented to her to be a chef on a reality show, paired with a celebrity. Little does she know that the celebrity, Rico, a soccer star, maneuvered on the
show to be paired with her. For fans of Jasmine Guillory.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
NoveList read-alike: Savor You by Kristen Proby


Cover image for The Wife StalkerThe Wife Stalker

by Liv Constantine

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062967282

“Piper Reynard has moved to Connecticut to start over. She meets Leo, a handsome and successful lawyer who is married to Joanna, who has been waiting for Leo to start focusing on her and the kids again for quite some time. Joanna is determined to find the truth out about Piper, but no one wants to believe what she uncovers. For fans of B.A. Paris and A.J. Finn.”

Laura Sanders, LaFourche Parish Library, Thibodaux, LA
NoveList read-alike:  The Temp by Michelle Francis

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads April 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 April 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for The southern book club's guide to slaying vampiresThe Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires: A Novel

by Grady Hendrix

Quirk Books
ISBN:  9781683691433

“Hendrix’s latest novel, possibly his darkest yet, addresses racism, sexism, and the mistaken belief that housewives are dull. Patricia and friends, all genteel Southerners, start a true crime book club. They have to apply what they’ve learned when a vampire moves into town. Patricia grows from a mildly dissatisfied homemaker to a vampire-fighting dynamo who thinks three steps ahead and takes ownership of her life. With perfect pacing, there’s never a moment where readers can let their guard down. An excellent choice for horror fans of Joe Hill, David Wong, and Christopher Moore.”

Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Public Library, Corona, NY
NoveList read-alike: The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule


Cover image for A bad day for sunshineA Bad Day for Sunshine: A Novel

by Darynda Jones

St. Martins Press
ISBN:  9781250149442

“Jones follows up her Charley Davidson series in a spectacular fashion with a new series featuring police chief Sunshine Vicram. A fun, UN-PUT-DOWN-ABLE read with a large cast of lovable, diverse characters, several mysteries to solve, and laugh-out-loud humor. Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and J.A. Jance.”

Pamela Steinke, Mott Public Library, Mott, ND
NoveList read-alike: The Dime by Kathleen Kent


Cover image for The Book of LongingsThe Book of Longings: A Novel

by Sue Monk Kidd

Viking
ISBN: 9780525429760

“Ana is Jesus’s wife and a force in her own right. Monk does not sensationalize her writing about a fictional marriage for Jesus, but rather goes into great historical detail and imagines what it would be like to be a woman in that time. If you have been waiting for a book like The Red Tent for the past 20 years, this is it. Give to fans of Anita Diamant and Marilynne Robinson.”

Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Liars’ Gospel by Naomi Alderman


Cover image for The book of lost friends :The Book of Lost Friends: A Novel

by Lisa Wingate

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781984819888

“Another fantastic, hard-to-put-down book by Wingate. The story moves back and forth from the post Civil War era where freed slaves are searching for lost family to the modern day South where a struggling new teacher is trying to engage her students. A must read for those who enjoyed Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi or On Agate Hill by Lee Smith.”

Cindy Ritter, Hamilton North Public Library, Cicero, IN
NoveList read-alike: Cane River by Lalita Tademy


Cover image for Chosen onesChosen Ones: A Novel

by Veronica Roth

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN:  9780358164081

“Some years back, five teens were picked, after they fulfilled a prophecy, to fight the Dark One. Now, on the tenth anniversary of that battle, they find out that the Dark One is still alive in a parallel universe. Do the young heroes have what it takes to fight him again? Packed with action, suspense, and breath-taking twists and turns. A good choice for fans of Lev Grossman and N.K. Jemisin.”

Trisha Perry, Oldham County Public Library, LaGrange, KY
NoveList read-alike: Vicious by Victoria Schwab


Cover image for Girl Gone ViralGirl Gone Viral: A Novel

by Alisha Rai

Avon
ISBN:  9780062878137

“When a random guy sits at Katrina’s cafe table, a nearby woman shares the exchange on social media with her own interpretation that soon goes viral. Katrina can’t care less because she’s been crushing on her bodyguard, Jas, for years. Now to save her from the media blitz, Jas needs to hide her away somewhere — maybe his house in Northern California? For fans of The Right Swipe and Christina Lauren.”

Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH
NoveList read-alike: Revealed to Him by Jen Frederick


Cover image for The Happy Ever After PlaylistThe Happy Ever After Playlist

by Abby Jimenez

Forever
ISBN: 9781538715642

“Sloan, still recovering from the sudden death of her fiancé finds a stray dog and brings him home. She calls the number on the tag but there is no response. Once she has fallen for the dog, the owner shows up and Sloan gets a second chance at love. For lovers of romantic comedies like Less by Andrew Sean Greer and Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld.”

Theresa Bond, Middlesex Public Library, Middlesex, NJ
NoveList read-alike: About a Dog by Jenn McKinlay


Cover image for He started itHe Started It: A Novel

by Samantha Downing

Berkley
ISBN: 9780451491756

“A funny, twisted, scary story about Beth, Eddie, and Portia, siblings who are required to recreate a fateful road trip in order to claim their inheritance. For readers who enjoyed The Kill Club and Eight Perfect Murders.”

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH
NoveList read-alike: The Better Liar by Tanen Jones


Cover image for Little SecretsLittle Secrets: A Novel

by Jennifer Hillier

St. Martins Press
ISBN:  9781250154224

“This fast-paced thriller opens on the kidnapping of a young boy. More than a year after her son’s disappearance, Marin discovers her husband is having an affair and begins down a path of secrets and betrayal. For readers who enjoyed Lady in the Lake and Lock Every Door.”

Mara Bandy Fass, Champaign Public Library, Champaign, IL
NoveList read-alike: Something She’s Not Telling Us by Darcey Bell


Cover image for Undercover BromanceYou Deserve Each Other

by Sarah Hogle

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN:  9780593085424

“Naomi realizes she is only 18% in love with Nicholas, but doesn’t want to be the one to break it off, so she devises a plan to force him to break up with her. For readers who liked The Wedding Party and Well Met.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD
NoveList read-alike: To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame March 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  March 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Eight perfect murders :

  Eight Perfect Murders

by Peter Swanson

William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062838209

“Malcolm writes a blog post about eight crime novels featuring “perfect” murders. Years later,an FBI agent tells him a killer is mimicking the books on his list. In an homage to classic mysteries, Swanson creates an artful tale of murder.”

Amy Whitfield, Cary Regional Library, Cary NC

Read-alikes:

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan
The Oxford Murders by Guillermo Martínez
Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

 

Cover image for The Honey-Don't List

The Honey-Don’t List

by Christina Lauren

Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982123918

“Imagine a world in which two HGTV-style design gurus have a terrible marriage and their assistants have to keep everything from falling apart. This is a super-fun, fast,and easy read.”

Maria Maia, River Forest Public Library, River Forest, IL

Read-alikes:

Playing House by Ruby Lang
Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey
Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

 

Cover image for The Red Lotus

The Red Lotus: a novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Doubleday Books

ISBN:  9780385544801

“In the aftermath of her boyfriend’s disappearance in contemporary Vietnam, a New York ER doctor discovers the shocking truth about his secret life. This is an exciting edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you reading well into the night.”

Marion Sheehan, Canterbury Public Library, Canterbury, CT

Read-alikes:

Outbreak by Robin Cook
The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer
Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads March 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 March 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for My Dark VanessaMy Dark Vanessa: a novel

by Kate Elizabeth Russell

HarperCollins
ISBN:  9780062941503

“A Lolita for the #MeToo era, it’s unsettling, but not necessarily for the reasons you might think.  The narrative shifts from 2000, when Vanessa gains admission to an elite New England prep school, to 2017, when she tries to come to terms with yer experience, her role in it, how it’s affecting her present, and the choiices she faces to find resolution and move forward.  For fans of Notes on a Scandal (Heller), Trust Exercise (Choi), and His Favorites (Walbert)”

Michelle Sampson, York Public Library, York, ME
NoveList read-alike:  The Coming Storm by Paul Elliott Russel


Cover image for The glass hotel :The Glass Hotel: a novel

by Emily St. John Mandel

Knopf
ISBN:  9780525521143

“A gorgeously written, immersive book about how easy it is to cross lines into questionable moral territory.  At its center is Vincent, who loses her mother when she’s13 and as an adult makes her way into the heart of the Country of Money in New York City. Narrated by a number of well-drawn characters in a shifting timeline. For fans of A Visit from the Goon Squad and The Goldfinch.”

Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
NoveList read-alike: The Luminous Heart of Jonah S by Gina Barkhordar Nahai


Cover image for Darling rose goldDarling Rose Gold

by Stephanie Wrobel

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100066

“Terrific psychological suspense based on an actual case where a mother deliberately made her daughter sick for years. The story is told in alternating perspectives from the points of view of Rose Gold and her mother, Patty, complex characters who are masterfully drawn, seeming sympathetic at some points and unsympathetic in others. For readers who liked The Silent Patient and The Execution of Noa P. Singleton.”

Alice Kober, Arapahoe Library District, Englewood, CO
NoveList read-alike: Mother, Mother by Karen Zalickas


Cover image for A Good NeighborhoodA Good Neighborhood

by Therese Anne Fowler

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250237279

“When a local businessman removes several old trees to build a mini-mansion, he isn’t seen favorably by his new neighbor Valerie, an ecology professor. When their teenagers begin to secretly date you know it’s not going to end well. Told from multiple viewpoints(including the neighborhood chorus), this heart-wrenching novel explores class, race, and what it means to be a good neighbor. For those who enjoyed Commonwealth, The Hate U Give, and A Place for Us.”

Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL
NoveList read-alike: Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng


Cover image for If I Never Met YouIf I Never Met You: a novel

by Mhairi McFarlane

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062958501

“When Jamie and Laurie become trapped in an elevator, they conjure up a fake relationship in order to get what they want from work and make an ex jealous. They end up falling for each other…but can they trust it? An enjoyable romance with characters you care about.  For readers who liked Not the Girl You Marry and The Flatshare.”

Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Greenwood, IN
Novelist read-alike:  The Betting Vow by K.M. Jackson


Cover image for In five years :In Five Years: novel

by Rebecca Searle

Atria Books
ISBN:  9781982137441

“An ambitious young lawyer disregards a prophetic dream that doesn’t fit into her five-year plan until she meets the man of her dreams five years later. Love has a plan of its own. For readers who enjoyed Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella, You Were There Too by Colleen Oakley, and The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory.”

Kristin Friberg, Princeton Public Library, Princeton, NJ
NoveList read-alike: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid


Cover image for A Murderous RelationA Murderous Relation

by Deanna Raybourn

Berkley
ISBN: 9780451490742

“Veronica Speedwell and her partner, Stoker, find themselves involved in a mystery that coincides with the killing spree of Jack the Ripper. For fans of the Ladies Travelers Guide series and the Amelia Peabody mysteries.”

Stacy Tomaszewski, Alameda County Library, San Jose, CA
NoveList read-alike: The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby


Cover image for The returnThe Return

by Rachel Harrison

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593098660

“The story of a creepy hotel, a mysterious disappearance and reappearance, and the complexities of friendships. For fans of Stephen King and Thomas Harris.”

Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Hennepin County, MN
NoveList read-alike:  My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

 


Cover image for The two lives of Lydia Bird :The Two Lives of Lydia Bird: a novel

by Josie Silver

Ballantine Books
ISBN:  9780593135235

“A beautifully written exploration of heartbreak and grief, that takes place over the course of 18 months after Lydia loses her fiance Freddie in a tragic accident. For fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan.”

Ashley Giangregorgio, Virginia Beach Public Library,Virginia Beach, VA
NoveList read-alike: Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch


Cover image for Undercover BromanceUndercover Bromance

by Lyssa Kay Adams

Berkley Books
ISBN:  9781984806116

“Take one romance-reading hero, his bromance book club, and add a wickedly strong heroine. This one strikes the right balance of snark, heart, and humor. For fans of Alexa Martin and Julie James.”

Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL NoveList read-alike: The Full Series by Janet Evanovich and Charlotte Hughes

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame February 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  February 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for The Sun Down MotelThe Sun Down Motel

by Simone St. James

Published by Berkley
ISBN: 9780440000174

“Another chilling ghost story from St. James, who seems to surpass the level of shiver with each book.  A young woman recovers old secrets and stirs up vengeful ghosts when she travels to upstate New York in search of an aunt who disappeared 35 years earlier.”

Patricia Utarro, Monroe County Library System, Rochester, NY

 

Read-alike:
The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon
The Vanishing by Wendy Webb
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman
An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

 Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads February 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 February 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for The authenticity projectThe Authenticity Project:  A Novel

by Clare Pooley

Pamela Dorman Books/Viking
ISBN:  9781984878618

“Julian, Monica, and others present themselves publicly in one way, but their entries in an Authenticity Project notebook reveal them to be more insecure, eager to change, and ultimately more interesting. A heartwarming story about how not everyone tells the truth about who they are. For fans of The School of Essential Ingredients, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and A Man Called Ove.”

Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleboro, MA
NoveList read-alike: Meet Me at the Museum by Anne Youngson


Cover image for The BearThe Bear

by Andrew Krivak

Bellevue Literary Press
ISBN: 9781942658702

“A young girl and her father live alone in a mountain forest that fronts a lake in a devastated world. She learns from him how to live off the land, hunting for food, and finding shelter. The Bear is the moving story of a journey they make together to the ocean, and the bear who helps her find her way back home. For fans of The Dog Stars (Heller) and The Road (McCarthy).”

Sandy Jones Boyd, Mountain Regional Public Library, Young Harris, GA
NoveList read-alike: Train Dreams by Denis Johnson


Cover image for The Girl in White Gloves: A Novel of Grace KellyThe Girl in White Gloves: A Novel of Grace Kelly

by Kerri Maher

Berkley Books
ISBN: 9780451492074

“An interesting, fictional take on the life of one of America’s favorite actresses, Grace Kelly.  She struggles to break free from controlling parents and forge her own life. Although she marries her prince, the confinements of her marriage contract assure that she never truly succeeds at happily ever after. For readers who liked The Girls in the Picture (Benjamin) and A Touch of Stardust (Alcott).”

Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Meet Me in Monaco by Hazel Gaynor


Cover image for Golden in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel (in Death, Book 50)Golden in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel

by J. D. Robb

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN:  9781250207203

“Hard to believe that this is #50 in this series. Even harder to believe that the stories remain fresh and the characters compelling, but it does not disappoint. There’s a satisfying path to solving the very distressing murders, and particular pleasure in seeing the characters continue to change and grow. For fans of the In Death series, Linda Howard, and Lisa Gardner.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
Novelist read-alike:  Jane Rizzoli and Isles series by Tess Gerritsen


Cover image for Mercy HouseMercy House: a novel

by Alena Dillon

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062914804

“Mercy House, a battered women’s shelter run by nuns, is being investigated by an arrogant bishop and threatened by a violent gang leader. In a world full of predators, Sister Evelyn protects her traumatized and diverse flock of women with everything she’s got. She is a rousing, radical, literary hero of heart-stirring courage. Give to fans of Elizabeth Berg and Anita Diamant.”

Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
NoveList read-alike: The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott


Cover image for Oona out of orderOona Out of Order: a novel

by Margarita Montimore

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250236609

“During the New Year countdown, 19-year-old Oona Lockhart faints and wakes up in her 51-year-old body. I can’t wait for my bookish friends to read this
time-jumping debut novel so we can discuss it. For fans of Audrey Niffenegger, Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Liane Moriarty.”

Darla Dykstra, Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, MO
NoveList read-alike: The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle


Cover image for Other Mrs.The Other Mrs.:  a novel

by Mary Kubica

Harlequin
ISBN: 9780778369110

“Sadie, Will, and their two children move to Maine following Will’s sister’s suicide, to care for her teenage daughter Imogen.  Soon after, a strange murder happens in the house across the street. The family’s past is revealed along with the unraveling of the neighbor’s murder. For fans of You by Caroline Kepnes (both the book and the Netflix show).”

Christine Edgar, Farmington Libraries, Farmington, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Hidden Girl by Louise Millar


Cover image for Saint XSaint X

by Alexis Schaitkin

Celedon Books
ISBN: 9781250219596

“Claire was a child when her much older sister Alison died and there are many gaps in her knowledge of who Alison was and how she died. This is a deep character study and a story about obsession, grief, and finding a path after loss. For readers who enjoyed What We Lose by Zinzi
Clemmons and The Other Americans by Laila Lalami.”

Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, MA
NoveList read-alike: Going East by Matthew D’Ancona


Cover image for The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the BlitzThe Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz

by Erik Larson

Crown
ISBN: 9780385348713

“Once again Larson’s new book is nonfiction that is as hard to put down as the best fiction. The book recounts the early days of Churchill as prime minister when France fell to Germany and the British Empire stood alone against Hitler. For readers who like John M. Barry (The Great Influenza) and David King (Death in the City of Light).”

Celia Morse, Berkley Public Library, Berkley, MI
NoveList read-alike: Their Finest Hour by Winston Churchill


Cover image for The Worst Best ManThe Worst Best Man: a novel

by Mia Sosa

Avon
ISBN:  9780062909879

“A classic enemies to lovers plot told from the perspective of both sides of the would-be couple, both likable and the chemistry between the two was well-written and believable. For fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and The Wedding Party.”

Karma Campbell, Catoosa Public Library, Catoosa, OK
NoveList read-alike: Faker by Sarah Smith

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org