Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

Books to Take You Away

For those of a certain age, you may remember the classic commercial for Calgone brand bubble bath  from the 1980’s.  Beset by heavy traffic, a difficult boss, and a crying baby, a working woman voices the famous plea, “Calgone, take me away!”.  Cut to the woman luxuriating in a bubble bath, her problems slipping away in this moment of bliss…

During this time of uncertainty and stress, my “Calgone” of choice is immersive books that take me away to a different place and time.  Here are three of my recent favorites:

Cover image for Virgil WanderVirgil Wander by Leif Enger (2018)

“Virgil Wander survives a car crash with some speech and memory problems, and encounters a kite-flying stranger searching for information about his long-lost son. Enger explores and intricately layers the feelings and stories of an entire town full of people, each trying to survive their own life-changing experiences.” — Elizabeth Isabelle, DeKalb County Public Library System (October 2018,  Libraryreads.org)

The small Minnesota town in which this story is set feels like one of its quirky characters, broken-down and ready for rebirth.   A touch of magical realism, whimsy, and engaging characters make this an uplifting reading experience.  The audio book, narrated by MacLeod Andrews, is mesmerizing and casts a cozy, homey spell.

Cover image for With the fire on highWith the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo (2019)

“In a distinct, perceptive, and vulnerable first-person narrative, Emoni, a young single mom being raised by her grandmother while raising her own daughter, relates the story of her last year of high school in vignettes and short chapters, trading off between sharing bits of the story and her musings about her life and her future. Emoni has a gift for cooking, and her food, like magic, conjures emotions in people she shares it with. Her teachers, friends, and family are all ready to support her when the subject of culinary arts schooling comes up, but the one Emoni needs to learn to trust is herself.” –Kristina Pino (Reviewed 3/15/2019 for Booklist)

This book has beautiful writing (“Acevedo’s keen, stirring prose reads like poetry and demands to be read slowly”), interesting and complex characters, realistic depiction of a young woman juggling her responsibilities and opportunities, and most important for me, a warm embracing atmosphere.  Though complicated at times, the love between ‘Buela, Emoni, Angelica and Baby Girl, is visceral and I find great comfort in being included in their extended family.  The audio rendition is read by the author.

Cover image for The lost manThe Lost Man by Jane Harper (2019)

“Meeting at the remote fence line separating their cattle ranches on an isolated belt of the Australian outback, two brothers navigate the haunting realities of the isolation that ended their third brother’s life.” (Novelist)

This is a gritty, dark rural noir that vividly transports you to the harsh and unforgiving Western Australian desert.  Even though the outback setting conjures images of stocking up and hunkering down that may provide eerie parallels to our current situation, it is appropriate to the dramatic landscape so evocatively brought to life here.

 

All the titles described above may be downloaded in either ebook or eaudio format through the free Overdrive app.

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment

US Census: Everyone Counts!

If you haven’t already done so, now is the time to submit your US Census Form.

Every 10 years the United States conducts a Census which is mandated in the Constitution. The 2020 Census will count the population in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and five U.S. territories (Puerto Rico, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands). Each home will receive an invitation to respond to a short questionnaire—online, by phone, or by mail.

Contrary to popular belief the Census will not ask for information such as your social security number, bank account or immigration status. All they want to know is how many people are living in the area at the time of the count.  For tips on avoiding fraud and scams, click here.

Why fill out the Census?:

  • Census data informs federal funding for more than 100 programs, including school lunches, highway construction, and education.
  • Census data impacts voting and political representation. As a result of population changes between 2000 and 2010, eight states gained seats in the House of Representatives and 10 states had fewer seats in the House of Representatives.
  • Census data helps to determine the allocation of funds for Medicaid, Head Start, block grants for community mental health services, and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, also known as SNAP.
  • Census data will be valuable to businesses, by providing a rich set of data on the communities they serve, including population trends and growth projections.
  • Census data helps to determine the allocation of funding to local police departments, fire departments, and hospitals.

Do you need to fill out the Census? You bet you do!  Be sure to count all members of your family too, no matter how old or young.

If you don’t want to fill it out online you can complete the form and mail it in, or, call the Census Bureau number on the form and answer the questions over the phone.

To help our community to continue receiving funds for schools, hospitals, emergency services and health care needs, please fill out the Census.

Our community counts on it!


Leave a comment

Scholarship 2020: Walter “Red” Winn Memorial

Walter “Red” Winn Memorial Scholarship

Given by the Trustees of the Nevins Memorial Library

https://nevinsbuzz.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/walterwinnscholarship402x-637x265-2.jpg

Think beyond the COVID-19 virus and apply for this scholarship, if appropriate.

Please submit applications to the Library by April 24, 2020

In 2008, the Trustees of the Nevins Library established a scholarship in Walter Winn’s memory to help a Methuen student continue his or her education in a two- or four-year college, or a trade or professional school. The student who best exemplifies the qualities embodied by Walter “Red” Winn will be chosen by a committee made up of family, Library staff, and Trustees. Special consideration may be given to individuals who have volunteered or worked at the Nevins Library.

Walter “Red” Winn was a lifelong resident of the Merrimack Valley who gave many years of service to the City of Methuen through his work, volunteer activities, and selfless devotion to the people of the community. His work at the Nevins Library, the Tenney Gatehouse, the Methuen Memorial Music Hall, Cedars Home, and Phillips Academy brought him into contact with hundreds of people each year, all of whom remember him with great respect and love. He gave many hours of volunteer service to the Methuen Historical Society, the Festival of Trees, the Methuen Historic District Commission, youth sports, and other groups and activities in the community too numerous to list. Red was devoted to family and friends, and exemplified the qualities of integrity, honesty, hard work, loyalty, and kindness. Red passed away suddenly and unexpectedly on March 9, 2008.

Scholarship Criteria:

  • Methuen resident graduating from high school
  • Interest in local history and/or demonstrated community service
  • High School Senior planning to attend a two- or four-year accredited institution for further study within one year of graduation
  • Completed application (below), including completion of a 200-word statement on the importance of community and service
  • Submit one copy of high school transcript

The award minimum is $250.00. Applications are generally available March-April and the award is announced in the month of June. This website will be updated accordingly and applications will be available here on the Nevins website or at the local high school.

Click Here for the Red Winn Memorial Scholarship application.

Please submit applications to the Library by April 24, 2020


Leave a comment

One Minute Book Review: Ghoster by Jason Arnopp

Cover image for GhosterGhoster by Jason Arnopp offers a contemporary twist on the horror genre as we know it. With the dual meaning of the title, making reference to the internet term “ghosting”, as well as referring to actual supernatural entities, this novel sheds a spotlight on the reliance on our devices that we face today as a society. Through the eyes of Kate Collins, we are able to see the potential consequences of online dating and not knowing exactly who you’re talking to online. A whirlwind of internet stalking, cellphone addiction, possible murder, and supernatural occurrences, Ghoster will capture your attention from the first page and hold it until the very last.

∼ Brianna, Library Page

Ghoster by Jason Arnopp
New York : Orbit, 2019


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame March 2020

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  March 2020

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly list since 2013. As of the October 2018 list, when an author’s third title places on a monthly list via library staff votes, the author moves into our Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for Eight perfect murders :

  Eight Perfect Murders

by Peter Swanson

William Morrow
ISBN: 9780062838209

“Malcolm writes a blog post about eight crime novels featuring “perfect” murders. Years later,an FBI agent tells him a killer is mimicking the books on his list. In an homage to classic mysteries, Swanson creates an artful tale of murder.”

Amy Whitfield, Cary Regional Library, Cary NC

Read-alikes:

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew Sullivan
The Oxford Murders by Guillermo Martínez
Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

 

Cover image for The Honey-Don't List

The Honey-Don’t List

by Christina Lauren

Gallery Books
ISBN: 9781982123918

“Imagine a world in which two HGTV-style design gurus have a terrible marriage and their assistants have to keep everything from falling apart. This is a super-fun, fast,and easy read.”

Maria Maia, River Forest Public Library, River Forest, IL

Read-alikes:

Playing House by Ruby Lang
Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey
Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

 

Cover image for The Red Lotus

The Red Lotus: a novel

by Chris Bohjalian

Doubleday Books

ISBN:  9780385544801

“In the aftermath of her boyfriend’s disappearance in contemporary Vietnam, a New York ER doctor discovers the shocking truth about his secret life. This is an exciting edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you reading well into the night.”

Marion Sheehan, Canterbury Public Library, Canterbury, CT

Read-alikes:

Outbreak by Robin Cook
The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer
Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

 

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors


2 Comments

Nevins Library: what we can do for you during the Coronavirus Crisis

After closely working with the City and the Mayor’s Office here’s what we’re doing at the Nevins Library to help combat the Coronavirus:

*Starting Monday, March 16th we are cancelling ALL programs from now until a tentative reopening around March 30th. If you are signed up for one of our programs, Children’s, Teen, or Adult, you hopefully have either gotten a call or an email based on what you signed up with.

*Also starting on Monday, March 16th we will be partially closed. If you went through our small water problem during the summer it will be much like that:

*The Lobby and path to the Main Desk will be open Monday-Friday from 10am-6pm

*You can return books, and you can pick up your holds as well.

*If you are picking something up, we recommend that you call first, and we can have it ready for you.

*There will also be staff at all the desks ready, waiting, and able to take your calls if you want us to pull a book from the shelf.

*On and around March 28th we will be re-evaluating the situation and determining if we will open again or stay closed.

*The Book Sale will not be happening from March 20-March 24. And the library Cannot accept Donations for it at this time either. Stay tuned for new dates for it.

 

Thank you to all our patrons for your understanding! And we hope that everyone stays healthy and safe.

And, if you have any questions or concerns that have not been addressed here, feel free to contact us 978-686-4080


While we will happily pull things from the shelves for you to read, remember, we’re not just a physical space anymore either. We have many things that you can do from home, all you need is a Methuen Library card.

libby logoOverdrive/Libby – Not only can you read eBooks and listen to Audiobooks through Libby (all you need is a phone or tablet), but, now you can read magazines through the app as well! It’s a one stop shop for all sorts of entertaining things.

Mango "M" Logo with Mango in small letters underneathMango Languages– It’s a fun language learning program teaching practical conversation and cultural awareness for the world’s most popular languages including English.

Gale Databases – If you’re working on homework these databases provided by the state have many different journals, magazines, even newspapers, and some academic books too. Your teachers and professors will smile when they see you haven’t used Wikipedia.

Freegal LogoFreegal – You can download 5 free songs a week with this app or on their website.

 

Here’s a LINK to all our Online Databases. Or, just go to our Website and poke around a little. I think that you’ll be surprised by how many different things you can see and do through it.


Here are some more links to COVID-19 Resources:

Massachusetts Department of Public Health Page

Center for Disease Control and Prevention Page

City of Methuen Health Department Page

Steps to Prevent Illness (CDC)


Leave a comment

2020 Spring Book Sale!

IT’S BAAAACK!!!:  The Friends Spring 2020 Book Sale

It’s back and bigger than ever!  For the first time ever, the Friends are offering 5 whole days of sale, including a preview and two bargain days.

Great Books, Great Bargains, Great Prices!

Friday March 20, 2020                 5pm – 8pm (Paid Preview Night, $20 entrance fee)

Saturday March 21, 2020             9am – 5pm

Sunday March 22, 2020               12pm – 4pm

Monday, March 23, 2020             9am – 8pm (Bargain Day)

Tuesday, March 24, 2020             9am – 8pm (Bargain Day)

 

Books, puzzles, CDs & DVDs and more…

Proceeds benefit library programs and services!

Credit Cards Now Accepted — $5 Minimum