Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Program: Understanding Alzheimer’s and Dementia

Understanding Alzheimer’s and Dementia

Monday October 21, 2019  7pm – 8:30pm

Alzheimer’s is not normal aging.  It’s a disease of the brain that causes problems with memory, thinking and behavior.

Join us to learn about:

  • The impact of Alzheimer’s
  • The difference between Alzheimer’s and dementia
  • Alzheimer’s disease stages and risk factors
  • Current research and treatments available to address some symptoms
  • Alzheimer’s Association resources

This is an education program presented by the Alzheimer’s Association.

To register for this program, CLICK HERE.  For more information, contact Sarah at 978-686-4080 x20 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org

Image result for alzheimer's association

Advertisements


Leave a comment

Author Event: Hallie Ephron

Author Event: Hallie Ephron

Thursday October 17, 2019  7pm – 8pm

We are pleased to welcome bestselling author Hallie Ephron back to the Nevins Library!  She will be here to discuss her latest thriller Careful What You Wish For.

A little about the book:

Emily Harlow is a professional organizer who helps people declutter their lives; she’s married to man who can’t drive past a yard sale without stopping. He’s filled their basement, attic, and garage with his finds.  Like other professionals who make a living decluttering peoples’ lives, Emily has devised a set of ironclad rules. When working with couples, she makes clear that the client is only allowed to declutter his or her own stuff. That stipulation has kept Emily’s own marriage together these past few years. She’d love nothing better than to toss out all her husband’s crap. He says he’s a collector. Emily knows better—he’s a hoarder. The larger his “collection” becomes, the deeper the distance grows between Emily and the man she married.  Luckily, Emily’s got two new clients to distract herself: an elderly widow whose husband left behind a storage unit she didn’t know existed, and a young wife whose husband won’t allow her stuff into their house. Emily’s initial meeting with the young wife takes a detour when, after too much wine, the women end up fantasizing about how much more pleasant life would be without their collecting spouses.

But the next day Emily finds herself in a mess that might be too big for her to clean up. Careful what you wish for, the old adage says . . . now Emily might lose her freedom, her marriage . . . and possibly her life.

Copies of the book will be available for purchase and signing.  Refreshments will be served.

To register for this program, CLICK HERE.  For more information, contact Sarah or Fran at 978-686-4080 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

Burgers for Benefits

Friends Fuddrucker’s Fundraiser

Fuddruckers Logo

On Tuesday October 15th visit the Fuddruckers at 436 Broadway, Methuen MA  from 5-8PM and present the flyer below and the Friends of the Nevins Library will receive

20% of your total meal price!!!!

Burgers for a very good cause!!!

To print out the flyer, either click on it, or click HERE.

Friends' Fudrucker's Fundraiser Flyer 2019


Leave a comment

LibraryReads October 2019: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

October 2019 LibraryReads List

The Body: A Guide for Occupants

by Bill Bryson

Published: 10/15/2019 by Doubleday Books
ISBN: 9780385539302

“A fascinating look at the human body and how it functions. Each historical tidbit is well-researched and thoroughly cited. Interesting stories, such as how diseases, cells, nerves, and organs were discovered, are woven throughout. For readers who like narrative nonfiction such as Gulp by Mary Roach, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, and Guts by Giulia Enders.”

Carolynn Waites, Manvel Library, Manvel, TX
NoveList Read-alike: Gross Anatomy: Dispatches from the Front (and Back) by Mara Altman


The Art of Theft

by Sherry Thomas

Published: 10/15/2019 by Berkley
ISBN: 9780451492470

“In this fun, playful series, Thomas has created a female version of Holmes who is vibrant, real, relatable, and intelligent. This fourth book has Holmes and Watson travel to France, with twists and turns the reader won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series and Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily series.”

Carrie Pedigo, Tippecanoe County Public Library, Lafayette, IN
Novelist Read-alike: Jem Flockhart novels by E.S. Thomson


The Butterfly Girl: A Novel

by Rene Denfeld

Published: 10/1/2019 by Harper
ISBN: 9780062698162

“Denfield’s writing is like lyrical poetry, with every word captivating. Add to this an amazing mystery, a plethora of suspense, and an ending that exceeds all expectations, and we have another 5 star book. For fans of What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan and Love You More by Lisa Gardner.”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Black Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin


Cilka’s Journey: A Novel

by Heather Morris

Published: 10/1/2019 by St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250265708

“A powerful follow-up to The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this story begins after the liberation of Auschwitz, when Cilka is sentenced by the Soviet liberators to 15 years in one of Stalin’s Siberian labor gulags. From one death camp to another–for doing what was needed to survive. For fans of Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly and We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter.”

Don Crankshaw, Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library, Evansville, IN
NoveList Read-alike: House of Meetings by Martin Amis


Imaginary Friend

by Stephen Chbosky

Published: 10/1/2019 by Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781538731338

“Christopher and his mom run from an abusive boyfriend and seek peace and quiet in a new town. Instead, Christopher becomes agitated and sneaks out at night, doing anything a “nice man” tells him to do. This is pure horror, a classic battle of good and evil, and a must for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, and Paul Tremblay.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList Read-alike: The Stand by Stephen King


The Library of the Unwritten

by A. J. Hackwith

Published: 10/1/2019 by Ace
ISBN: 9781984806376

“The ideas of books never actually written possess dangerous potential and power. They are kept in the Library of the Unwritten in Hell. Determined librarians tend the library keeping watch for escaped characters, angels and demons. For fans of Genevieve Cogman or Neil Gaiman.”

Jessica Trotter, Capital Area District Library, Lansing, MI
NoveList Read-alike: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab


Ninth House

by Leigh Bardugo

Published: 10/8/2019 by Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250313072

“Alex has always been able to see ghosts, and this talent uniquely qualifies her to become part of the Lethe, a group that regulates the eight magical societies at Yale. When a murder happens nearby the campus, Alex suspects that a society has their hand in this and it’s not just a normal homicide. For fans of urban fantasy and secret societies.”

Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA
NoveList Read-alike: Magic For Liars by Sarah Galley


Nothing to See Here

by Kevin Wilson

Published: 10/29/2019 by Ecco
ISBN: 9780062913463

“A funny, snarky narrator takes on the job of caretaker for kids with remarkable and strange abilities. Everyone involved learns that sometimes all we need after being repeatedly let down is someone to rely on. For fans of Chuck Kosterman and Gary Shteyngart.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList Read-alike: Gravity is the Thing by Jaclyn Moriarty


Ordinary Girls: A Memoir

by Jaquira Diaz

Published: 10/8/2019 by Algonquin Books
ISBN: 9781616209131

“Diaz was out of control. Her life was a never ending cycle of indifferent (or worse) parenting, street fights, abuse, drugs, arrests, alcohol, skipping school—all are detailed in this coming of age memoir. Reading this extraordinary memoir, I was reminded that no one can make you do something until you decide to on your own. For fans of Hunger by Roxane Gay and When I Was Puerto Rican by Esmeralda Santiago.”

Linda Tilden, Mt. Laurel Public Library, Mt. Laurel, AL
NoveList Read-alike: Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls by T Kira Madden


Tuesday Mooney Talks to Ghosts

by Kate Racculia

Published: 10/8/2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780358023937

“Engaging characters set off to follow the mysterious clues of the will of an elderly, wealthy eccentric for a chance at winning the grand prize. Young grief and loss, family guilt, secrets, and hilarity are featured throughout. Plus: ghosts! For readers who liked The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson and Lost and Found by Carolyn Parkhurst.”

Pamela Gardner, Medfield Public Library, Medfield, MA
NoveList Read-alike: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Methuen Day 2019

2019 Methuen Day

Saturday October 5th, 10 am – 4 pm

Come downtown to celebrate our City and all it has to offer.

It will be a day that Methuen families and citizens of all ages will enjoy, featuring demonstrations, interactive activities and a wide array of refreshments. Residents will learn about Methuen’s local organizations, businesses, and civic groups.

Methuen Day will also feature historical tours, a scavenger hunt, local talent performances, a parade and more.  Fun for all!

For more information, email methuenday@gmail.com or visit the City of Methuen webpage.