Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: My Friend Dahmer

Cover image for My friend Dahmer :My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf

Told from the point of view of Jeffrey Dahmer’s high school classmate and semi-friend, Derf Backderf chronicled his time with serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer. Dahmer and Backderf were high school friends, yet Backderf had always felt a sort of uneasiness around Dahmer. Backderf wrote and illustrated this graphic memoir to show what Dahmer was like in his teenage years. We see the beginning of Dahmer’s downfall through Backderf’s point of view.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this graphic memoir. Backderf made several editions until he felt that this final copy was just right, as he wanted to get everything factually correct. He also did not want to be disrespectful of the victims, which shows, as he does not glorify Dahmer, as some might. It’s a must read for true crime and graphic novel/memoir enthusiasts.

∼Samm, Library Page

My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf
New York : Abrams ComicArts, 2012.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame October 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  October 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Crazy Stupid BromanceCrazy Stupid Bromance

by Lyssa Kay Adams

Berkley
ISBN:  9781984806130

“Another enjoyable addition to the Bromance Book Club series. One of the elements I like about this series is how the author uses the book club as a tool to analyze various themes within the romance genre.  This one was particularly good because it dealt with abandonment and forgiveness.”

Erica Naranjo, Sacramento Public Library, Sacramento, CA

Read-alike: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne
Read-alike: Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie


Cover image for In a holidazeIn a Holidaze

by Christina Lauren

Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982123949

“Mae and Andrew’s families always vacation together at Christmas. This year’s no different, except Mae keeps experiencing the same days over and over, à la
Groundhog Day. Can she get out of the loop long enough to tell Andrew she’s in love with him? Christina Lauren doesn’t disappoint!”

Michelle Magnotta, Greenburgh Public Library, Elmsford, NY

Read-alike: Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan
Read-alike: The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez


Cover image for Invisible girl :Invisible Girl:  A Novel

by Lisa Jewell

Atria Books
ISBN:  9781982137335

“A teenage girl disappears. A loner living where she was last seen is taken into custody. Case closed? Nothing is this book is that simple.  Jewell is a master at complex characters and plots that keep the reader constantly guessing.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alike: The Party by Robyn Harding
Read-alike: The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen


Cover image for Love your life :Love Your Life:  A Novel

by Sophie Kinsella

Dial Press
ISBN: 9780593132852

“Ava and Matt’s whirlwind romance at a writers’ retreat turns upside down when they return to London and really get to know one another. Kinsella delivers another charming rom-com full of quirky characters and lighthearted humor.”

Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL

Read-alike:  Would Like to Meet by Rachel Winters
Read-alike:  Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall


Cover image for Magic lessonsMagic Lessons:  The Prequel to Practical Magic

by Alice Hoffman

Simon & Schuster
ISBN:  9781982108847

“In the 1600s, witch/healer Hannah Owens finds a baby girl abandoned in a basket guarded by a crow. The resulting tale provides the backstory to the ‘Owens curse’ central to Hoffman’s 1995 novel. Those who’ve read Practical Magic will want a re-read after devouring this prequel.”

Donna Ballard, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

Read-alike: Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield
Read-alike: The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry


Cover image for The searcherThe Searcher:  A Novel

by Tana French

Viking
ISBN:  9780735224650

“Cal is an ex-Chicago cop now living in a small Irish town. His hopes for a quiet retirement are dashed when he’s drawn into local intrigue. With intricate plotting and an atmosphere thick as fog, this standalone combines the attitude of the Dublin Murder Squad with the politics of small town life.”

Caitlin Loving, Bedford Public Library, Bedford, NH

Read-alike: Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell
Read-alike: Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

Peterson’s Career Prep

The Merrimack Valley Library Consortium is pleased to introduce a new database, Gale’s Peterson’s Career Prep, to our arsenal of employment- related resources.

Peterson’s Career Prep accommodates job seekers at all levels, whether entering the workforce for the first time or searching for new opportunities after years of employment. This database is accessible for all mobile devices. Peterson’s Career Prep as some nifty features that can help you explore career choices and can pave the way to successful job:

  • The Visual CV Resume Creator allows users to create résumés and cover letters. You will have access to résumé samples from 5,000 industries!
  • Career Assessments contains assessments to help define your interests, values, personality, and workplace preferences. The Career Assessments tool can also help match your interests to appropriate college programs.
  • Career Database includes a database of career information that uses the most recent data available from O*NET and the U.S. Department of Labor. Potential career matches are suggested based on your assessment results. Includes helpful information for individuals transitioning out of the military and translating their skills to civilian occupations.
  • The Job Search tool provides listings (internship, part time, full time) that are sourced from Indeed and are updated daily.
  • The Virtual Career Library includes helpful articles and tips focused on writing résumés and cover letters, networking, and interviewing. Bonus worksheets and workbooks can be downloaded for patrons who want to dig deeper into career exploration or their assessment results.

Attributed to the Gale blog article by Kristin Fust, Product Manager

Funds provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads October 2020: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

 October 2020 LibraryReads List

Cover image for The invisible life of Addie LaRueThe Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

by V. E. Schwab

Tor
ISBN:  9780765387561

“Addie is an adventurer and not ready to settle for village life, so she makes a deal with the devil. Instead of relinquishing her soul, however, she becomes immortal, and also completely forgotten by anyone who meets her. Then, after a lonely 300 years, she meets Henry. For fans of the Shades of Magic series, The Time Traveler’s Wife, and Life after Life.”

Patti Lang, Pima County Public Library, Tucson, AZ
NoveList read-alike: The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North


Cover image for Black SunBlack Sun

by Rebecca Roanhorse

Gallery/Saga Press
ISBN:  9781534437678

“Fans of epic fantasy looking for something new will surely love the amazing world-building and strong characters in this pre-Columbian Americas story about prophecy, destiny, politics, and revenge, all with a healthy dose of magic.  For fans of Gods of Jade and Shadow and the Broken Earth series.”

Dan Brooks, Wake County Public Libraries, Raleigh, NC
NoveList read-alike: The Winds of Khalakovo by Bradley Beaulieu


Cover image for Confessions on the 7:45 : novelConfessions on the 7:45:  A Novel

by Lisa Unger

Park Row Books
ISBN:  9780778310150

“Serena finds out that her husband is sleeping with the nanny, and then confides in a mysterious woman she meets on the train. The woman continues to contact Serena as her world implodes. Who is this strange woman, and is she responsible for the mess Serena finds herself in? Full of twists, turns, and many POVs, this page turner is perfect for those who like Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Goodrich, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson 


Cover image for Goodnight BeautifulGoodnight Beautiful:  A Novel

by Aimee Molloy

Harper
ISBN:  9780062881922

“Dr. Statler, a psychologist, reformed womanizer, and new husband, is staring down his demons and trying to be a better man. Sam and Annie relocate to upstate New York to try their hand at a simpler life and to care for his dementia-ridden mother.  One night Sam leaves his office and never makes it home. For fans of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Silent Patient.”

Vanessa Phillips, Pelion Branch Library, Pelion, SC
NoveList read-alike: You Should Have Known by Jean Hanff Korelitz


Cover image for Leave the world behind :Leave the World Behind: A Novel

by Rumaan Alam

Ecco
ISBN: 9780062667632

“What appears on the surface to be a simple story of a family on vacation morphs into a narrative about humanity, shared fear, misconceptions of people, and more. Amanda, Clay, and their two children rent an AirBnB. Then homeowners Ruth and G.H. appear on the doorstep in a panic, and suddenly nothing is normal. For readers who
enjoyed Station Eleven and The Children’s Bible.”

Marika Zemke, Commerce Township Library, Commerce Township, MI
NoveList read-alike: Do Not Become Alarmed by Maile Meloy


Cover image for The Once and Future WitchesThe Once and Future Witches

by Alix E. Harrow

Redhook
ISBN: 9780316422048

“In a world where women and magic have been burned and bound, three sisters set about to bring power and rights back to women and in doing so, find their way back to each other. For fans of Uprooted and Circe.”

Melanie Liechty, Logan Library, Logan, UT
NoveList read-alike: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness


Cover image for Plain Bad HeroinesPlain Bad Heroines: A Novel

by emily m. danforth

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062942852

“A horror-comedy centered around a New England boarding school, follows characters across four different time periods exploring themes of sexuality, female agency, authenticity, and self-worth. For readers who enjoyed Bunny.”

Alicea Porterfield-Block, New York Public Library, New York, NY
NoveList read-alike: The Remaking by Clay McLeod Chapman


Cover image for Ring ShoutRing Shout

by P. Djèlí Clark

Tor.com
ISBN: 9781250767028

“Set in 1920s Georgia, this fantastical horror story follows Maryse Boudreaux. a bootlegger seeking revenge for the killing of her family who joins a motley group of soldiers in a battle against the Ku Klux Klan. For fans of Friday Black.

Anna Mickelsen, Springfield City Library, Springfield, MA
NoveList read-alike: Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

 


Cover image for Spoiler AlertSpoiler Alert: A Novel

by Olivia Dade

Avon
ISBN:  9780063005549

“Marcus, the star of a fantasy TV series, secretly writes fanfiction and becomes online friends with April, who he asks out on a date after a post of her cosplay costume goes viral. This delicious romance deals with topics like fatphobia, dyslexia and toxic families in a way that feels real and grounded, but which does not damper the triumphant happiness of the ending. For fans of Dangerous Curves Ahead.”

Christi Hawn, Naperville Public Library, Naperville, IL
NoveList read-alike: Well Played by Jen DeLuca


Cover image for The Wonder Boy of Whistle StopThe Wonder Boy of Whistle Stop

by Fannie Flagg

Random House
ISBN:  9780593133842

“Revisits the small town of Whistle Stop, Alabama. Dot, the postmistress, sends out a yearly Christmas letter and brings the former residents up to speed with one another. Each chapter focuses on a different year, from the thirties through the present day, tied together with Dot’s annual letter. For readers who enjoyed Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.

Sharon Hutchinson, Keytesville Library, Keytesville, MO
NoveList read-alike: The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues by Edward Kelsey Moore

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Libraries Working Towards Social Justice

World Day for Social Justice | Today (Friday, February 20, 2… | FlickrThe Nevins Library is proud to partner with seven local libraries to present a variety of virtual programs addressing topics related to social justice issues.

These thought-provoking lectures and discussions will help Merrimack Valley residents to think about and cordially address current events and troubling issues in today’s society. Patrons are welcome to sign up for any of these programs, no matter which community you live in (or if you live in none of the communities), anyone and everyone is welcome (you can sign up through the links on this page, or go to the individual libaries’ pages to sign up).

Partner Libraries: Haverhill Public Library, Lawrence Public Library, Memorial Hall Library, Stevens Memorial Library, Burlington Public Library, Tewksbury Public Library, and Wilmington Memorial Library.

Upcoming events at other libraries:

A Virtual Discussion of Carol Anderson’s ONE PERSON, NO VOTE – Andover Memorial Hall Library, 10/8 at 7pm

Professor Elizabeth Herbin-Triant of University of Massachusetts, Lowell will discuss Carol Anderson’s book, One Person No Vote: How Voter Suppression is Destroying Our Democracy. Find it in our catalog Elizabeth Herbin-Triantor on OverDrive. All are welcome, even if you’ve not read the book.

Health over Tobacco Industry Profits, Tewksbury Library, 10/13 at 5:30pm

For decades, the tobacco and vaping industries have strategically and successfully targeted Black, LatinX, and LGBTQ+ communities with their addictive products. Of these unjust tactics, the racial targeting of the Black community with menthol cigarettes has had the most negative impact. Fast forward to 2015 and current day, and the tobacco and vaping industry came out with electronic cigarettes to addict a new generation on nicotine with similar marketing tactics. This presentation will explore the history of injustice within the tobacco and vaping industries, and the action steps Massachusetts has taken to prioritize community health over tobacco and vaping industry profits.

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Panel, Part 2, Wilmington Library, 10/19 at 7pm

Jennifer Bryson, BU Education faculty member, Melanie Patterson, Boutwell & Shawsheen Schools Media Specialist, and Brittany Tuttle, the WML’s Teen Librarian, will lead this presentation on rethinking the media our families consume through an antiracist lens, encouraging participants to:

  • Rethink the media our families consume, including books, movies, and TV shows.
  • Discuss how our identities shape our responses to equity in our community.
  • Investigate the concept of mirrors and windows in our children’s texts/media.
  • Review and discuss problematic media.
  • Discuss race and representation with your children.
  • You will use what you learned here to continue the antiracist work we’ve started.

Voter Suppression with Dave Daley Virtual Event, Burlington Library, 10/22 at 7pm

Voter suppression did not end with Jim Crow. New barriers to the ballot box have been erected and these new barriers disproportionately affect racial minorities. Dave Daley, of FairVote and author of Unrigged, will speak about the tactics used to limit the ability of voters to exercise their right to vote.

Environmental Racism in Massachusetts, Wilmington Library, 10/22 at 7pm

Massachusetts has a reputation for progressive environmental policies, but these policies do not benefit all communities equally. Dr. Daniel Faber will discuss the disproportionate impact of environmental burdens such as chemical pollution and hazardous waste sites on communities of color in the state.

AntiRacism Virtual Book Group: Me and White Supremacy, Wilmington Library, 10/26 at 7pm

Based on the viral Instagram challenge that captivated participants worldwide, Me and White Supremacy takes readers on a 28-day journey of how to dismantle the privilege within themselves so that they can stop (often unconsciously) inflicting damage on people of color, and in turn, help other white people do better, too.

Read, or even start to read, the book and then join us to talk about the book.

Antiracism Doc Talk – White Like Me, Wilmington Library, 10/30 at 1pm

First, watch this documentary on Kanopy (for Nevins Library patrons we can help you get a BPL eCard to use their Kanopy subscription).

It is a stunning reassessment of the American ideal of meritocracy and claims that we’ve entered a post-racial society, Wise offers a fascinating look back at the race-based white entitlement programs that built the American middle class, and argues that our failure as a society to come to terms with this legacy of white privilege continues to perpetuate racial inequality and race-driven political resentments today.


Leave a comment

Harvest Decoration Contest

Harvest Decoration Contest

Presented by the Methuen Recreation Department and the Nevins Library

Build a scarecrow or decorate a pumpkin to adorn the library grounds!
This contest is open to all ages, and prizes will be awarded for the best creations!

Scarecrows
Scarecrows can be designed for two categories: “Traditional” and “Something a Little
Different” (e.g., humorous, based on sports or pop culture, etc.).

Please set up your scarecrow on the front lawn of the library; you will see stakes with numbers on them to indicate where displays should be placed (and you can use the stakes to support your scarecrow if you’d like). Be sure to make note of the number on the stake where you set up, and after set-up please go to the library’s website to register your display (signs in the display area will provide a link and a scannable QR code for registration).

Pumpkins
Pumpkins must be painted, or otherwise decorated, but not carved; you may use real or foam pumpkins. (Beginning October 14, a limited number of free pumpkins will be available for you to pick up at the library and bring home to decorate on a first-come, first-served basis, or you can use a pumpkin you’ve bought yourself.)

Please set up your pumpkin on the wooden pallets on the library grounds; you will see numbers to indicate where to place your pumpkin. Be sure to make note of the number you place your pumpkin on, and after set-up please go to the library’s website to register your display (signs in the display area will provide a link and a scannable QR code for registration).

Other Details
Display Set-up: October 19-22
Public viewing: October 25-31
Display retrieval: If you wish to take your entry home, please remove it from the grounds on November 1st or by November 2nd by 5pm.

Please keep in mind that this is a family event and do not submit designs that are political, religious, or violent. The Nevins Library reserves the right to take down any displays deemed inappropriate.


Leave a comment

2020 Friends Fall Book Sale

2020 Friends Fall Book Sale

 

The Book Sale is Back! Come in to Browse and Buy!!

Great Books. Great Bargains. Great Prices.

This year we’re doing things a little differently. Starting Oct 3rd the Great Hall will be open:

Saturdays from 10am-3pm (the 3rd, 10th, 17th)
Sundays from 12pm-4pm (the 4th, 11th, 18th)
Tuesdays from 10am-2pm (the 6th, 13th, 20th)
Wednesdays from 3pm-7pm (the 7th, 14th, 21st)

Through Oct. 21st

There will be limits to how many people are let in at one time to Browse.

And the same rules and restrictions that apply to the rest of the Library Building will be enforced at the Book Sale as well. They can be found HERE


Leave a comment

Banned Book Cover Re-Imagined: Bridge to Terabithia

The Nevins Library staff used their imagination and re-created some great banned book covers.  Check out this and all the other fun cover posts during Banned Books Week (Sept. 27-Oct.3, 2020)

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Arrow, Left, Direction, Turn, Sign, Symbol, Icon

Nevins Library Cover, 2020

Arrow, Blue, Right, Pointing

Scholastic, 1985

 


Leave a comment

Banned Book Cover Re-Imagined: Forever

The Nevins Library staff used their imagination and re-created some great banned book covers.  Check out this and all the other fun cover posts during Banned Books Week (Sept. 27-Oct.3, 2020)

Forever by Judy Blume

Atheneum Books for Young Readers;
Reissue Edition, 2014

Arrow, Blue, Right, Pointing

Nevins Library Cover, 2020

Arrow, Left, Direction, Turn, Sign, Symbol, Icon