Nevinsbuzz

Engaging Methuen Readers


Leave a comment

LibraryReads August 2022: top ten books librarians love!

LibraryReads_banner1_hor

August 2022 LibraryReads List

Cover image for Love on the BrainLove on the Brain

by Ali Hazelwood

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593336847

“Bee’s worked hard to get her big break leading a NASA project. However, she learns that she’ll be working with Levi, an old
acquaintance who detests her. Or does he? Hazelwood’s done it again with another fantastic romance filled with the real-world struggles of being a woman in STEM. For fans of Helen Hoang and Christina Lauren.”

Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, CO
NoveList read-alike: The Marriage Code by Brooke Burroughs


Babel: Or the Necessity of Violence: An Arcane History of the Oxford Translators’ Revolution

by R.F. Kuang

Harper Voyager
ISBN: 9780063021426

“What power do words really have? Kuang explores this question in a unique standalone fantasy where a magical system drawn from translation and silverwork fuels colonialism. With beautiful writing and well-developed characters, this is a fabulous book. For readers of Katherine Addison, Zen Cho and N.K. Jemisin.”

Danielle Deaver, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Bethesda, MD
NoveList read-alike: The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake


Cover image for The Couple at Number 9The Couple at Number 9: A Novel

by Claire Douglas

Harper Paperbacks
ISBN:  9780063138148

“Pregnant Saffy and her partner Tom are thrilled when her ailing grandmother gives them a cottage to make their home–until they find two bodies buried on the property. Featuring multiple points of view and realistic characters, the latest twisty thriller from Douglas will appeal to fans of taut page-turners like The Turn of the Key and The Guest List.”

Amy Medeiros, Westport Free Public Library, Westport, MA
NoveList read-alike: The Witch Elm by Tana French


Cover image for Daisy DarkerDaisy Darker: A Novel

by Alice Feeney

Flatiron Books
ISBN: 9781250843937

“Darker isn’t just Daisy’s surname: it’s the mood of this closed-room mystery as Daisy’s family members die one by one at a remote island home. Deftly told, this nod to Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None mixes suspense and secrets with heartbreaking and poignant observations about family and childhood.”

Jennifer Ohzourk, West Des Moines Public Library, West Des Moines, IA
NoveList read-alike: The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse


Cover image for The Hookup PlanThe Hookup Plan

by Farrah Rochon

Forever
ISBN: 9781538716687

“Dedicated pediatric surgeon London looks to de-stress through a no strings-attached hookup with her former high school nemesis (and current millionaire) Drew. But Drew wants more than a one-night stand. London jumps off the page with her vibrant personality, and it’s fun to see a man pursuing a woman in an enemies to lovers tale. For fans of Abby Jimenez and Talia Hibbert.”

Hannah Spratt, New York Public Library, New York, NY
NoveList read-alike: How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams


Cover image for Husband MaterialHusband Material

by Alexis Hall

Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781728250922

“Luc has grown up and feels the pressure to get married. Oliver is still a devoted boyfriend, but his problems are now acknowledged. It’s great to see character development even in minor characters, and how they’ve progressed in the two years since Boyfriend Material.”

Claire Sherman, Clearwater Countryside Library, Clearwater, FL
NoveList read-alike: True Colors series by Annabeth Albert


Cover image for The Last HousewifeThe Last Housewife: A Novel

by Ashley Winstead

Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN: 9781728229911

“When yet another of her college roommates turns up dead, Shay investigates with the help of her BFF true crime podcaster. Will Shay find answers in her past, which includes a misogynistic sex cult, or will she be lured back in? Psychological thriller fans, take this to the beach! For fans of I’ll Be You or This Might Hurt.”

Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD
NoveList read-alike: Don’t Call It a Cult by Sarah Berman


Cover image for Other BirdsOther Birds: A Novel

by Sarah Addison Allen

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250019868

“To keep a connection to her late mother, Zoey moves into her old apartment on Mallow Island, S.C. The complex and its residents are characters, too. This book is a quick and sweet read about the stages of love from the tickle of a spark to the longing its absence can bring.”

Sara Schettler, Scottsdale Public Library, Scottsdale, AZ
NoveList read-alike: Midnight at the Blackbird Café by Heather S. Webber


Cover image for ShutterShutter

by Ramona Emerson

Soho Crime
ISBN: 9781641293334

“Rita Todacheene, a crime scene photographer for the Albuquerque PD, can communicate with the dead. Her latest job involves a woman who allegedly killed herself… but she won’t leave Rita alone. A cinematic thriller set on the edge of the Navajo Nation, Emerson’s debut is a must-read.”

Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, KS
NoveList read-alike: When the Reckoning Comes by Latanya McQueen


Cover image for The Very Secret Society of Irregular WitchesThe Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches

by Sangu Mandanna

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593439357

“Mika is one of the few witches secretly living in Britain when someone reaches out for help teaching three young witches. She becomes entangled in the lives of her pupils and the household, including the handsome yet grouchy librarian Jaime. A cozy romance for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Danielle Geiger, Brentwood Public Library, Brentwood, TN
NoveList read-alike: Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper

 

 Courtesy of LibraryReads.org


Leave a comment

Virtual: A Trip To Norway with The Traveling Librarian

We’re off to Norway!

Tuesday August 16, 2022 2pm

Join Jeff Klapes, the Traveling Librarian, for another of his popular armchair travel presentations. This series highlights travel photography and stories and travel tips about destinations around the world. This month, journey to Norway, the Land of the Midnight Sun. From the eminently livable capital of Oslo, over the mountains to the historic port of Bergen, Norway’s scenery is staggering in its beauty. The coastal towns and rural farms nestled in the northern fjord country are not to be missed.

Jeff is the recently retired Head of Reference Services at the Lucius Beebe Memorial Library in Wakefield and an avid traveler and photographer.

Register here for this program via zoom

For more information, contact Sue at 978-686-4080 x12 or sjuknavorian@nevinslibrary.org

Presented in collaboration with Tewksbury Public Library and Sponsered by the Friends of the Tewksbury Public Library


Leave a comment

Author Event: S. Hilbre Thomson

The Nevins Library Presents:

S. Hilbre Thomson, Local Author

Tuesday Aug 16, 2022 6:30pm – 8pm

Please join us as we welcome local author S. Hilbre Thomson to the Nevins Library!  Ms. Thomson will be here to talk about her new thrilling novel Trevor.

A little about the book:

Unable to escape his past, Matt Stone heads North leaving behind the memory of his dead wife and son. His journey takes a turn when he comes across his late son’s doppelganger; Trevor Reed. Blinded by the resemblance, Matt becomes obsessed and begins stalking him. Little does Trevor know, he becomes wrapped up in Matt’s delusions. Concerned, Trevor’s mom, Jesse, enlists the help of the local authorities to keep him safe. Despite the involvement of police and eventually the inclusion of the FBI and an enthusiastic reporter, Trevor disappears. The Reeds will do anything to get their son back which results in a chase starting in the suburbs of Boston, Massachusetts to an Island on Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire. Will their efforts be enough? Will they find Matt and Trevor? Or will they be too late?

Copies of the book will be available for purchase and signing. 

Please register for this live author event here.

For more information, contact Sarah Sullivan at 978-686-4080 or ssullivan@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

Yoga, Y’all!

Community Yoga

Silhouette of woman performing the one-legged prayer yoga pose in front of an orange sunset and the sun low in the sky

Please join us for Community Yoga with certified instructor Kristin Cole! This is a free 6 week series is designed for participants of all skill levels and will focus on mobility and movement, with some gentle poses that increase strength without feeling too strenuous. Kristin will emphasize moving in a healthy way that feels good for everyone, and will offer multiple options and modifications.

Participants should wear comfy clothes, and bring water and a yoga mat. There will be some mats available to borrow, but it is best to bring one with you if you can. This program is open to anyone over age 16.

Classes will be held every Tuesday, August 2 – September 6, at 6:30pm. You need not attend each session, but please register for each session you can attend, as space is limited.

Registration Links:

Community Yoga August 2nd at 6:30pm

Community Yoga August 9th at 6:30pm

Community Yoga August 16th at 6:30pm

Community Yoga August 23rd at 6:30pm

Community Yoga August 30th at 6:30pm

Community Yoga September 6th at 6:30pm


Leave a comment

LibraryReads: Hall of Fame July 2022

LibraryReads Hall of Fame:  July 2022

The LibraryReads Hall of Fame designation honors authors who have had multiple titles appear on the monthly LibraryReads list since 2013. When their third title places on the list via library staff votes, the author moves into the Hall of Fame.

 

Cover image for The BodyguardThe Bodyguard: A Novel

by Katherine Center

St. Martin’s Press
ISBN: 9781250219398

“Hannah, a bodyguard with an elite firm, is hired to protect Jack, a celebrity who has a crazy stalker. Predictably, their pretend relationship develops into a real one, but the twists and turns it takes are fun and interesting. A heartwarming story for fans of The Unhoneymooners and The Hating Game.”

Sandy Ruhmann, Allen Park Public Library, Allen Park, MI
NoveList read-alike: All the Feels by Olivia Dade


Cover image for The Daughter of Doctor MoreauThe Daughter of Doctor Moreau

by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Del Rey Books
ISBN: 9780593355336

“Carlota Moreau is the daughter of a scientist who runs morally ambiguous experiments on his jungle estate on the Yucatán peninsula. Though she lives in luxury, she has questions about her father’s secrets. Her story is revealed through hallucinatory episodes from alternating perspectives. The surreal setting is infused with historical realism that conveys the opulence enjoyed by the Moreau family and their patrons. This genre blend of horror and adventure is in the spirit of the HG Wells classic that inspired it. For fans of Chapelwaite.”

Jeff Corber, Montgomery County Public Libraries, Rockville, MD
NoveList read-alike: The Album of Dr. Moreau by Daryl Gregory


Cover image for The hidden oneThe Hidden One: A Novel of Suspense

by Linda Castillo

Minotaur Books
ISBN: 9781250781055

“When the skeletal remains of an Amish bishop missing for twenty years are found, Police Chief Kate Burkholder is asked by local elders of Belleville, Pennsylvania to consult on the case. Most troubling for Kate is that the prime suspect is her childhood friend and first love Jonas Bowan, charged with first degree murder. Fourteenth in the series that just keeps getting better!”

Evelyn Janoch, Rocky River Public Library, Rocky River, OH
NoveList read-alike: Bell Elkins mysteries by Julia Keller


Cover image for The It GirlThe It Girl

by Ruth Ware

Gallery/Scout Press
ISBN: 9781982155261

“Four college friends must revisit the murder of their friend/roommate after the convicted murderer dies claiming his innocence. Hannah, the victim’s roommate, searches to find what really happened. The multiple time periods keep a high level of suspense. There is an Agatha Christie feel with several suspects and a brilliant ending. Ware has given readers of psychological fiction a real treat!”

Cyndi Larsen, Avon Free Public Library, Avon, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Girls are All So Nice Here


Cover image for Just Like HomeJust Like Home

by Sarah Gailey

Tor Books
ISBN: 9781250174727

“After years of being away, Vera returns to the home her father built to take care of her dying mother. Except her father was a serial killer, and the house has its own secrets. This book is a horror genre blend of serial killer/true crime meets haunted house. What makes the novel work is how it centers on family dynamics and the relationship we have with our parents changes when we get older.”

Cal Rydzinski, Acorn Public Library, Oak Forest, IL
NoveList read-alike: Beneath Cruel Waters by Jon Bassoff


Cover image for The Last to VanishThe Last to Vanish: A Novel

by Megan Miranda

Scribner/MarySue Rucci Books
ISBN: 9781982147310

“Visitors keep vanishing from Cutter’s Pass in the North Carolina mountains. Abby thinks it’s a coincidence, but when the brother of the last person to disappear checks in at the inn where she has been working for 10 years, she starts to wonder if there’s more to it. A good pageturner with slightly creepy vibes.”

Heidi Sandiford, Hillsdale Free Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ
NoveList read-alike: The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James


Cover image for Storm EchoStorm Echo

by Nalini Singh

Berkley
ISBN: 9780593440674

“Scarred in the womb by his mother’s Jax usage, Merchant family security specialist Ivan has an abnormal brain and knows he might need to be caged in the future. When he meets Soleil, a healer shifter, he finds hope for a better future. As these two characters learn what it means to be mated, the PsyNet is assaulted, and only Ivan can access the cutoff area. Amazing addition to this series!”

Susana Goldman, Alamance County Public Libraries, Burlington, NC
NoveList read-alike: BeWere My Heart series by MaryJanice Davidson


Cover image for Things We Do in the DarkThings We Do in the Dark: A Novel

by Jennifer Hillier

Minotaur
ISBN: 9781250763167

“Famous comedian Jimmy Peralta is found dead, and his wife Paris, covered in blood at the crime scene, is arrested. In the second part, Drew Malcolm, a reporter with a popular podcast, is chasing the story of Ruby Reyes, the infamous Ice Queen, who stomped her lover to death with an ice skate. As these two people become connected, the reader is drawn into a web of lies and compelling characters. For fans of These Toxic Things and Blood Will Tell.”

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH < /br>
NoveList read-alike: Conviction by Denise Mina


Cover image for Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrowTomorrow, Tomorrow, and Tomorrow

by Gabrielle Zevin

Knopf
ISBN: 9780593321201

“Sam and Sadie were childhood friends, but now reunited as adults, they decide to form a company designing video games. A sprawling look at friends who love each other but not as lovers and lovers who try to be friends and fail, the human need for connection, and searching for perfection. A must for fans of Ready Player One who want a deeper connection to the emotional lives of the characters.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX
NoveList read-alike: The Animators by Kayla Rae Whitaker


Cover image for Upgrade :Upgrade: A Novel

by Blake Crouch

Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780593157534

“In Crouch’s newest sci-fi thriller Logan Ramsay works for the Gene Protection Agency and is exposed to an unknown compound. After he’s released from the hospital, Logan’s mind is working faster than ever before, his memory continues to improve, and he’s faster and stronger too. But who could have caused these genetic upgrades in Logan and why? For fans of The Paradox Hotel, Six Wakes, and Altered Carbon.”

Dan Brooks, Wake County Public Libraries, Raleigh, NC
NoveList read-alike: Noor by Nnedi Okorafor

Read-alikes provided by NoveList and the LibraryReads community.

Courtesy of LibraryReads Hall of Fame Authors

 


Leave a comment

Sign Up for the Hispanic Heritage Quiz Bowl

Teens, test your knowledge of Hispanic history and culture in the Hispanic Heritage Month Quiz Bowl! This game-show like Quiz Bowl will be happening on October 2, 2022. The winning team will receive a cash prize! Students in Grades 7-12 are eligible to participate.

Sign up for the Hispanic Heritage Month Quiz Bowl by August 15! Use this link to sign up: https://forms.gle/qvMoKMrnQn3QytWU8

Participants will play in teams of four. Forming a team is encouraged, but not required, to sign up. Team Captains will receive an email with more information about the Hispanic Heritage Month Quiz Bowl, Quiz Bowl rules, and a Study Guide on September 1.

Contact us at acochrane@nevinslibrary.org for more information about the Hispanic Heritage Month Quiz Bowl.


Leave a comment

Chill Out with a Sundae

Chill Out with a Sundae

Visiting the library to see Spider-Man: No Way Home? Or just at the library on a Fun Friday?

FRIDAY JULY 29, 2022 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Come down after (or during) the movie to the Garden Room from 1-5pm and Chill Out with a Sundae!

It’s just $5 to make your own!!

Proceeds go to the Friends of the Nevins Library

For more information, contact Beverly at 978-686-4080 or bwinn@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

Driver’s Ed Exam Prep

Are you or your teen learning to drive this summer?  Do you need a refresher on the rules of the road? Check out our new online resource, Driving Tests, where you can take practice tests for the written learner’s permit exam.  You can find this, and other neat online databases on a myriad of topics, on our website under the heading of Online Resources.

Please Note: Driving-Tests.org is not affiliated with or evaluated by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. The official RMV Driver’s Manual is available on their website, along with additional driver’s education information. Presented in partnership with driving-tests.org.


Leave a comment

What Difference Do a DA and a Sheriff Make?

What Difference Do a DA and Sheriff Make?

July 19, 2022 at 7pm via Zoom

District attorneys are the most powerful people in the criminal justice system. They decide who gets charged with a crime – and determine how most criminal cases are resolved. Sheriffs have the power to make our communities safer and more just for all – but most Massachusetts voters don’t even know who their sheriff is. Learn more about these elected officials who have tremendous impact on people’s lives and our communities.

Laura Rótolo of ACLU Massachusetts and Stacy Seward of The Dream Network will discuss how these two offices operate in Essex County. Their online presentations will be followed by a moderated Q&A led by Gail Forsyth-Vail.

Register for this program via Zoom HERE.

Visit www.aclum.org to learn more about the What A Difference A DA Makes and Know Your Sheriff voter education campaigns.

The State Primary is Tuesday, September 6th. LWV chapters in Essex County are hosting two candidates’ forums at 7:00pm on Zoom on August 11th for Sheriff and August 18th for District Attorney. Both will be recorded.

Hosted by Memorial Hall Library, in collaboration with ACLU Massachusetts, The Dream Network, Courageous Conversations, League of Women Voters chapters in Essex County and MA Women of Color Coalition.

For more information, contact Elizabeth at 978-686-4080 x14 or  eborgesocasio@nevinslibrary.org


Leave a comment

A Trip to Cambodia

A Trip To Cambodia with Travel Photographer Jack Holmes (Virtual)

Tuesday July 19th, 2022 at 2pm via Zoom

The Angkor civilization began and flourished over a millennium ago. Travel with Jack Holmes to Cambodia as he investigates ancient Angkor temples and culture in modern Siem Reap, digs for origins near Battambang, and visits the massive central lake TonLe Sap. Jack is a travel photographer and owner of “Images From Near and Far” at Western Avenue Studios in Lowell. A retired high school teacher, he previously served as President of the Greater Lynn Photographic Association and Gallery Manager of the Loading Dock Gallery in Lowell. Jack regularly gives armchair travel presentations to senior centers and libraries in the area.

Visit this link to Register

Presented in collaboration with Tewksbury Public Library and Sponsored by the Friends of the Tewksbury Public Library

For more information, contact Sue at 978-686-4080 x12 or sjuknavorian@nevinslibrary.org