Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors May 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  May 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Middlegame

by Seanan McGuire

Published: 5/7/2019 by Tor.com
ISBN: 9781250195524

“McGuire’s standalone contemporary fantasy is a story of alchemy, mathematics, language, and two unforgettable twins. The complex story takes some time to get moving, but once it does this great, philosophically deep read becomes very difficult to put down.”

Angela Gaule Ector County Public Library, Odessa, TX

Read-alikes:

The Devourers by Indra Das
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
Lexicon by Max Barry


The Stone Circle

by Elly Griffiths

Published: 5/7/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9781328974648

“Forensic archaeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is back puzzling out mysteries old and new in the English coastal region of Norfolk. Much appeal lies in revisiting Ruth’s delightful supporting cast of colleagues and friends. Because the book ties in with earlier installments, this is a series best read in order.”

Melissa Davidson, Staunton Public Library, Staunton, VA

Read-alikes:

Haunted Ground by Erin Hart
The Dark Place by Aaron Elkins
Death Wore White by Jim Kelly


The Unhoneymooners

by Christina Lauren

Published: 5/14/2019
by Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781501128035

“Olive and Ethan are enemies brought together in classic rom-com style when the honeymoon plans of their siblings (who’ve just married) take a wrong turn. The dialogue is fantastic–no one mixes sweetness, snark, and hilarity so well. Perfect for readers of Jasmine Guillory or Emma Chase.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee Districy Library, Goodrich, MI

Read-alikes:

99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne
Hold Me by Courtney Milan
Fight or Flight by Samantha Young

courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors

Advertisements


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors February 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Lost Man

by Jane Harper

Published: 2/5/2019 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250105684

“When rancher Cameron Bright is found dead in the unforgiving Australian Outback, his older brother Nathan, a social pariah, is left to uncover family secrets and ferret out the mystery of Cameron’s demise. Harper’s tense standalone will captivate her fans and leave them eager for more.”

Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

Readalikes:

Bearskin by James McLaughlin
Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke
The Hired Man by Aminatta Forna
The Round House by Louise Erdrich
The Dark Lake by Sarah Bailey


I Owe You One: A Novel

by Sophie Kinsella

Published: 2/5/2019
by The Dial Press
ISBN: 9781524799014

“Kinsella is back with a sweet, thoughtful book about family loyalty and breaking out on your own. Fixie Farr is trying to keep her family’s store afloat while her siblings plot expensive plans to modernize. Meanwhile, Fixie is juggling two interested suitors. For readers who love Meg Cabot and Marian Keyes.”

Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK

Readalikes:

Anybody Out There by Marian Keyes
A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff
The Perfect Find by Tia Williams
Life’s a Beach by Clare Cook
A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

LibraryReads February 2018: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

February 2018 LibraryReads List

The Great Alone: A Novel

by Kristin Hannah

Published:2/6/2018 by St. Martin’s Press

ISBN: 9780312577230

“Leni and her troubled family embark on a new way of life in Alaska’s wilderness in 1974 – hoping this is finally the solution for her troubled, POW father. In Alaska, Leni and her family are tested and when change comes to their small community her father’s anger threatens to explode and divide the town. This is a beautifully written novel, descriptive and engaging with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place.”

Alissa Williams, Morton Public Library, Morton, IL


An American Marriage

by Tayari Jones

Published: 2/6/2018 by Algonquin Books
ISBN: 9781616201340

“Celestial and Roy are newly married professionals leaning in to a bright future when Roy is convicted of a crime he did not commit. This is not a heroes vs. villains tale with a tidy resolution. It is a complicated, messy, moving, and thought-provoking story about love, family, and the wide-reaching effects of incarceration. Book clubs get ready!”

Jennifer Alexander, St. Louis County Library, St. Louis, MO


The French Girl

by Lexie Elliott

Published: 2/20/2018 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780399586934

“Six friends from Oxford University spend an idyllic week in the French countryside that ends with a missing neighbor, the enigmatic Severine. Fast forward ten years and Severine turns up. Or rather her skeleton does in a well on the property. All six friends are suspects. Will the loyalties hold and who put Severine in the well? This is a fun, taut thriller.”

Jennifer Dayton, Darien Library, Darien, CT


Force of Nature: A Novel

by Jane Harper

Published: 2/6/2018 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250105639

“When Detective Falk learns that an informant went missing during a corporate team building exercise in the bush, he realizes that she tried to call him in the middle of the night. Harper once again creates a compelling, fast-paced, and atmospheric mystery set in a remote wilderness area of Australia. Perfect for fans of Nevada Barr and Paul Doiron. Highly recommended.”

Vicki Nesting, St.Charles Parish Library, Destrehan, LA


Surprise Me: A Novel

by Sophie Kinsella

Published: 2/13/2018 by The Dial Press
ISBN: 9780399592881

“Kinsella’s newest heroine has met and married Mr. Right – now how to spend the next 68 years? When Sylvie launches Project Surprise Me, she just might find that there’s always more to learn about the ones you love. Told in Kinsella’s trademark charming, relatable style.”

Ariel Kurst, Great River Regional Library, St. Cloud, MN


Tarnished City

by Vic James

Published: 2/6/2018 by Del Rey
ISBN: 9780425284124

Tarnished City, a contemporary fantasy with a healthy dose of world-building, is just as disturbing as its predecessor, Gilded Cage. I couldn’t resist diving deeper into the dark world of Equals and Slaves. James has pushed the characters in new ways, which makes the story riveting, intense, dark, and completely entrancing.”

Monicah Fraterna, La Porte Public Library, La Porte, IN


As Bright As Heaven

by Susan Meissner

Published: 2/6/2018 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780399585968

“Beautifully written, heartbreaking story of four women in Philadelphia in 1918 during the Spanish Flu. I loved this book, as I have other books by Meissner and would highly recommend to anyone who loves historical fiction.”

Cathy Branciforte, Ramsey Free Public Library, Ramsey, NJ

 


How to Stop Time

by Matt Haig
Published: 2/6/2018 by Viking
ISBN: 9780525522874

“Even though there is something extraordinary about Tom Hazard and his aging process the problems and insights he experiences as he goes through life, are universal. Love, memory, and time play tricks on us all as this novel illustrates so exquisitely. This is an engaging,sweeping love story with all the elements of a great historical/time travel novel. For fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life.”

Mary Coe, Fairfield Woods Branch Library, Fairfield, CT


Summer Hours at the Robbers Library: A Novel

by Sue Halpern

Published: 2/27/2018 by Harper Perennial
ISBN: 9780062678966

“Kit is a librarian who closes herself off from emotions and people until she meets Sunny, assigned to the library for community service. Add in a group of regulars in the library and the result is an absorbing story of developing friendships and the unveiling of secrets. Kit’s story unfolds as we meet many quirky characters in this story of love, loss, and hope.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY


Educated: A Memoir

by Tara Westover

Published: 2/20/2018 by Random House
ISBN: 9780399590504

“In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her relationships with siblings, encounters in the town nearby, and the events that eventually drove her to leave and pursue formal education. For fans of Jeannette Walls’ The Glass Castle.”

Andrea Gough, Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Did you miss our Spring Fling with Books Thursday Night?

bookgrass

That’s okay, because I’m here to present to all you gentle readers a list based on the books that were talked about last night. If you have any questions about them, feel free to drop by the Reference Desk and speak to one of us (or any one at the Reference Desk. We’re all librarians who love to talk about books!)

Now, in no particular order our books that we flung Spring-ily:

http://catalog.mvlc.org/opac/extras/ac/jacket/large/r/1393471Krista

Wave by Sonali Deraniyagala
The Kingdom by the Sea by Paul Theroux
House by Tracy Kidder
Dead Wake by Erik Larsen
As Always, Julia ed. by Joan Reardon

 

Snow Crash

Anna

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Márquez
The Stand by Stephen King
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

 

Image of itemTatjana

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman
The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
Dangerous Women ed. by George R.R. Martin
The Case of the Missing Servant by Tarquin Hall
Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

 

Image of itemDanielle

Long Upon the Land by Margaret Maron
Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen
Lock In by John Scalzi
Alex + Ada, Vol. 1 by Sarah Vaughn
Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick

 

tl;dr We would very much like it if you came to the Reference Desk and talked to us about books!