Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors November 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  November 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Confession Club: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

Published: 11/19/2019 by Random House
ISBN: 9781984855176

“What starts as a simple supper club transforms into something special when one member reveals a very personal secret. Berg continues her Mason, MO, series with a story that exudes goodness, warmth and solid friendships. A surefire winner and hot book club pick!”

Ron Block, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Brooklyn, Ohio

Read-alikes:

The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan
Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper
Chronicles of a Radical Hag by Lorna Landvik


The Family Upstairs

by Lisa Jewell

Published: 11/5/2019
by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781501190100

“Gothic and creepy, this is the tale of an aging London mansion taken over by a strong-willed con artist happy to prey on the minds of the eccentric family living there. I look forward to each Lisa Jewell release and The Family Upstairs does not disappoint.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alikes:

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
The Au Pair by Emma Rous
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors October 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  October 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Full Throttle

by Joe Hill

Published: 10/1/2019 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062200679

“Hill’s short story collection hits the sweet spot: thirteen supernatural tales that satisfy but also leave you wanting a tiny bit more. He also discusses the inspiration for each story, allowing fans more insight into his process.”

Mahogany Skillings, Richland Library, Columbia, SC

Read-alikes:

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Magic for Beginners by Kelly Link
Ghost Summer by Tananarive Due


The Giver of Stars: A Novel

by Jojo Moyes

Published: 10/8/2019
by Pamela Dorman Books
ISBN: 9780399562488

“Moyes brings Depression-era Kentucky to life in this historical novel about five women who become horseback librarians. Vivid descriptions of daily life in a 1930s coal-mining community and great characters punctuate an informative, fun read that’s based on a true story.”

Linda Sullivan, Mission Viejo Public Library, Aurora, CO

Read-alikes:

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani
Over the Plain Houses by Julia Franks


Olive, Again: A Novel

by Elizabeth Strout

Published: 10/15/2019
by Random House
ISBN: 9780812996548

“Olive Kitteridge is back and still as crotchety, opinionated, and endearing as ever. Aging, death, racism, prejudices, infidelities–nothing gets past Olive as she sticks her nose into every corner of her small town.”

Sharon Hutchins, Keytesville Library, Keytesville, MO

Read-alikes:

Lila by Marilynne Robinson
Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce


Royal Holiday

by Jasmine Guillory

Published: 10/1/2019
by Berkley
ISBN: 9781984802217

“An irresistible Christmas fantasy about a woman of a certain age who falls for the queen of England’s private secretary on a visit to the U.K. Guillory describes Britain so well, and it was great to read a popular romance novel starring an older protagonist.”

Megan Sanks, Glenview Public Library, Glenview, IL

Read-alikes:

A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole
Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev
My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan


Twice in a Blue Moon

by Christina Lauren

Published: 10/22/2019
by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982135706

“Sam was Tate’s first love and turned her world upside down. Years later they reconnect unexpectedly, and she wonders if young love should get a second chance. Another unputdownable book from Lauren.”

Melissa Stumpe, Johnson County Public Library, Greenwood, IN

Read-alikes:

Not Quite Over You by Susan Mallery
Perfect Timing by Brenda Jackson
Waiting on You by Kristan Higgins

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors August 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  August 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Perfect Wife: A Novel

by JP Delaney

Published: 8/6/2019 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9781524796747

“Abbie wakes up with no memory of how she ended up in the hospital. Her tech wizard husband tells her that after a horrific accident, he spent five years trying to bring her back. But is Abby’s return a miracle of science, or a nightmare? Delaney’s latest psychological thriller keeps you guessing.”


Joan Meis Wilson, Needles Public Library, Needles, CA

Read-alikes:

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson
How to Be A Good Wife by Emma Chapman
The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch


The Turn of the Key

by Ruth Ware

Published: 8/6/2019 by Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: 9781501188770

“Rowan travels to northern Scotland to nanny for a rich, eccentric family; a seemingly perfect job until everything unravels. The isolated location, creepy gothic vibe, unreliable narrator, and brilliant twists keep readers on edge from start to finish in a pulse-pounding read.”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT

Read-alikes:

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
While You Sleep by Stephanie Merritt
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors July 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  July 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Brazen and the Beast: The Bareknuckle Bastards Book II

by Sarah MacLean

Published: 7/30/2019 by Avon
ISBN: 9780062692078

“Sparks fly when the brash daughter of an earl and the bastard son of a duke are thrown together in Regency London. Strong character development and sizzling love scenes combine for a swoon-worthy read.”

Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Library, Queensboro Hill, NY

Read-alikes:

Scandal in Spring by Lisa Kleypas
The Mistress by Susan Wiggs
The Perks of Loving a Scoundrel by Jennifer McQuiston


The Chelsea Girls: A Novel

by Fiona Davis

Published: 7/30/2019
by Dutton
ISBN: 9781524744588

“Amid the paranoia of the Red Scare, two women forge an indelible friendship. Davis’ latest historical fiction gem highlights an important chapter of American history against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New York.”

Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ

Read-alikes:

White Collar Girl by Renee Rosen
When We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton
The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall


Lady in the Lake: A Novel

by Laura Lippman

Published: 7/23/2019
by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062390011

“Maddie Schwartz leaves her marriage in 1960s Baltimore and finds her true calling as a reporter after discovering the body of a murdered girl. Desperate for a byline, Maddie triggers a domino effect of tragic consequences when she becomes part of the story instead.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alikes:

Field of Blood by Denise Mina
November Road by Lou Berney
Black Water Rising by Attica Locke


Never Have I Ever: A Novel

by Joshilyn Jackson

Published: 7/30/2019
by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062855312

“Amy’s seemingly perfect life is threatened when she’s confronted by a stranger who knows her darkest secrets. This fast-paced thrill ride hooks you from the first page.”

Terri Smith, Cornelia Library, Mt. Airy, GA

Read-alikes:

Not That I Could Tell by Jessica Strawser
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell


Shamed: A Kate Burkholder Novel

by Linda Castillo

Published: 7/16/2019
by Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781250142863

“An Amish grandmother is murdered, a girl with special needs is abducted, and the clock ticks on police chief Burkholder’s hopes of finding her alive. This thrilling page-turner explores the lengths one will go to save a child.”

Aubrey Parker, Charles B. Stewart-West Branch Library,Montgomery, TX

Read-alikes:

In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming
Blessed Be the Wicked by D.A. Bartley
Circle of Influence by Annette Dashofy


The Wedding Party

by Jasmine Guillory

Published: 7/16/2019
by Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9781984802194

“Maddie and Theo love to hate each other until they find themselves together at the one place they least expected–in bed. This laugh-out-loud story is the perfect companion to Guillory’s earlier romances.”

Afton Finley, Waseca Public Library, Waseca, MN

Read-alikes:

Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik
The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
Intercepted by Alexa Martin

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors February 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Lost Man

by Jane Harper

Published: 2/5/2019 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250105684

“When rancher Cameron Bright is found dead in the unforgiving Australian Outback, his older brother Nathan, a social pariah, is left to uncover family secrets and ferret out the mystery of Cameron’s demise. Harper’s tense standalone will captivate her fans and leave them eager for more.”

Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

Readalikes:

Bearskin by James McLaughlin
Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke
The Hired Man by Aminatta Forna
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey


I Owe You One: A Novel

by Sophie Kinsella

Published: 2/5/2019
by The Dial Press
ISBN: 9781524799014

“Kinsella is back with a sweet, thoughtful book about family loyalty and breaking out on your own. Fixie Farr is trying to keep her family’s store afloat while her siblings plot expensive plans to modernize. Meanwhile, Fixie is juggling two interested suitors. For readers who love Meg Cabot and Marian Keyes.”

Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK

Readalikes:

Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes
A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff
The Perfect Find by Tia Williams
Life’s a Beach by Clare Cook
A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors