Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Native American Heritage Books: Non-Fiction

 

Advertisements


Leave a comment

Cookbook Book Club

Cookbook Book Club

3rd Tuesday of Each Month, 6:30 PM

Calling All Cooks!

Come join the Nevin’s Library’s Cookbook Book Club (say that 10 times fast!) with Pat Graham.

Check out a copy of the selected book or books at the Main Desk, pick a recipe, (email it to Pat to avoid duplicates) and prepare it for the program.

We’ll sample lots of good, interesting foods, talk about what worked, what didn’t and how to make it easier and healthier.

We will also discuss Restaurants we visited and critique them.

November’s Selection will be Favorite Family Thanksgiving Recipes that could be served to company!

Click Here for November’s meeting.  For more information, contact Patricia Graham at 978-686-4080 x16  or pgraham@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

LibraryReads November 2018: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

November 2018 LibraryReads List

My Sister,the Serial Killer:
A Novel

by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Published: 11/20/2018 by Doubleday
ISBN: 9780385544238

“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.”

Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ


The Adults: A Novel

by Caroline Hulse

Published: 11/27/2018 by Random House
ISBN: 9780525511748

“Divorced couple Claire and Matt devise a terrific idea for Christmas: spend it at Happy Forest Holiday Park with their new partners and their seven-year-old daughter Scarlett (and her imaginary friend). Hilarious and heartrending, this debut novel asks the age-old question: ‘What could possibly go wrong?’”

Todd Krueger, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD


The Best Bad Things: A Novel

by Katrina Carrasco

Published: 11/6/2018 by MCD/Farrar, Straus & Giroux
ISBN: 9780374123697

“Alma is a cross-dressing, bisexual, half-Mexican, badass woman who goes undercover in this historical fiction story set in 1887 Washington state. She lives life on the edge with gusto and nerve. An enjoyable ride for readers who like a fast-paced story and don’t mind graphic content.”

Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH


The Colors of All the Cattle: No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency

by Alexander McCall Smith

Published: 11/6/2018 by Pantheon
ISBN: 9781524747800

“Each new book in this series unwraps another layer of the lives of the minor characters. Along with solving the requisite mystery, Precious delves into local politics and comes to rely more on her family and friends for their input. A charming addition to this heartwarming series.”

Fran Hegarty, Peabody Institute Library of Danvers, Danvers, MA


Empire of Sand

by Tasha Suri

Published: 11/13/2018 by Orbit
ISBN: 9780316449717

“A modern take on the classic Disney tale of Mulan, this fantasy-adventure story features Mehr, a governor’s daughter who wants to make a name for herself and is passionate about saving the lives of those in her kingdom. Mehr’s unique magical powers make her a target and give the classic storyline a new twist.”

Megan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Lackawanna, NY


How Long ‘Til Black Future Month: Stories

by N. K. Jemisin

Published: 11/27/2018 by Orbit
ISBN: 9780316491341

“This first short story collection from the most celebrated speculative fiction author of our time features her signature blend of sharply observed, provocative tales of magic steeped in realism and social commentary. Both SFF fans and adventurous readers of genre-blending literary fiction such as Station Eleven and The Underground Railroad will find much to admire.”

Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL


The Kinship of Secrets

by Eugenia Kim

Published: 11/6/2018 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9781328987822

“A sweeping, historical, family saga in which two sisters are separated during the Korean War. One is raised in the United States and the other in South Korea. For fans of Pachinko.”

Cat Ng, Palm Beach County Library System, Wellington, FL

 


A Ladder to the Sky: A Novel

by John Boyne

Published: 11/13/2018 by Hogarth
ISBN: 9781984823014

“Enter the disturbing world of high stakes publishing and meet an author so twisted and unscrupulous you will beg for justice. For readers who like an unlikeable character and sardonic tone.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

 


Newcomer: A Mystery

by Keigo Higashino

Published: 11/20/2018 by Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781250067869

“Newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kaga is assigned a baffling murder. The story is told almost entirely through the perspective of people he interviews, gradually revealing the puzzling who, how, and why in this mystery. For fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Columbo as well as lovers of international crime novels.”

Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA


Someone to Trust: A Westcott Novel

by Mary Balogh

Published: 11/27/2018 by Berkley/Jove
ISBN: 9780399586101

“Love defies societal expectations in this historical romance set in the Regency period. For fans of Tessa Dare and Amelia Grey.”

Kathy Setter, Indianhead Federated Library System, Eau Claire, WI

Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Poppy Project Unveiling and Art Installation

Poppy Project Unveiling

November 11th, 2018

10:00 AM – 12:00 PM

This Veterans Day, Sunday November 11, marks the 100th Anniversary of the end of World War I.  To honor those Veterans, and all of our country’s Veterans, members of our Methuen Community (and beyond!) have volunteered their time and creativity in making this display of poppies.  Please join us as we officially open the Poppy Project Art Installation at the Nevins Library to the public for viewing.

Over 2, 000 (!) knitted, crocheted, and felt poppies will adorn the WWI Memorial Tree in Methuen, the eagle sculpture in front of the Library, and the library interior.

We would like to thank the many, many people and organizations who helped support this project in different ways, including the VFW Post 8349 Auxiliary, the Lawrence Ladies Lodge of the Sons of Italy, the Essex Art Center, and the Methuen Senior Activity Center.

Refreshments will be available.  The Art Installation will be available for viewing until Thanksgiving.

For more information, contact Sarah Sullivan at 978-686-4080 x20 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

Repair Cafe @ Nevins Library

Repair Cafe @ Nevins Library

Saturday, November 10th

 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM

Has that broken toaster or lamp been bothering you? Bring it to the library! Our first repair cafe will host a variety of volunteers who will try to fix your gadget for free.

Stop by for fun, friendly conversation, refreshments, and, of course, to save that beloved fixture from the trash.

For more information on what can be brought in, contact Anna Gooding-Call at 978-686-4080 x12 or agoodingcall@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: Something Real

Cover image for Something realSomething Real by Heather Demetrios

Ever wonder what it would be like to be famous? To have your own reality television show? Well, according to Bonnie™ Baker, it’s horrible. That’s right, her name is indeed trademarked. Bonnie™ and her eleven siblings have their own reality TV show called A Baker’s Dozen.  Since her birth, the show has been documenting all of their lives, up until her parent’s divorce. Now, Bonnie™ thinks she’s free of the reality (ahem, horror) show and the paparazzi, until she finds out her mom and step-dad sold their rights (again) for a reboot.

More than just a teen drama book, Something Real deals with mental illness, the rights of people, especially children, suicide, and the reality of it all. 

∼ Samm, Library Page

Something Real
by Heather Demetrios
New York:  Henry Holt and Company, c. 2014