Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Holiday Blues Are Real. Here Are Some Resources For Dealing With Them

Feeling down because of the holidays? You’re not alone! Holiday time is a major cause of depression, so much so that the disease has come to be associated with Thanksgiving and Christmas. There’s no need to mourn your negative feelings. You’re not a Scrooge or a Grinch, you’re just stressed out by the travel, eating unusual foods, and adjusting to family members you probably don’t see over the rest of the year. No wonder you need a minute!

These resources are meant to be useful, but they’re no substitute for expert care. If you need help right away, contact a mental health therapist, the Samaritans, or, if you feel that you might be in danger, 911. If you’re in recovery and struggling with proximity to alcohol, try contacting SAMHSA’s free national helpline.

 

The APA Holiday Stress Resource Center

This is the mother lode of holiday depression resources. Got an uncle who gets political? They have a resource for that. Worried that you’re going to destroy the turkey? They can help you there, too.

The Cleveland Clinic’s Guide To Managing Holiday Stress

This well-known clinic treats holiday stress like any other ailment: by itemizing the symptoms and treatment. This can be very useful for anyone who’s not sure if they’re just down or if their mood will pass with the old year.

Every Imaginable Holiday Stress Topic From PsychCentral.com

From being grateful in hard times to enjoying the holidays if you’re in recovery, this list of articles runs the gamut. If it doesn’t cover every single source of stress out there, then it surely must come close.

The Mayo Clinic’s Guide To Holiday Stress Management

From setting a realistic budget to doubling down on your healthy habits, the good doctors at the Mayo Clinic know how to manage the holiday blues.

Hospice Foundation Of America Holiday Grief Support

The holidays are particularly hard if you have recently experienced a loss. In this situation, it’s especially important for you to take care of yourself. Hospices across the country run special support groups around the holidays, but this web page can provide additional help.

Editor’s Note:  For locals, the Merrimack Valley Hospice will be having a special “Coping With the Holidays” grief support group Tuesday December 17th from 6:30pm to 8:00pm at St. Michael’s Parish in North Andover.  Free and Open to the Public.  For more information and to register, please call 978-552-4510.

Cat Cafes Across the U.S.

Sometimes you just need a moment to get away and de-stress. Use this North American directory of cat cafes to find a place to quietly drink a cup of tea and pet a kitty nearby. You can always tell your family you’re going out on a food run.


Leave a comment

LibraryReads December 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

December 2019 LibraryReads List

Such a Fun Age

by Kiley Reid

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525541905

”Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, Such a Fun Age will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read: That Kind of Motherby Rumaan Alam

Africaville

by Jeffrey Colvin

Amistad
ISBN: 9780062913722

“Africaville is a settlement of Jamaican people run out of their homes by the British and dumped in cold, foreign Canada.  Colvin weaves the story of Kath Ella and her family through decades of ongoing racial prejudice and injustice, portraying the love among characters and the tenacity of some determined to fine happiness.  For readers who enjoyed Homegoing and The Underground Railroad.”

Lisa Casper, Highlands Ranch Library, Highland Ranch, CO
Novelist read-alike: Dominion by Calvin Baker


The Dead Girls Club

by Damien Angelica Walters

Crooked Lane Books
ISBN: 9781643851631

“An engaging story, full of twists and turns.  Chapters alternate from Heather’s childhood experiences to her present to form the whole story.  More creepy than scary, pick this up if you want a story full of dread, suspense, childhood memories, death, and plenty of surprises.  For fans of The Turn of the Key and The Silent Patient.”

Rebecca Kelley, Richland Library, Columbia, SC
Novelist read-alike:  The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager


Good Girls Lie

by J.T. Ellison

Mira
ISBN: 9780778309185

“Sinister and atmospheric, this page-turner elevates the thriller genre with descriptive writing and well-drawn characters.  Ash arrives at the Goode School with secrets of her own.  Following an honor code is difficult enough (no lies allowed, but throw in secret societies and overly privileged students, and the scene is set for murder.  For readers who liked The Secret History and Watching You.”

Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Library, Baltimore, MD
Novelist read-alike:  The Secret Place by Tana French


Husband Material

by Emily Belden

Graydon House
ISBN: 9781525805981

“Charlotte, a young widow, is thrown for a loop when her husband’s ashes appear at her door.  As a coder for social media influencers, she develops an app to help find a mate but uses it to keep potential dates away.  And then a secret from her husband’s past threatens to destroy the tenuous ties of friendship and love she has found.  A fun read for fans of Kristan Higgins and Sophie Kinsella.”

Suzanne Christensen, Spanish Fork Public Library, Spanish Fork, UT
Novelist read-alike:  The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman


A Madness of Sunshine

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593099131

“With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride.  For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.”

Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL
Novelist read-alike:  The Dry by Jane Harper


Meg & Jo

by Virgina Kantra

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593100349

Little Women‘s March family is brought into the present day.  Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer.  For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.”

Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY
NoveList Read-alike: The Spring Girls by Anna Todd


Reputation: a novel

by Sara Shepard

Dutton
ISBN:  9781524742904

“Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all:  scandals, affairs, and murder.  I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine.  For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies“.

Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington DC
NoveList Read-alike: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake


The Wives: a novel

by Tarryn Fisher

Harlequin House
ISBN: 9781525805127

“Fisher has a knack for telling you a story where there’s no anticipating the twists and turns, and the The Wives was no exception.  A psychological thriller so immersive that I consumed it in a single sitting.  For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Silent Wife.”

Brie Hopkins, Newport Library, Newport, RI 
NoveList Read-alike: The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine


Would Like to Meet

by Rachel Winters

G.P. Putnam’s Sons
ISBN: 9780525542315

“Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as a way to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process.  For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie.”

Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Library, High Point, NC
NoveList Read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Memory Cafe: A Celebration of Holidays

A Celebration of Holidays

Friday December 13, 2019  at 1:00 PM

Get into the season at December’s Memory Café

There will be music to listen to, and we’ll create festive cards too!

This event is a welcoming place for individuals experiencing memory changes and their care partners.

For information on this, or upcoming memory cafe events, contact Kirsten  978-686-4080 x14 or kunderwood@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

Anxiety and Depression Comics

Feeling down? Read a comic book! Specifically, read one of these comic books about depression and anxiety. Hey, you’re not going through it alone!

Also, if your sadness and nervousness have been bugging you for a while, therapy can be really helpful. About 20% of Americans are in therapy at any given time. It’s a really common, popular, and effective way to manage your mood when it becomes overwhelming! Psychology Today has a great directory of therapists where you can search by location and filter by what issue you’re having, your particular type of insurance, your preferred gender, and more. We encourage you to check them out.

36005028. sx318 Anxiety Is Really Strange by Steve Haines

This functions as a good first anxiety book for a teenager or older child. It lays out how anxiety works from a physiological standpoint, especially in the nervous system. It’s part of a series that includes a similar examination of trauma.

9920411Depresso, Or, How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Embrace Being Bonkers by Brick

Tom Freeman, loosely based on Brick, is a mess. Anti-depressants are turning him into a zombie and alternative therapies are messing up his life. Still, if there’s a way out of depression, he’ll find it!

Cover image for Hyperbole and a half :Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh

Brosh is known as an Internet-famous humorist, but she also chronicles her struggles with depression in her signature MS Paint style. If you’re a fan of her blog, you’ll love the book, too.

Cover image for Just peachy :Just Peachy by Holly Chisholm

Anxiety and depression are a team in this lighthearted look at mental health. (The tall one is depression, and the winged one – well, you get the idea.) Includes a list of resources at the end!

 

40538944. sx318 Kind of Coping: An Illustrated Look at Life with Anxiety by Maureen Marzi Wilson

Panic attacks and social awkwardness are par for the course in this endearing biography of obsessive fear. Join Marzi on a surprisingly humorous journey through pointless terror!

1117355. sx318 My Depression by Elizabeth Swados

Educational and honest, this book talks frankly about the triggers, treatments, and trials of someone who personally struggles with the condition of depression. Like Depresso, it deals heavily with the side effects of medication.

39296124. sx318 Super Chill: A Year of Living Anxiously by Adam Ellis

You may know Adam Ellis through his webcomics, which enjoy very wide popularity across the Internet. Here, he discusses his anxiety, which is sometimes crippling and always tough to deal with.

 

27039276. sx318 When Anxiety Attacks by Terian Koscik

Here’s one where therapy really, really helps! Discussing coping mechanisms and “I” statements, this book is a great resource for people who aren’t sure if therapy is right for them. (hint: if you or your family or your friends think that therapy might be right for you, you might want to try therapy!)


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame Authors November 2019

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  November 2019

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

The Confession Club: A Novel

by Elizabeth Berg

Published: 11/19/2019 by Random House
ISBN: 9781984855176

“What starts as a simple supper club transforms into something special when one member reveals a very personal secret. Berg continues her Mason, MO, series with a story that exudes goodness, warmth and solid friendships. A surefire winner and hot book club pick!”

Ron Block, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Brooklyn, Ohio

Read-alikes:

The Summer Seaside Kitchen by Jenny Colgan
Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper
Chronicles of a Radical Hag by Lorna Landvik


The Family Upstairs

by Lisa Jewell

Published: 11/5/2019
by Atria Books
ISBN: 9781501190100

“Gothic and creepy, this is the tale of an aging London mansion taken over by a strong-willed con artist happy to prey on the minds of the eccentric family living there. I look forward to each Lisa Jewell release and The Family Upstairs does not disappoint.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alikes:

Lock Every Door by Riley Sager
The Au Pair by Emma Rous
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


Leave a comment

Baked Goods to the Rescue!

The Friends’ of the Nevins Library present:

An Old Fashioned Bake Sale

Tuesday November 26th, 2019

10:00 AM – 8:00 PM

Get ready for Thanksgiving with the Friends’ of the Nevins Library. We’ll have goodies of all kinds. From Coffee Cakes to cookies, to breads and rolls!  Come and get something delicious for a good cause!

Cash, Checks, and Credit Cards will be accepted!

Let Us Do Your Baking!

For more information contact Lois Jacobs at 978-686-4080.