Engaging Methuen Readers

Leave a comment

LibraryReads March 2018: top ten books librarians love!


March 2018 LibraryReads List

Let Me Lie

by Clare Mackintosh

Published: 3/13/2018 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451490537

“For readers who enjoyed Mackintosh’s I Let You Go and I See You, you most certainly will enjoy her latest suspenseful thrill ride. Anna has been struggling to get on with her life after her parents’ suicides when she starts to receive clues that maybe her parents did not carry out the heinous act that everyone believed they committed.”

KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT

The Broken Girls

by Simone St. James

Published: 3/20/2018 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451476203

“Parallel narratives, one set in Vermont 1950 and the other in Vermont 2014, are woven together in this intricate mystery. Timely themes of violence toward women and abuses of power resonate throughout. A well-crafted and unsettling tale for fans of Gothic horror and female centered thrillers.”

Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Minneapolis, MN

The Flight Attendant: A Novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Published: 3/13/2018 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385542418

“Cassie Bowden is a flight attendant with a drinking problem. Rock bottom comes when she wakes up in a hotel room in Dubai with a dead man next to her. Warning: do not read this on a plane!”

Marika Zemke, Commerce Township Public Library,
Commerce Township, MI

 Sometimes I Lie: A Novel

by Alice Feeney

Published: 3/13/2018 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250144843

“For fans of the recent psychological thrillers, The Woman In the Window and The Wife Between Us, comes another one that will keep you on your toes. I felt like I needed a whiteboard to keep track of the twists and turns.”

Robin Beerbower, Salem Public Library, Salem, OR


Burn Bright

by Patricia Briggs

Published: 3/6/2018 by Ace
ISBN: 9780425281314

“The latest installment in the Alpha and Omega series. The tension between humans and werewolves is ramping up and Charles and Anna are becoming more deeply involved in Pack business. For readers who enjoy Ilona Andrews and Kelly Armstrong.”

Shana Harrington, Las Vegas Clark County Library District, Las Vegas, NV


Sunburn: A Novel

by Laura Lippman

Published: 2/20/2018 by William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062389923

“Polly leaves her husband and child while on a beach vacation and winds up in a small town in Delaware with almost nothing. She gets a job at the local bar and starts a relationship with Adam, someone who seems to have landed in the town by accident as well. As the novel progresses, we learn of Polly’s past and soon you won’t know what to believe. Sunburn is a twisted novel that will suck you in.”

Annice Sevett, New Hanover County Public Library, Wilmington, NC

Every Note Played

by Lisa Genova

Published: 3/20/2018 by Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: 9781476717807

“Richard is a successful concert pianist who has contracted ALS and now his right arm is paralyzed. His wife Katrina takes on the role of reluctant caretaker. Theirs is a marriage filled with secrets, blame, loneliness and disappointment. The book is beautifully written and visceral in its description of the progression of ALS. Most moving to this reader was both characters’ impassioned relationship to music.”

Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleborough, MA

Girls Burn Brighter: A Novel

by Shobha Rao
Published: 3/6/2018 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250074256

“A beautiful tale of survival despite overwhelming destructive forces all around. After her mother’s death, Poornima is left to care for her siblings and father until her arranged marriage. When a free spirited Savitha enters, Poornima begins to imagine a different life. Told in alternating perspectives, the girls’ ambition keeps them going through unimaginable trials.”

Darla Dykstra, Mid-Continent Public Library, Independence, MO

Alternate Side: A Novel

by Anna Quindlen

Published: 3/20/2018 by Random House
ISBN: 9780812996067

“This book really captures contemporary New York, the increasing disparity between the wealthy Manhattanites and those who work for them and live in the outer boroughs, and the obsessive search for parking. The title hits exactly the right tone as “alternate side” has several meanings in this novel.”

Rosemarie Borsody, Lee Library Association, Lee, MA


by Christine Mangan

Published: 3/27/2018 by Ecco
ISBN: 9780062686664

“This novel brings to mind Hitchcock. This is the story of two women, friends in college, until an accident drives a wedge between them. Years later, Alice is living in Tangier with her husband when Lucy shows up. A twisted tale told in alternating points of view.”

Terri Smith, Cornelia Habersham County Library, Cornelia, GA



 Courtesy of


Leave a comment

Feats of Clay

Ah, March! Theoretically it’s warming up, but who’s to say when a snowstorm will hit? This time of the year defines unpredictability. What better time to develop a hobby? Get your hands dirty and make something gorgeous! Here’s everything you need to start making pottery – aside from the clay and equipment, of course.

pottery1The Craft of the Potter by Michael Casson

From hand-building to wheel-throwing, this book will introduce you to the mystical, manual art of pot creation. Become one with the ancient tradition of earthenware! Though some of its focus is on stunning examples of genius in clay throughout the ages, this book also features step-by-step guides to various pottery techniques.



pottery2Fired Up With Raku by Irene Poulton

Raku is how you make jaws drop. This stunning Japanese pottery finish technique relies as much on the will of the furnace as on the skill of the artist. What you create will be a collaboration between you and the spirit of fire. Plus, it’s metal as heck! (Seriously. A lot of the glazes you use in pottery are metal-based.)



pottery3.jpgThe Big Book of Ceramics by Joaquim Chavarria

If you’re looking for a good, all-in-one roundup of everything pottery, then look no further. This book is the soup-to-nuts guide to all things clay, including firing techniques, custom design strategies, and the history of claywork. Also, color photos!




sewingpotterySewing Pottery by Machine by Barbara Warholic

What? You say you’re not interested in getting fancy expensive dirt under your nails? Good! You can make pottery using nice, soft, clean, warm, cheap fabric. It’s true! It’s not hugely difficult to learn how to sew pots and the results look incredible. Plus, all you need is fabric, cord, and a sewing machine. What could be simpler? Now you can use your old clothes to make stylish storage solutions for all your yarn! #metacrafting

Leave a comment

Plant-Based Foods and You with Tracie Hines

Plant-Based Foods and You

with Tracie Hines

Monday March 19th, 7-8pm

Presenter Tracie HinesCurious about a healthy plant-based diet? Research suggests that a vegetarian or primarily plant-based diet can prevent many chronic diseases, including cancer, diabetes, and cardiovascular disease. Better yet, eating a plant-focused diet is an easy way to slash greenhouse gas emissions, saving the Earth at the same time as it saves your health.

Join us and Certified Plant-Based Chef and Food for Life Instructor Tracie Hines as we explore the wonderful world of plant-based cuisine. Tracie will share tips for nutrition and cooking, including recipes to take home, and discuss the many health and ecological benefits of plant-focused eating. Whether you’re a carnivore, vegetarian, or vegan, this program will satisfy your palate!

Tracie Hines is a Certified Plant-Based Chef, Certified Food for Life Instructor, and holds a Certificate in Plant-Based Nutrition as well as a B.A. Environmental Studies, M.R.P., Environmental Policy. Tracie worked in the conservation field for over 20 years and now teaches group classes in plant-based nutrition and cooking in and around Boston and leads plant-based tours to the Piedmont region of Northern Italy.  More information at

 To register for this program, CLICK HERE.  For more information, contact Anna at   978-686-4080 x12 or

Leave a comment

Book Review: 1-800-Where-R-You Series by Meg Cabot

Cover image for When lightning strikesThe book series opens on our protagonist, Jess Mastriani, getting into a fight over her best friend, Ruth. Jess is a tomboy, who constantly gets into fights at school, causing her to have detention everyday. While she sees these fights as justified, the teachers and guidance counselors see them as her allowing her temper to get the best of her. She defends those who aren’t able to defend themselves. This is a recurring theme in the series.

At the end of the school day, after her detention, Jess expects Ruth to drive them home. Ruth, however, has decided to walk home. Just as it starts hailing, they take cover under metal bleachers, and Jess is struck by lightning. Thus our story begins and Jess develops extrasensory perception to find missing kids. She wakes up the next morning knowing where two missing kids from the back of a milk carton are. Jess is an all around strong, kick-butt character who isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty or handle things on her own.

Her story isn’t without romance though.   Her crush, Rob Wilkins, whom she met in detention, is a bad boy from the wrong side of the tracks and is eighteen, two years older than Jess. And to top it all off, he’s on probation. Ruth comically refers to him as “The Jerk”.

As the series progresses we see Jess save lives, almost gets killed, arsons, and deal with her great aunt Rose. The series has a wide range of locations — from her small town in Indiana, to the summer camp she is a counselor at, to the back woods of her town, to New York and a Military base, and to a biker bar named Chick’s.  Jess is never at a loss for words or adventure, almost always with Rob or Ruth tagging along behind her.

This book series is well written, diverse, and without a doubt one of my favorite book series. I would recommend this series to anyone looking for realistic young adult science fiction or wild adventure.

Bistany, Nevins Library Page

First in series:  When Lightning Strikes by Meg Cabot