Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads January 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 January 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Dear Edward :

Dear Edward: a novel

by Ann Napolitano

The Dial Press
ISBN:  9781984854780

“A dear, dear wonderous novel. Edward is The Miracle Boy, the only survivor of a plane crash. As he struggles to navigate the landscape of his new life, we hear the voices of those who didn’t make it. Napolitano is an amazing writer who deserves a wider audience. For fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (Bill Clegg),The Grief of Others (Leah Hager Cohen), and The Friend (Sigrid Nunez).”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Goldfinch by Donna Tart


Cover image for All the ways we said goodbyeAll the Ways We Said Goodbye: a novel of the Ritz Paris

by Beatriz Williams, Lauren Willig, and Karen White

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062931092

“Three time periods, three women, three authors combine for an absorbing read.  Aurelie is ready to fight the Germans during WWI.  Daisy, a woman with a collaborator husband, is embroiled in the fight against the Nazis. Babs, an Englishwoman in the 1960s, is anxious to find the truth about her dead husband.  For readers who liked The Alice Network and Sarah’s Key.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY
Novelist read-alike:  The Light Over London by Julia Kelley

Cover image for American DirtAmerican Dirt: a novel

by Jeanine Cummins

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250209764

“A literary thriller chronicling the migration of a mother and her young son.  Under threat, Lydia and Luca leave their middle-class life in Acapulco and begin a traumatic journey to the border, evading cartels, thieves, corrupt police, and others forced into malevolent behavior by extreme violence and poverty.  For readers who enjoyed The Other Americans (Laila Lalami) and And the Mountains Echoed (Khaled Hosseini)”.

Molly Riportella, Westwood Public Library, Westwood, MA
Novelist read-alike:  Lost Children Archive by Valerie Luiselli


Cover image for FollowersFollowers: a novel

by Megan Angelo

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525836268

“A thrilling satirical critique of societal values.  The timeline alternates before and after “the Spill”, a psychological terrorist attack using online data, and society is wildly changed.  But one thing is still the same — family is complicated.  For fans of The Circle (Dave Eggers) and Super Sad True Love Story (Cary Shteyngart).”

Jessica Rodrigues, Steger-South Chicago Heights Public Library, Chicago, IL
Novelist read-alike:  Touch by Courtney Maum


Cover image for HighfireHighfire: a novel

by Eoin Colfer

Harper Perennial
ISBN: 9780062938558

“Vern, a dragon living in the Louisiana swamps, may be the last
of his kind, so he tries to remain unnoticed. When teenage Squib
stumbles on Vern’s hideout, he ends up working for him and
keeping his secret. A fantasy with suspense, humor, and danger and
a heartfelt story about family and friendship. For readers who
enjoyed Anansi Boys (Neil Gaiman) and Bad Monkey (Carl Hiaasen).”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
Novelist read-alike:  Cat Out of Hell by Lynne Tuss


Cover image for How quickly she disappearsHow Quickly She Disappears

by Raymond Fleischmann

Berkley
ISBN: 9781984805171

“In 1941 Alaska, a woman whose twin disappeared 20 years earlier crosses paths with a sinister stranger threatening to reveal the
truth of what happened.  Does she dare risk what little she has left to save her sister?  For readers of moody thrillers such as Watch Me Disappear by Janelle Brown and The Dry by Jane Harper.”

Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ
Novelist read-alike:  Star of the North by David John


Cover image for Long bright riverLong Bright River: a novel

by Liz Moore

Riverhead
ISBN: 9780525540670

“A compelling literary police procedural set in an opioid-ravaged Philadelphia neighborhood and centered on the relationship between
two sisters whose lives have taken opposite paths. Your heart will ache as you grow to love the complex, strong, and incredibly vulnerable characters. For readers of Tana French and Dennis Lehane.”

Maggie Thomann, Northbrook Public Library, Northbrook, IL
Novelist read-alike:  The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh


Cover image for Love Her or Lose HerLove Her or Lose Her: a novel

by Tessa Bailey

Avon
ISBN: 9780062872852

“This story of a married couple losing–and then finding–their way together is beautiful, touching and hot, with just the right touch of comic relief. For readers of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.”

Carole Tossman, Howard County Library System, Ellicott City, MD
NoveList Read-alike: The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams


Cover image for When We Were VikingsWhen We Were Vikings

by Andrew David MacDonald

Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN:  9781982126766

“A beautifully written novel about a young woman–and unabashed Viking enthusiast–born with fetal alcohol syndrome. Zelda feels not quite ‘normal,’ but as she discovers through her quests, who really is? Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and The Silver Linings Playbook.”

Kat Neal, Tulsa Library, Tulsa, OK
NoveList Read-alike: The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood


Cover image for You Were There TooYou Were There Too 

by Colleen Oakley

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806468

“Mia is happily married to Harrison, but keeps dreaming about another man. One day her path crosses with this mystery man, and the results are devastating. This is a realistic, engrossing love story suited for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.”

Danielle Hansard, Public Library of Westland, MI
NoveList Read-alike:  One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads December 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

December 2019 LibraryReads List

Such a Fun Age

by Kiley Reid

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525541905

”Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, Such a Fun Age will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read: That Kind of Motherby Rumaan Alam

Africaville

by Jeffrey Colvin

Amistad
ISBN: 9780062913722

“Africaville is a settlement of Jamaican people run out of their homes by the British and dumped in cold, foreign Canada.  Colvin weaves the story of Kath Ella and her family through decades of ongoing racial prejudice and injustice, portraying the love among characters and the tenacity of some determined to fine happiness.  For readers who enjoyed Homegoing and The Underground Railroad.”

Lisa Casper, Highlands Ranch Library, Highland Ranch, CO
Novelist read-alike: Dominion by Calvin Baker


The Dead Girls Club

by Damien Angelica Walters

Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781643851631

“An engaging story, full of twists and turns.  Chapters alternate from Heather’s childhood experiences to her present to form the whole story.  More creepy than scary, pick this up if you want a story full of dread, suspense, childhood memories, death, and plenty of surprises.  For fans of The Turn of the Key and The Silent Patient.”

Rebecca Kelley, Richland Library, Columbia, SC
Novelist read-alike:  The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager


Good Girls Lie

by J.T. Ellison

Mira
ISBN: 9780778309185

“Sinister and atmospheric, this page-turner elevates the thriller genre with descriptive writing and well-drawn characters.  Ash arrives at the Goode School with secrets of her own.  Following an honor code is difficult enough (no lies allowed, but throw in secret societies and overly privileged students, and the scene is set for murder.  For readers who liked The Secret History and Watching You.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Library, Baltimore, MD
Novelist read-alike:  The Secret Place by Tana French


Husband Material

by Emily Belden

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525805981

“Charlotte, a young widow, is thrown for a loop when her husband’s ashes appear at her door.  As a coder for social media influencers, she develops an app to help find a mate but uses it to keep potential dates away.  And then a secret from her husband’s past threatens to destroy the tenuous ties of friendship and love she has found.  A fun read for fans of Kristan Higgins and Sophie Kinsella.”

Suzanne Christensen, Spanish Fork Public Library, Spanish Fork, UT
Novelist read-alike:  The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman


A Madness of Sunshine

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593099131

“With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride.  For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.”

Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL
Novelist read-alike:  The Dry by Jane Harper


Meg & Jo

by Virgina Kantra

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100349

Little Women‘s March family is brought into the present day.  Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer.  For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
NoveList Read-alike: The Spring Girls by Anna Todd


Reputation: a novel

by Sara Shepard

Dutton
ISBN:  9781524742904

“Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all:  scandals, affairs, and murder.  I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine.  For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies“.

Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington DC
NoveList Read-alike: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


The Wives: a novel

by Tarryn Fisher

Harlequin House
ISBN: 9781525805127

“Fisher has a knack for telling you a story where there’s no anticipating the twists and turns, and the The Wives was no exception.  A psychological thriller so immersive that I consumed it in a single sitting.  For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Silent Wife.”

Brie Hopkins, Newport Library, Newport, RI 
NoveList Read-alike: The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine


Would Like to Meet

by Rachel Winters

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525542315

“Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as a way to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process.  For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie.”

Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Library, High Point, NC
NoveList Read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

More Awesome Books

These are some of the books Methuen readers’ put in the AWESOME BOX and recommend:

 


2 Comments

AWESOME books recommended by YOU redux

The AWESOME BOX is brimming with, what else but, awesome summer reads!  These are some of the books recently recommended by patrons in the Methuen community.

If you’re returning a book (or CD, DVD, graphic novel) to the Nevins Library that your really enjoyed, please drop it in the special AWESOME BOX on the counter instead of the regular book drop and we’ll let others know how great it is.