Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Tik Tok comes to the NML

The Nevins Memorial Library now has a TikTok account- @nevinsteens!

Tik Tok Social Media App - Free vector graphic on Pixabay

TikTok, for those who don’t already know, is a video posting and sharing platform where the content can range from mere seconds to three minutes. Users post all different sorts of videos, like acting skits, viral challenges, dances, storytimes, advice, and more! The typical age range of TikTokers tends to be teenagers and young adults, so we are gearing our account towards that audience.

On the nevinsteens TikTok account, we are posting content such as introductions to the librarians (in case you didn’t already know who we are!), book recommendations, and news about what is going on at the library. And yes, you will see some dancing librarians! Our goals with this new social media account are to reach a wider audience and appeal to the younger generations. 

Most, if not all, of the TikTok videos will also be posted to Instagram, so head over to our Instagram, which is @nevinslibrary, if you’re reluctant to download TikTok but want to keep in the loop!

Written by guest editor and Library Assistant, Samm.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads October 2021: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

October 2021 LibraryReads List

Cover image for All the FeelsAll the Feels: a Novel

by Olivia Dade

Avon
ISBN: 9780063005587

“Alex is an actor on a Game of Thrones-type TV show entering its final season. Lauren’s job is to keep him out of trouble. Their relationship develops over forced proximity, a road trip, and tons of fanfic tropes (only one bed!). This steamy romance, with flawed, genuine characters and sensitive treatment of mental health and body issues, is a delight from start to finish. For fans of Spoiler Alert, Girl Gone Viral, and One To Watch.”

Lauren Mitchell, Neenah Public Library, Neenah, WI
NoveList read-alike: Incense and Sensibility by Sonali Dev


Cover image for CackleCackle

by Rachel Harrison

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593202029

“Annie is floundering after an unexpected breakup and subsequent move to a small, quirky town. Her new friend Sophie is a little strange, but Annie is so happy to have someone who has chosen her that she ignores her concerns. This delightfully creepy fall story will work well for those who like paranormal fiction and light horror, and fans of The Year of the Witching and The Deep.”

Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI
NoveList read-alike: We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry


Cover image for Death at GreenwayDeath at Greenway: A Novel

by Lori Rader-Day

William Morrow
ISBN:  9780062938039

“In this departure from Rader Day’s usual thrillers, two young women, hired as nurses to care for a group of children, are evacuated to Agatha Christie’s country estate during WWII. Then a dead body shows up, and suddenly there’s no telling what is safe and who can be trusted. For fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: In Farleigh Field by Rhys Bowen


Cover image for The Death of Jane LawrenceThe Death of Jane Lawrence

by Caitlin Starling

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250272584

“Jane, a sensible young woman, decides that she must get married. Her first choice is Dr. Lawrence, but she soon discovers his dark, terrifying secrets and becomes engulfed in a tangled mystery of magic, ghosts, demons, and bizarre rituals. A well-written story for fans of gothic fantasy and horror like Gideon the Ninth and Mexican Gothic.”

Sandra Allen, South Community Library, St. Petersburg, FL
NoveList read-alike: The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell


Cover image for Last Girl Ghosted (Original)The Last Girl Ghosted

by Lisa Unger

Park Row
ISBN: 9780778311041

“Wren meets Adam on a dating app, and they seem to hit it off. After she tells him a secret, though, he ghosts her. She refuses to let it go and starts searching for him. What she finds is shocking, but she can match him in the secret department. Chilling, twisty,and hard to put down. Give to fans of Ghosted and The Couple Next Door.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library, Goodrich, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Date by Louise Jensen


Cover image for The Lincoln HighwayThe Lincoln Highway: A Novel

by Amor Towles

Viking
ISBN: 9780735222359

“In 1952, castoffs from a Nebraska juvenile detention camp embark on a road trip that takes them in different directions than initially intended. There’s so much genuine sweetness and aching loss in this exuberant book full of characters you’ll care about deeply. For fans of John Irving and Ann Patchett.”

Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR
NoveList read-alike: Last Bus to Wisdom by Ivan Doig


Cover image for Nothing But Blackened TeethNothing But Blackened Teeth

by Cassandra Khaw

Tor Nightfire
ISBN: 9781250759412

“This short, creepy haunted house tale, brimming with Japanese folklore, cleverly reveals the monstrousness in ordinary human callousness–we’re awful not from horrendous actions or beliefs, but because we just react and shout each other down. For fans of My Heart is a Chainsaw and The Toll.

Matthew Galloway, Anythink Libraries, Thornton, CO
NoveList read-alike: Slade House by David Mitchel


The Royals Next Door

by Karina Halle

Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9780593334195

“In this classic fairy tale with a twist, a prince and princess who became a cursed king and queen are given a second chance at a future. The storyline and characters are engaging, but it’s the beautiful, flowing writing that really stands out. Recommended for readers of Stardust and Kill the Farmboy.

Sandra Woodbury, Burlington Public Library, Burlington, MA
NoveList read-alike: Monkey Around by Jadie Jang


Cover image for Payback's a WitchPayback’s a Witch

by Lana Harper

Berkley Books
ISBN: 9780593336069

“Emmy reluctantly returns to her hometown to serve as arbiter of a magical tournament. But the town now seemingly has much more to offer, including a gorgeous witch. Will she be enough incentive for Emmy to stay? Romance and a well-developed magical system make this perfect for fans of TJ Klune and Seanan McGuire.”

Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA
NoveList read-alike: The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling


Cover image for A Spindle SplinteredA Spindle Splintered

by Alix E. Harrow

Tordotcom
ISBN: 9781250765352

“Harrow delights with a queer fractured fairy tale novella. Zinnia Grey, foreve robsessed with the Sleeping Beauty story, gets a spindle for her 21st birthday. When she pricks her finger, she’stransported to another dimension and finds a princess who’d rather not marry the dashing prince. For fans of Naomi Novik and Margaret Atwood.”

Jill Minor, Washington County Public Library, Abingdon, VA
NoveList read-alike: Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

New Language Resource: Pronunciator

Hello, Bonjour, Hi, Greeting, Foreign, Background

Hola! Nǐn hǎo! Asalaam alaikum! Namaste!

We have a new language resource at the Nevins Library.
It’s called Pronunciator, and with it, not only do you get the world’s most comprehensive language-learning service (164 languages to learn, 144 languages to learn them in), but, also their Naturalization test prep service, ProCitizen!

You can customize your language lessons from a quick 5 minute a day scheme to a master course. You can also personalize the lessons to reflect the vocabulary used in your occupation.

For ESOL speakers, this database can be a great way to learn English. The varied lesson plans, quizzes, etc. will help students learn to speak, pronunciate, write, and comprehend English. For those wishing to take the Naturalization Test, Pronunciator offers step-by-step test prep in their ProCitizen tool.

Whether you are fine-tuning your language skills or learning a new language for work, a trip, school, or personal development, give Pronunciator a try!

Also Available in Spanish.  

Pronunciator: Versión en español

ProCitizen: Versión en español


Leave a comment

Field of Honor @ Nevins Library

Come be dazzled by the Red, White and Blue colors flying in the Field of Honor at the Nevins Library!

This week, the City of Methuen paid tribute to local veterans and first responders by erecting a Field of Honor at the Nevins Library. This event (October 2-9, 2021), consisting of 175 American flags flying on the front lawn of the Nevins Library, was a fundraiser to benefit veterans and veteran’s events. Each flagpole features a customized dogtag with the honored person’s name, branch and years of service. There is a special “Row of Honor” dedicated to the 13 service people who lost their lives in Afghanistan. A well-attended dedication ceremony was held on October 2nd, kicking off Methuen Day, a day of celebration for the town.


Leave a comment

Stop Motion Animation Workshop for Teens

Stop Motion Animation Workshop (Ages 9-18)

Tuesdays Oct 5 – Nov 9, 2021 4:30-5:30pm

Learn how to make your own Claymation movies in this 6-week Stop Motion Animation Workshop! Each week, participants will work towards creating their own animation movie. At the end of the workshop, participants will have the chance to watch the movie they created.

This workshop is 6 weeks long, but feel free to only sign up for weeks that you are able to attend. Space is limited. Registration is required. Please use a personal email address (not a school email address), when signing up.

If your plans change after you register, and you won’t be able to come to the program, please call us at 978-686-4080 x35, or email acochrane@nevinslibrary.org, to cancel your registration, so that teens on the waiting list can take your place.

Please note: Unvaccinated individuals should wear masks when they attend library programs.

For more information, contact Alison Cochrane at 978-686-4080 x 35 or acochrane@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame September 2021

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  September 2021

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly LibraryReads list since 2013. When their third title places on the list via library staff votes, the author moves into the Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for The Last GraduateThe Last Graduate: A Novel

by Naomi Novik

Del Rey
ISBN: 9780593128862

“El and her friends start their senior year, and if their fix worked, they should have a fighting chance against the maleficaria, beasts that feast on graduating students. But the school seems to be out to get El, as she’s suddenly the only one being targeted by mals. Recommended for grown up fans of fantasy school stories that would appreciate the darker side of this one.”

Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA< /br>
NoveList read-alike: Master of Sorrows by Justin Travis Call


Cover image for No WordsNo Words:  A Novel

by Meg Cabot

William Morrow & Company
ISBN: 9780063082250

“In the 3rd installment in Meg Cabot’s Little Bridge Island series, readers get an inside look at the local Book Festival through the eyes of Jo Wright, a popular and prolific children’s book author who is confronting her literary nemesis, Will Price. The sunshine and sea air may change their relationship for the better! A super cute offering for Cabot fans!”

Jessica Breslin, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Bay Village, OH
NoveList read-alike: Beach Read by Emily Henry


Cover image for Portrait of a ScotsmanPortrait of a Scotsman

by Evie Dunmore

Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9781984805720

“A forced marriage, an assumed affair, and a trip north to Scotland bring about multiple revelations between Hattie, a radical bluestocking, and Lucian, a self-made Scotsman.  In this open-door romance, they learn to define what is important to both their emotional and sexual relationship. Dunmore does an incredible job of weaving in political and historical issues.”

Sarah Milner, Charleston County Public Library, Charleston, SC
NoveList read-alike: A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors

 


Leave a comment

Books Unite Us, Censorship Divides

Join us in celebrating, and recognizing, the freedom to read during this Banned Books Week September 26 – October 2, 2021.

“Reading—especially books that extend beyond our own experiences—expands our worldview. Censorship, on the other hand, divides us and creates barriers.”

Here’s some fast facts on censorship:

For more information on censorship, visit the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom.

Credit to ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom, Banned Books Week, for images and quotation.


Leave a comment

Donut Time!

Krispy Kreme Donuts in a Fundraising box and Friends of the Library Text

Back by popular demand, Krispy Kreme donuts return to the Nevins Library!

The Friends of the Nevins Library are sponsoring a fundraiser featuring Krispy Kreme donuts this Fall. Pre-order donuts at the Library’s main desk anytime until October 4, 2021, (OR at the book sale!!), and pick up your freshly baked donuts at the Library on Friday October 8th. Cost per dozen is $11.00, and please note that all orders must be pre-paid.

Krispy Kremes freeze well, so order a second dozen — we won’t tell!

All proceeds from this event will benefit the Friends of the Library and the programs they support.


Leave a comment

Suicide Prevention Awareness Month

September is Suicide Prevention Awareness Month. To help raise awareness and break the stigma of suicide, share resources, stories and support. Together for Mental Health! #Together4MH

  • If you or someone you know is in an emergency, call 911 immediately.
  • If you are in crisis or are experiencing difficult or suicidal thoughts, call the National Suicide Hotline at 1-800-273 TALK (8255)
  • If you’re uncomfortable talking on the phone, you can also text NAMI to 741-741 to be connected to a free, trained crisis counselor on the Crisis Text Line.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads September 2021: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

September 2021 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Under the Whispering DoorUnder the Whispering Door

by TJ Klune

Tor
ISBN: 9781250217349

“After dying of a heart attack, Wallace ends up in Charon’s Crossing Tea and Treats, a
shop run by Hugo the ferryman, whose job is to help people come to terms with
their death and cross over. Wallace learns and grows, becoming better in death
than in life. For readers who enjoy character-driven, humorous, and heartrending
stories and fans of A Man Called Ove, This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance, and Less“.

Andrea Roberts, Westhampton Free Library, Westhampton Beach, NY
NoveList read-alike:  Daisy Cooper’s Rules for Living by Tamsin Keily


Cover image for The Charm OffensiveThe Charm Offensive:  A Novel

by Alison Cochrun

Atria
ISBN: 9781982170714

“Charlie signed up for the reality dating show to rebrand his image. Little did he know he would fall for his producer, Dev. Can Dev and Charlie create the picture-perfect
romance on screen, or will their behind-the-scenes romance derail both of their
career plans? For fans of reality romance, One To Watch, and Something to Talk About.”

Kari Bingham-Gutierrez, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
NoveList read-alike: Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston


Cover image for Cloud cuckoo land :Cloud Cuckoo Land: A Novel

by Anthony Doerr

Scribner
ISBN: 9781982168438

“Several main storylines, all connected to a “lost” ancient Greek manuscript, are set in
15th century Constantinople, present day Idaho, and a spaceship in the future. Much
of the beauty of this novel is in watching the pieces slowly come together to tell an
eternal story that is both heartbreaking and hopeful. For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, and Cloud Atlas.”

Jenifer May, Secaucus Public Library, Secaucus, NJ
NoveList read-alike: Crossings by Alex Landragin


Cover image for Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the LawFuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law

by Mary Roach

W.W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9781324001935

“Roach once again proves that she is one of the best pop science writers out there. From door knobs to divine intervention, with some lasers and effigies thrown in for fun,
she chronicles the push and pull of the human/wildlife struggle for co-existence. You
will laugh, you will likely cry, and you’ll never look at Indian elephants quite the same
way. For fans of Bill Bryson and Sarah Vowell.”

Marianne Kruppa, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN
NoveList read-alike: Poached: Inside the Dark World of Wildlife Trafficking by Rachel Love Nuwer


Cover image for HARLEM SHUFFLE.Harlem Shuffle:  A Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385545136

“Read if you want a brilliantly plotted heist novel set in 1960s New York. The Harlem setting with its creeping gentrification is a significant part of the story. For readers who enjoyed Deacon King Kong and Black Bottom Saints.”

Jennifer Schultz, Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, VA
NoveList read-alike: Only the Strong by Jabari Asim


Cover image for The Last House on Needless StreetThe Last House on Needless Street

by Catriona Ward

Tor Nightfire
ISBN: 9781250812629

“In a boarded-up house on a remote street live recluse Ted, his daughter Lauren, Dee
(sister of a long-missing girl), and Olivia, a Bible-quoting cat. Wonderfully eerie and
twisted psychological horror, with an ending you’re sure you’ve read before (until you
realize you haven’t). For fans of Stephen Graham Jones and Shirley Jackson.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList read-alike: The Cabin at the End of the World by Paul Tremblay


Cover image for The Love HypothesisThe Love Hypothesis

by Ali Hazelwood

Berkley Jove
ISBN: 9780593336823

“Stanford scientists Olive and Adam begin fake-dating out of mutual convenience, but their relationship causes all sorts of issues on campus. Readers will grow to root for this brainy duo in neuroscientist Hazelwood’s romcom debut. For readers of The Kiss Quotient and The Rosie Project.”

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH
NoveList read-alike: A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole


Cover image for The man who died twice :The Man Who Died Twice: A Thursday Murder Club Mystery

by Richard Osman

Pamela Dorman Books, Viking
ISBN:9781984880994

“The competent senior quartet of The Thursday Murder Club returns, this time tracking
down stolen diamonds while dealing with a troublesome ex-husband, a local drug queenpin, the arrival of the mafia, and a growing number of murders. An utter delight.
For fans of The Postscript Murders and the Flavia de Luce mysteries.”

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA
NoveList read-alike: An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good by Helene Tursten


Cover image for Never Saw Me Coming (Original)Never Saw Me Coming: A Novel

by Vera Kurlan

Park Row
9780778311553

“A trio of psychopaths attending a Washington D.C. college take part in a study to
see if they can be taught to live productively. When a murderer targets campus,
they need to work together to determine if they’re among the hunted. This is a jawdropping, read-in-one-sitting thriller. For readers of Gillian Flynn and Caroline Kepnes.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD
NoveList read-alike: I Am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells


Cover image for No Gods, No MonstersNo Gods, No Monsters

by Cadwell Turnbull

Blackstone Publishing
ISBN: 9781982603724

“As creatures from myth and legend reveal themselves to be real, we’re reminded that people often are the actual monsters. Turnbull’s prose is gorgeous and lush, using
contemporary fantasy as a lens to examine real-world oppression and injustice.
For fans of Victor LaValle, Tade Thompson and Marlon James.”

Carol Ann Tack, Merrick Library, Merrick, N.Y.
NoveList read-alike: The Devourers by Indra Das

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org